We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1774 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1774 Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Phippsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“A Perfect Vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to Maine and chose to stay at the 1774 Inn after hearing rave reviews about Popham Beach. The 1774 Inn was tremendous in every way!

It is a really unique place, a historic Colonial home situated on a gorgeous and well manicured lawn right beside a beautiful lake. The interior is really well decorated to match.
The hosts who run the inn, John and Jackie, are incredibly kind, hospitable and well informed about all that there is to do in the area. They gave us great recommendations along with all of the info and details that one could need. They recommended beaches, hikes, restaurants and all the best things to do in a coastal Maine town. I felt very at home at the Inn which is an important part of the B&B experience. Another important part is the breakfast, which was exceptional!

I loved every aspect of my stay at the 1774 Inn and plan to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed here with my wife this August. I've visited the area before and it's beautiful and close to many great beaches, restaurants, and hikes. This inn was by far the best place I stayed. The rooms were beautiful, the grounds are lovely, the breakfasts are special, and Jackie, the owner, was so sweet and helpful. I'd definitely stay again. For what you get, the rates are very reasonable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lobsterislord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Quite simple -- beautiful Inn, lovely rooms, friendly hosts, great breakfasts. Jackie and John are very friendly and seem genuinely interested in their guests. Rooms were clean, pretty, and very comfortable. Sitting outside in the back by the water was zen-like...so much so I actually agreed to get up with my wife to see the sunrise! it takes a lot to get me up that early on vacation...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lincoln572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hospitality. Look it up in the dictionary and you will know what to expect from hosts Jackie and John when you visit the 1774 Inn. We took two rooms for 5 nights and, although this property is "only" a B&B, I would choose it over most hotels I have stayed at in 30 years of business and vacation travel. It's an old house so don't expect air-conditioning and a spa in place of a bathroom! It's dark at night, so enjoy the stars instead of the floodlights! And, following a great night's sleep in an extremely comfortable bed, in an impeccably clean room, breakfast was a wonderfully relaxed, social event with our fellow guests. Recommendations were abundant and well-informed from local history to boat trips on the beautifully appointed Kennebec River, from private beaches to (of course!) local lobster restaurants. This is a great place to unwind and let the rest of the world go about its business.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The minute we drove up John our host greeted us at the door as if we were coming home and not merely guests. He invited us into the house introducing us to his lovely wife Jackie. Both were perfect hosts during our stay giving us plenty of advice on restaurants and activities in the area. John even went out of his way to provide computer printouts of the Inn’s history as well as the town of Phippsburg.

We stayed in the Blue room (back of the house) with lovely views of the Kennebec River and historic Phippsburg Congregational Church. Coming from New York City, the peace and solitude of this charming B&B provided one of the best night sleeps we have had in a long, long time.

The breakfasts served in the formal dining room of the house were very yummy indeed. I particularly loved the wide assortment of food offered from Greek yogurt with fruit to the tasty hot egg breakfast Jackie prepared each morning. It was also pleasant to chat with our hosts and fellow guests while having breakfast which is of course a benefit of staying at a B&B.

The house itself is the real star here however. The way it is happily situated on the land is perfection! As for the interior, Jackie has appointed the house with such lovely table linens, bed linens (the wisteria Laura Ashley duvet cover was a personal favorite), breakfast silver settings and charming furniture throughout. The formal dining room particularly reminded me of a setting right out of a Jane Austin novel. One could easily imagine Mr. Darcy coming down the road on horseback. The Inn exudes a quiet elegance, sophistication and class that one would expect from a country mansion.

Our only regret is our stay was too short. We hope to be back soon.
Thank you again John and Jackie for such a lovely time!

Room Tip: I recommend a room in the back of the house. As with most older homes of this period the house is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWymanPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My bf and I were so excited to be in coastal Maine and the last B&B was so impressed when we told them where we were staying for the next 3 days of our vacation - so that obviously made us super excited to be staying in such a remote and exclusive B&B.

Well, when we first walked in we were shocked that they had no A/C. It was a complete heatwave and I have never felt so hot and sticky before. The humidity must have been at about 90%! Jackie said that because the house is a historical landmark - which made total sense. UNTIL we found window A/C units in the basement - my bf is nosy and why would they lie to us? Also, I totally buy them not wanting to put A/C units because it would alter the look of the house but why lie and 2. why couldn't they get those portable A/C units for when it DOES get hot in the summer or people request them?

The maid did not change our towels or tidy up our room very much - it seems like all the 'cleaning' that they did was make the bed. They didn't even bother to clean the mirrors or the sink. Just terrible for the amount of money they ask for a room. When we came back our room stunk because a towel had been wet inside the bathtub all day + humidity - really gross!

The house is spectacular and you really see the charm of being in such a historic place but it really is secluded and in the middle of nowhere. Jackie the host seemed rushed and disinterested from the beginning when we asked for a restaurant reservation or where we could go to go on a sailing trip. At night - this place is completely pitch black. Make sure that you have a GPS that actually knows where it is going because you DO NOT want to get lost in this part of Maine.The breakfast was yummy and we met several interesting people that we got to exchange stories with but this was not the experience that we had been yearning or expecting.

Oh well, I guess B&Bs are just not for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nycgoddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1774Inn, Owner at 1774 Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Although this review came as something of a surprise, thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on your stay with us last month. We do value all honest feedback and we're very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the 1774 Inn.
The heat wave we experienced at the time was quite unusual, and affected most of this area of mid-coast Maine. We had hoped that the extra fans we provided would make you more comfortable, as we always make it clear that the Inn does not have air-conditioning. We can also assure you that there are no A/C units stored in the basement - just our furnaces and washer/dryers.
Regarding the cleaning of your room, the maid did refresh it during her normal daily working hours, but it was often occupied and therefore difficult to access at certain times without disturbing you.
We always make a point of taking time to advise guests of local activities, and can remember conversations with you about which beaches to visit and which local boat trips were available.
Thank you for your comments about the house, and we're happy that you enjoyed your breakfasts. We hope you'll give B&Bs another chance in the future!
John and Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I booked a room and 18 hours later my wife called to cancel. She said the English man was rude. He took $117 dollars out of our account. My wife mentioned to him we booked the room yesterday and she would pay the $50. We didn’t realize they don’t have dinner there so we wanted to immediately cancel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1774Inn, Owner at 1774 Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Like most hotels, inns and B&Bs, we post a cancellations policy on our web site that goes some way to compensate us against loss of room revenue due to last-minute cancellations. It's a sliding scale, reflecting the likelihood of our being able to re-let the room by the intended arrival date.
It's always a difficult thing to discuss over the telephone, particularly as people don't always agree to being charged, and we apologize if you had the impression that we were being rude in explaining the charge to you.
If we were able to re-let your cancelled room, we would always refund any charge, and if you do decide to stay with us at some time in the future, we will certainly deduct this particular charge from the cost of your stay.
John and Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phippsburg
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
9.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
7.9 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
9.5 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
11.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1774 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1774 Inn

Property: 1774 Inn
Address: 44 Parker Head Rd, Phippsburg, ME 04562-4576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Phippsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phippsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1774 Inn, Midcoast Maine's award winning waterfront bed and breakfast location, near Bath and Brunswick Maine close to Popham Beach State Park. 45 mins from Portland and accessable from New York and Boston by road. Eight elegant and spacious guestrooms in this historic mansion with water views from the main house. Its English owners, John and Jackie focus on excellence in guest service and the delicious breakfast menu features locally sourced organic produce. This beautiful Inn combines contemporary comfort with classic elegance. Activities nearby are lighthouse tours, boating, swimming, kayaking, golfing, sailing, lobster bakes,antiquing, shopping in nearby Freeport, hiking and dining with a wide choice of retaurants offering vartied cuisine nearby. For a real Maine vacation experience that is truly unforgetable come to the 1774 Waterfront Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1774 Inn Maine/Phippsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing