We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Dancing?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poland Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dirty Dancing?”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Bruce read the brochure, and said that we were going to Kellerman's in Dirty Dancing! We arrived the Thursday before July 4, and stayed until Sunday, July 6. We stayed at the Presidential Inn, and were quite comfortable. We explored the grounds, and the vicinity. It is all very lovely. There is so much to do, golf, pool, trout pond, horse shoes, etc. The meals were good - not gourmet, but good home cooking. I would love the recipe for the breakfast scones! I made sure to eat the fresh fruit salad, which I don't always have at home. The suppers in the evening were always tasty, and ample. Bruce really enjoyed the iced tea, and I always had milk.
We ate at Mel's, and the onion rings really hit the spot. We ate at Cyndy's, and the food was really fresh. It rained July 4, but the resort had a great celebration on Saturday July 5. It was a fun time, with families everywhere, children playing and friendly adults intermingling. Everyone was having a wonderful time. All friends you hadn't yet met. Good food, good music, good time!

Room Tip: No bad rooms at the Presidential
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redredrobin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    95
    39
    26
    40
See reviews for
73
137
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, New Hampshire, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

So many things to do. Nostalgic feel of the old buildings. Putting greens, pool, frolf, driving ranges, beautiful grounds. Lots for the whole family. Quaint rooms for a great price! If a quiet simple trip is what you want, this is he place for your family trip!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AKM-DJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The first thing you see, as you enter the resort, Is a sign that says "Stress Free Zone", and that it is. We just had our Family reunion here, and it was the perfect place. Don't expect all the bells and whistles you'd get at a new hotel, but if you want a scenic, peaceful and relaxed place, this is it. The staff was very friendly, the food was good (not great), the pool was beautiful, the setting ideal, the rooms ok, and the grounds awesome! If you chose this Hotel, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevinmm1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We scouted out the Poland Springs Resort for a family reunion. Our family is large and diverse, and finding a place to suit everyone is a challenge. Poland Springs was a resounding success! From the one year old to the 83 year old, there was something for everyone to do. The pool is magnificent, and having the restaurant right next door was so convenient.
We rented one of the cabins and it was more like having our own house. We gathered there at night to laugh and talk knowing we weren't bothering anyone else. The staff was amazingly accommodating. Many people in the family said it was the best reunion ever. So happy we chose Poland Springs!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My only really big complaint was the mattresses were too rock hard at the lodge. I think perhaps you need to get some soft comfy mattresses. I would enjoy a good night sleep if they were more comfortable. For this reason alone I will not be staying at the Lodge.

Positive; Friendly staff, we enjoyed talking to everyone there. Staff enjoyed talking to my husband who is from England. I enjoyed breakfast as well.

I really hope you will think about getting some comfy mattresses.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsSue66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I've stayed At Poland Springs Resort twice now Both times at The Lodge and loved it. It was spotless and the staff couldn't be nicer ! We also golfed and loved the course. The views were incredible. The prices are very reasonable with Breakfast and dinner buffet included. Also really enjoyed seeing the beautiful grounds and museum. Overall very pleased with This Resort ! I will definitely return and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 64fordfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a calm, peaceful and very relaxed one week stay. We stayed in the Presidential Inn. For a resort that clearly tells you that there aren't elevators or any phones in the room, I am amazed at the number of people who are shocked...shocked I say! that there are not elevators nor any phones in the room.

At the Maine Inn there were people to help you with your luggage... and you could call for assistance at the Presidential. i am 60 and in fairly good shape. It was VERY HOT when we stayed. I can't imagine climbing the stairs to the 3rd floor... but that should not be a problem with the younger crowd.

Breakfast and dinner Buffet at the Maine Inn were very good. Many choices at breakfast and 2-3 choices for dinner. Good home cooked meals.

We loved grabbing a happy hour drink and sitting out on the front porch while taking in the views of the distant mountains.

This past winter took a terrible toll on the golf course greens. I had played the course a few years ago and remembered the greens being very fair and extremely fast. So the greens were a big disappointment... fairways in great shape and tee boxes in good shape.

Room Tip: In the Presidential Inn, we prefer the 'suites' which have a sitting area separate from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christophr t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poland Springs
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
109 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
99 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
9.9 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Windham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poland Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poland Spring Resort

Property: Poland Spring Resort
Address: 640 Maine St, Poland Springs, ME 04274-6193
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Poland Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poland Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poland Spring Resort offers a stress free vacation in Maine. Delicious all-you-can-eat home-style buffets. Play on our 18-hole championship golf course, grass tennis courts, swimming, boating, hiking, nightly entertainment, min-golf, driving range and much more. Enjoy the sunset with a million dollar panoramic view of Presidential Mountain range and Mount Washington. Centrally located in the foothills of Western Maine and stress free since 1794. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Poland Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poland Spring Hotel Poland Springs
Poland Spring Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing