We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Getaway !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poland Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Abbot Village, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great Getaway !”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My brother,his wife and me and my wife stayed at The Lodge Dec 9 th,2013 and realized that this is an older historic building and were not expecting marble and mahogany interior. (We had read the reviews) .We were well pleased with the building,amenities and professional staff. Our rooms were clean, the bed comfortable and reasonably priced. The continental breakfast and the mini refrig were extras included in the price.
While we only live 2 hours away we certainly recommend this business to friends and others and will be back. ( We liked its location with in a few miles of the Oxford Casino)
I'm sure some of the people who wrote reviews would have found problems with the Ritz-Carlton

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dallas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    89
    37
    24
    39
See reviews for
67
124
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sarasota, fl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My sisters and I booked a room at the hotel in September as an overnight sisters "get-a-way". While the grounds, views, etc. are nice, the room was the worst I'd ever stayed in. Shabby, and worst than that, not clean. No heat, no blankets, no nothing. The toilet had been used and not flushed.....need I say more. A visit to the spring house, the museum, and to walk the trails is worthwhile but find other overnight accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank njjSarasota_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poland Springs hotels

Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

oh but they did,
If anyone out there is looking for a STRESS FREE getaway, This is where you want to go !!
Summer, spring and fall are the Best times to go with the option of sleeping in the main or Presidential Inn. If you take time to visit, expect no cooking, fresh air, no stress and nice people.
There is a wildlife park down the street ( 10 minute drive ) Which we found interesting along with meeting the North woods Law Wardens which were scheduled to be there for a weekend.
We'll be back !!!

Room Tip: Presidential Inn or the main Inn would be my choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We spent a wonderful Weekend full of fun,Stress Free and entertaining!This was our 9th year attending this weekend and have never been disaapionted. Between meeting people and making relationships that seems to last forever. The staff are exceptional! We love the fact that it is dated but they are always trying to find new ways to entertain not all of course will please every one but it is the fact that try hard to make it fun for everyone. The Halloween party and dance can be very frighting. Chrismas and Santa is exciting. Then there is New Years Eve a night to remember. We just love it.

Room Tip: The Main Inn is where action is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Beautiful setting. Hospitable atmosphere. Relaxing environment with opportunities to do almost anything one might like to do on a holiday. We have stayed several times for increasingly lengthy stays and will be returning in 2014. It is indeed "old fashioned" in many respects - the food, for instance, is plentiful,varied, solid, and nourishing although I do wish they would bring back the plain slab cakes for dinner! Nothing fancy but it's a pleasure to eat there many days in a row.
The evening "entertainment" we skip but then why would everyone like everything. The hotdogs at Mel's are another story. Don't skip them whomever you are! And the pool! And I am not even mentioning golf and a pretty terrific course.
But bring back those simple slab cakes for dinner!!

Room Tip: Of the several buildings, we have only ever stayed in the Maine Lodge on the first floor facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My boyfriend and I were attending a wedding this past weekend and booked a room in the Presidential Inn for two nights. After noticing money was refunded to me earlier in the week, I called the inn to learn our second night was canceled due to a "no show". Which makes no sense at all. After working it out with the front desk, they upgraded us to a king bed room at no extra charge. Upon arrival, we found several dead flies all over the room, as well as, many living flies and bugs in the room. After lugging our bags back down 3 flights of stairs (no elevator) and driving to the Maine inn, we were given a second room in the same building. It only had one bug in the shower so we figured this was the best it was going to get and dropped our bags to head out to the rehearsal. The Only problem was that our door to the room didn't lock. Back up to the Maine inn we went as there is no room phone to call the front desk. The front desk said she would call maintenance but never apologized for the inconvenience. The next day when we returned to the room only to find several bees in the room due to a large bee hive in the window that they could get through. We went to the Maine inn and asked to speak to the manager, where we were told both managers were too busy with a wedding to talk to us. Which is probably the worst customer service I've ever had at a hotel. Anyways, we were given a 3rd room in the Maine inn this time. The room was clean but again had an old tv, no iron, and outdated
furniture/fixtures. The only recommendation I would give somebody is to stay in the Maine inn if they absolutely have to stay at this hotel for its location. Other than that, I would avoid booking here. The upkeep of the inn is really just inexcusable and the customer service aspect was almost nonexistent.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendall_ashlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Poland Spring Resort has gorgeous, well manicured, historic and peaceful grounds. I loved the history and being able to wander freely and take it all in. That being said, the buildings are tired. The Maine Inn is a total throwback from the decor to the meal & entertainment arrangement. If you go, be prepared to sit where you are told for dinner and the evening entertainment - with absolutely NO compromise.

We were there on Italian night. The food was ok - nothing fancy. I very much enjoyed the fresh green salad - it was cold and crisp and super, super fresh. I did not partake in the breakfast as it was a very limited time period (8-9:30). We received excellent service from the bar staff and wait staff. The lady at the door to the dining room & entertainment was a stickler for the rules (understand, it's her job) but she wasn't very friendly and was not flexible. At. All.

The Maine Inn is charming in it's retro-ness. I loved the library, and the game room and other nooks and crannies around - it felt like going back in time. The thing I noticed about the Maine Inn that was unpleasant was the smell, especially in the stairwells. It's dreadful and smells like old, stale something. It could benefit from new carpet. The restrooms in the public area are very old - but all were clean.

My room was in the Presidential Inn - and I'm so glad. There was no smell. The room was majorly dated (like my 80 year old Grandmother's bedroom), but it was clean very clean and the linens (including the bedspread) smelled freshly laundered. The shower had the most awesome shower pressure I've ever encountered in a hotel. It was AMAZING. I didn't want to get out of the shower. And the water was wonderfully hot.

The inn is creaky and not very soundproof, so if you are a light sleeper, you might be disappointed.

Overall things were ok - but I'm not sure if I would return, other than to take advantage of the gorgeous grounds.

Room Tip: "Choose the Presidential" "Don't go if you have mold allergies"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank secd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poland Springs
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
9.9 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poland Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poland Spring Resort

Property: Poland Spring Resort
Address: 640 Maine St, Poland Springs, ME 04274-6193
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Poland Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poland Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poland Spring Resort offers a stress free vacation in Maine. Delicious all-you-can-eat home-style buffets. Play on our 18-hole championship golf course, grass tennis courts, swimming, boating, hiking, nightly entertainment, min-golf, driving range and much more. Enjoy the sunset with a million dollar panoramic view of Presidential Mountain range and Mount Washington. Centrally located in the foothills of Western Maine and stress free since 1794. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Poland Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poland Spring Hotel Poland Springs
Poland Spring Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing