We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a hellish stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1774 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1774 Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Phippsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“What a hellish stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My bf and I were so excited to be in coastal Maine and the last B&B was so impressed when we told them where we were staying for the next 3 days of our vacation - so that obviously made us super excited to be staying in such a remote and exclusive B&B.

Well, when we first walked in we were shocked that they had no A/C. It was a complete heatwave and I have never felt so hot and sticky before. The humidity must have been at about 90%! Jackie said that because the house is a historical landmark - which made total sense. UNTIL we found window A/C units in the basement - my bf is nosy and why would they lie to us? Also, I totally buy them not wanting to put A/C units because it would alter the look of the house but why lie and 2. why couldn't they get those portable A/C units for when it DOES get hot in the summer or people request them?

The maid did not change our towels or tidy up our room very much - it seems like all the 'cleaning' that they did was make the bed. They didn't even bother to clean the mirrors or the sink. Just terrible for the amount of money they ask for a room. When we came back our room stunk because a towel had been wet inside the bathtub all day + humidity - really gross!

The house is spectacular and you really see the charm of being in such a historic place but it really is secluded and in the middle of nowhere. Jackie the host seemed rushed and disinterested from the beginning when we asked for a restaurant reservation or where we could go to go on a sailing trip. At night - this place is completely pitch black. Make sure that you have a GPS that actually knows where it is going because you DO NOT want to get lost in this part of Maine.The breakfast was yummy and we met several interesting people that we got to exchange stories with but this was not the experience that we had been yearning or expecting.

Oh well, I guess B&Bs are just not for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nycgoddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1774Inn, Owner at 1774 Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Although this review came as something of a surprise, thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on your stay with us last month. We do value all honest feedback and we're very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the 1774 Inn.
The heat wave we experienced at the time was quite unusual, and affected most of this area of mid-coast Maine. We had hoped that the extra fans we provided would make you more comfortable, as we always make it clear that the Inn does not have air-conditioning. We can also assure you that there are no A/C units stored in the basement - just our furnaces and washer/dryers.
Regarding the cleaning of your room, the maid did refresh it during her normal daily working hours, but it was often occupied and therefore difficult to access at certain times without disturbing you.
We always make a point of taking time to advise guests of local activities, and can remember conversations with you about which beaches to visit and which local boat trips were available.
Thank you for your comments about the house, and we're happy that you enjoyed your breakfasts. We hope you'll give B&Bs another chance in the future!
John and Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I booked a room and 18 hours later my wife called to cancel. She said the English man was rude. He took $117 dollars out of our account. My wife mentioned to him we booked the room yesterday and she would pay the $50. We didn’t realize they don’t have dinner there so we wanted to immediately cancel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1774Inn, Owner at 1774 Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Like most hotels, inns and B&Bs, we post a cancellations policy on our web site that goes some way to compensate us against loss of room revenue due to last-minute cancellations. It's a sliding scale, reflecting the likelihood of our being able to re-let the room by the intended arrival date.
It's always a difficult thing to discuss over the telephone, particularly as people don't always agree to being charged, and we apologize if you had the impression that we were being rude in explaining the charge to you.
If we were able to re-let your cancelled room, we would always refund any charge, and if you do decide to stay with us at some time in the future, we will certainly deduct this particular charge from the cost of your stay.
John and Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a lovely, historic b and b in a quiet area of Maine south of Bath. There are numerous attractions within a half hour drive. The real feature of this B and B is the hospitality and warmth of its hosts, Jackie and John, who had an answer for our every query and helpful suggestions for eating, sightseeing, and hiking in the area -- plus serving us wonderful breakfasts in a comfortable dining room. Our fellow guests were interesting and fun to talk with, and the idyllic view of the river out back is restful and calming. This is not a "fancy" establishment, but a true classic comfortable B and B, with unmatched hospitality in our experience, and we loved our stay there. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room in the front of the house, but a little noisy when the daytime traffic began...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedDoc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

In mid July, 2013, my husband and I stayed for two nights, at this most beautiful inn at Phippsburg. The inn was immaculately clean, and decorated in an elegant, restrained style. The property faces the water, and is in a particularly beautiful corner on the Phippsburg peninsula. We spent a lovely half hour one evening sitting in the Adirondack chairs close to the shore, on the property.

We stayed in the McCobb room, which is very large; the bathroom is small, but perfectly fine. Good water pressure, and lots of hot water for showers. We chose the room because it is on a corner of the building, and thus has cross-ventilation.

The hosts, John and Jackie, are British, and perfectly charming! We all chatted amongst ourselves, about why my husband and I were in Maine (answer: an exploratory visit to see where we might bring our small 14-foot trailered sailboat on another visit; need a place with a LOT of room on the property, where no one else would be inconvenienced by a sailboat on a trailer, left off while we go out to dinner, or on another trek. And a place where we would think it safe to leave a trailered boat.)

A lot of discussion, with John, about tides (vastly important for launching and recovering a small boat, most particularly on the Maine coast, where the tide range is truly astounding) Both mornings we stayed, John printed out local tide charts for us; I recount this tale to give all interested parties an illustration of the kindness of these folks. They pay very close attention to the interests of their guests. And respond!

Breakfasts were great: a buffet of various breads, fresh fruit salads, nifty granola and Greek yogurt, nice juice.... And, then, there's a main course: when we were staying, there was an egg and ham timbale, on a muffin, one day; and next day, a poached egg on an herb muffin, with bacon and sausage; and a very English grilled tomato half, with a bit of cheese (took me back to my memories of a favorite inn in the Lake District, in England!) All this is way more than I can eat for breakfast; made the mistake the first day of having some of my favorite raisin bread with cream cheese - and then couldn't finish the main course! My husband helped me out with this...as he did the next day...

Room Tip: We chose the McCobb room because it had cross-ventilation, and because the previous weeks had been v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the 1774 Inn. Like other reviewers, we stayed during the recent heat wave and our room was hot. However, with the provision of a well positioned fan, we had two very comfortable nights sleep. The standard of housekeeping was very high with every detail being attended to. After 10 days of holiday staying in chain hotels, the 1774 Inn was a refreshing change. You couldn't ask for a nicer location or more welcoming Inn keepers.

Room Tip: We were travelling as a family and opted for the two cheaper rooms with a shared bathroom. It worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyckoff,nj
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was a return visit for us. The home is beautifully restored and decorated. The rooms are large and comfortable. The Inn is situated on the Kennebec River. In the late afternoon, there are often seals sunning themselves on the rocks.The Inn is immaculately clean and the linens are indeed fresh and our towels had a lovely smell to them. Jackie serves a delicious and beautifully presented breakfast in a lovely formal dining room.She also makes great chocolate chip cookies.She really makes you feel at home. The location is beautiful and relaxing. Popham Beach is nearby, as is a great "swimming hole" , a 2 minute walk from the Inn.Yes, there is no A/C , but this is Maine, where A/C is not often needed, and it was unusually hot. There was a fan in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dslmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The 1774 Inn is a beautifully updated and decorated old home in a stunning location. However, we left sorely disappointed. Most glaring, there is no air conditioning in the Inn, and our room felt like an oven. Our linens did not smell or feel fresh (bed or bath), the flowers in the bath were fake, the patio could have been a beautiful spot for breakfast but is in disrepair. Our breakfast was decent, to be sure, but not gourmet. If we hadn't stayed in other, much better, bed and breakfasts (for a lot less money), we may have thought it was fine. But there was so much over-looked. The hosts were very understanding about the heat, and very kind during
our stay, but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCSenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phippsburg
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
9.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
7.9 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
9.5 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
11.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1774 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1774 Inn

Property: 1774 Inn
Address: 44 Parker Head Rd, Phippsburg, ME 04562-4576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Phippsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phippsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1774 Inn, Midcoast Maine's award winning waterfront bed and breakfast location, near Bath and Brunswick Maine close to Popham Beach State Park. 45 mins from Portland and accessable from New York and Boston by road. Eight elegant and spacious guestrooms in this historic mansion with water views from the main house. Its English owners, John and Jackie focus on excellence in guest service and the delicious breakfast menu features locally sourced organic produce. This beautiful Inn combines contemporary comfort with classic elegance. Activities nearby are lighthouse tours, boating, swimming, kayaking, golfing, sailing, lobster bakes,antiquing, shopping in nearby Freeport, hiking and dining with a wide choice of retaurants offering vartied cuisine nearby. For a real Maine vacation experience that is truly unforgetable come to the 1774 Waterfront Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1774 Inn Maine/Phippsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing