We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poland Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poland Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poland Springs”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

BEWARE of cancellation policy!!!
you do not see the policy until booking is already done!!!
In our case our daughter ended up in the hospital the Monday before were were going for the weekend, with a life threatening illness.
They would not give us a refund, only a credit voucher less $20.00 per person!!

Our second Hotel gladly refunded our full payment.
Won't be recommending Poland Springs any more, and they lost a repeat guest!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    89
    37
    24
    39
See reviews for
67
124
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Don't be fooled by the beautiful pictures on the website. We are from NH and were planning a trip to the Casino in Maine. This resort came up as the closest to the Casino so we called and the helpful girl on the phone booked us two rooms. The rooms were inexpensive so I did more research on the property which led me to the beautiful pictures of the golf course and resort. Since I saw the pictures of where we would be staying I was able to relax and just think about the nice resort including a pool and other amenities. It was not until we arrived that we were GREATLY disappointed!! We pulled into the resort and when we went to check in we were greeted and told right away that we were staying at the "LODGE" DO NOT EVER stay at THE LODGE!! They should call it the bates motel!! It was about a mile up the road away from all of the beautiful scenery and amenities we saw online. This was never mentioned during the reservation so I believe they intentionally did not tell us. Check in time was not till 4pm and we called to see if we could check in early but since we called the "main inn" the woman who told us all of the rooms were clean was wrong. We immediately asked to upgrade but we were told it would be an extra $60-$80 per room per night IF they had anything available.
Once we arrived there was hardly anyone around but we were told we could not get in to both rooms because they were still cleaning, this was also a lie. Everyone in our party was disappointed with the cheesy décor and run down bates motel feeling. Thank god we only reserved one night because I don't think we could have tolerated the uncomfortable beds and terrible customer service. Also, and bars/ restaurants and anything else worth having are located one mile up the road at the main inn. We were looking forward to using the pool which was not open for memorial day. Also, if you plan to use the shuttle it leaves at one time and returns at another and you MUST sign up in advance. To me it seemed like the whole town was run by the same family but in a creepy way not in a nice family business sort of way. I hope this review saves someone from making the same mistake we did. We will go back to the casino but any other place is worth a little longer drive to avoid the Poland Springs resort. Also avoid the dockside restaurant as it is part of the creepy family business.

Room Tip: Any place besides this place!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nikii b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine_history, Owner at Poland Spring Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Poland Spring Resort. You mention that you went to our website. On our website describes the Maine Inn, the Presidential Inn, Lodge, and the Cottages. The website has pictures of all our buildings and room types. The Lodge is very popular with Casino guest as they are typically looking for the least expense accommodations, in your case $89 for 2 people including access to free entertainment, and host of other amenities. The lodge does have complimentary continental breakfast, a relaxing lobby built in 2012, gift store, Smoke free, Cable TV with Showtime, air conditioning and heat in each room, Shampoo & conditioner, Hair dryers in every room, Room refrigerator, Coffee, Ice & Microwave at Breakfast Nook.

The outdoor pool was not open on Memorial Day weekend, unfortunately the harsh cold winter we had in Maine we had to do some resurfacing and the rain in May did not allow us to paint it as quickly as I would have liked, it opened the following weekend. The other outdoor amenities were available 18 hole golf course, tennis, shuffleboard, bocce, horseshoes, etc. Luckily the outside temperature that weekend didn't reached 70 degrees.

The shuttle that runs from the Oxford is free and provided by the casino, they determine the hours of operation. The drive is only 6 minutes away with no turns so most guest take there own vehicles. We are sorry if the time of the shuttle was inconvenient for you.

Your comment about creepy family business, not sure if you are talking about the Rickers who started Poland Spring as a stage coach stop when George Washington was President or myself who started here as a waitress when I was 16 years old and bought Poland Spring with my husband in 1982. But either way, I'm proud of how our history here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poland Springs hotels

Holland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
148 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our mattress was horrible and was on the floor. The dinner was dry and we had to share a table with strangers.
Needless to say we went out to dinner and got drunk so we could sleep.
Worst weekend away ever.
I think camping on the ground would have been better than this.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Where can a couple go for $214 from Friday to Sunday to enjoy peace and quite. If you want fancy pay for fancy and then people can complain about the price. I swear people don't know how to live with the bare essentials of life.

Room Tip: Just don't go with the mentality that its a resort its not its a place to enjoy the scenery peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank simplegirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVERVIEW NB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Attending a group function I mistakenly booked the Lodge while our friends stayed at the Presidential...I felt so stupid that we were away from the group but so grateful that I made that mistake. Our room, bed and shower were far better and a short walk on the trail got us back to our group and the function facilities. This very friendly and accommodating atmosphere made my mistake a success!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you're expecting the Ritz,4 Seasons, or Fairmount, you'll be disappointed. Do your homework, read the Resort's description of the accommodations and amenities, and you will find a beautiful, relaxing resort with veery adequate accommodations, activities, facilities, and best of all, the people who make it their goal to provide you with a relaxing, wonderful stay at Poland Springs Resort. Throw in a Donald Ross golf course that's on-site, and I don't need any more. This was our third straight year coming to Poland Springs, and we'll be back again next year. We get great value for a relaxing, enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Maine Inn provide the best views, and are convenient to the Resort Amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Referred to by college - would have preferred they hadn't; paid extra for a child, on the premise fold-out couch would be made up; arrived late, couch not made up, no sheets available; went to lodge for sheets, had to wait for delivery; deliverer handed sheets to child; when we tried to put them on the couch, they covered about 2/3 of it; no phone in room; very little lighting (and a light was burnt out); toilet ran all night; little bar of soap, no shampoo - basically, a little less than Motel 6 quality at Hilton prices; when mentioned this (calmly) to owner's daughter at front desk upon check-out, response was a lackluster "I'm sorry"

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poland Springs
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
9.9 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poland Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poland Spring Resort

Property: Poland Spring Resort
Address: 640 Maine St, Poland Springs, ME 04274-6193
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Poland Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poland Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poland Spring Resort offers a stress free vacation in Maine. Delicious all-you-can-eat home-style buffets. Play on our 18-hole championship golf course, grass tennis courts, swimming, boating, hiking, nightly entertainment, min-golf, driving range and much more. Enjoy the sunset with a million dollar panoramic view of Presidential Mountain range and Mount Washington. Centrally located in the foothills of Western Maine and stress free since 1794. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Poland Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poland Spring Hotel Poland Springs
Poland Spring Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing