We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Inn, Spectacular Service”
Review of 1774 Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1774 Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Phippsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our son recently was married in Phippsburg, Maine. We booked several rooms at the 1774 Inn, for family members, sight-unseen. We traveled up to Maine by car from Virginia. We didn't know what to expect.
Well, Phippsburg was gorgeous, the wedding magnificent, and the 1774 Inn was spectacular. By the end of a few days there, we were so sad to leave. John and Jackie, the gracious and loving innkeepers, felt like family. They took such good care of us, and were so kind and solicitous--they really helped make the entire wedding weekend even more special.
The view of the Kennebec River was lovely and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious. All of us would recommend this inn wholeheartedly, and we hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for 1774 Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

This Inn is an ideal choice for getting away from the vacation crowds that populate midcoast Maine. It's a gorgeous, serene historic home, beautifully maintained, and thankfully not too fussy or precious in its decor (as many historic b&b's can be). The hosts, John and Jackie, were amazingly friendly and helpful, greeting us like old friends even when we arrived after 9pm to check in. They're the perfect mix of warm, inviting, sincere, eager to please, and yet respectful of your space and privacy. They gave us wonderful recommendations for places to eat, hike, and visit (North Creek Farm and Seawall beach were highlights), and in general were very pleasant and interesting to talk to. Phippsburg peninsula is absolutely gorgeous, off the beaten path and unspoiled (and yet within 10-20 minutes of downtown Bath). Having arrived there from the craziness of Bar Harbor, it was a true oasis. Highly recommended for those who want a quieter, more local experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BklynCbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We immediately received a friendly greeting and a thoughtful orientation to the inn and the area. All through our stay, hosts John and Jackie were ready to help and offer suggestions. This historic inn is tastefully decorated without frills and clutter. It offers a beautiful view of the river on which we enjoyed wonderful morning kayak around a nearby island amongst the seals and cormorants. Our nights were comfortable and the breakfasts were a pleasure. All told we had a fine stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Serene, unspoiled, uncrowded "mid-coast" Maine inn - beautiful colonial house, near lovely beaches, quiet and nurturing. Excellent seafood restaurants nearby, Great breakfasts at the inn. Jackie and John were great hosts!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsilviam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The inn is historically authentic and beautifully restored. The view of the Kennebec river is gorgeous. John and Jackie were wonderful hosts. The food was excellent with different and tasty selections each of the four days we stayed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side might hear less early morning traffic.
Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to Maine and chose to stay at the 1774 Inn after hearing rave reviews about Popham Beach. The 1774 Inn was tremendous in every way!

It is a really unique place, a historic Colonial home situated on a gorgeous and well manicured lawn right beside a beautiful lake. The interior is really well decorated to match.
The hosts who run the inn, John and Jackie, are incredibly kind, hospitable and well informed about all that there is to do in the area. They gave us great recommendations along with all of the info and details that one could need. They recommended beaches, hikes, restaurants and all the best things to do in a coastal Maine town. I felt very at home at the Inn which is an important part of the B&B experience. Another important part is the breakfast, which was exceptional!

I loved every aspect of my stay at the 1774 Inn and plan to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed here with my wife this August. I've visited the area before and it's beautiful and close to many great beaches, restaurants, and hikes. This inn was by far the best place I stayed. The rooms were beautiful, the grounds are lovely, the breakfasts are special, and Jackie, the owner, was so sweet and helpful. I'd definitely stay again. For what you get, the rates are very reasonable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobsterislord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phippsburg
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
7.6 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
375 reviews
7.9 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
232 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1774 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1774 Inn

Address: 44 Parker Head Rd, Phippsburg, ME 04562-4576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Phippsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Phippsburg
Price Range: £144 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1774 Inn, Midcoast Maine's award-winning waterfront bed and breakfast location, near Bath and Brunswick Maine close to Popham Beach State Park. 45 mins from Portland and accessible from New York and Boston by road. Eight elegant and spacious guestrooms in this historic mansion with water views from the main house. Its English owners, John and Jackie, focus on excellence in guest service and the delicious breakfast menu features locally sourced organic produce. This beautiful Inn combines contemporary comfort with classic elegance. Activities nearby are lighthouse tours, boating, swimming, kayaking, golfing, sailing, lobster bakes, antiquing, shopping in nearby Freeport, hiking and dining with a wide choice of restaurants offering varied cuisine nearby. For a real Maine vacation experience that is truly unforgettable come to the 1774 Waterfront Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1774 Inn Maine/Phippsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing