We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singin' in the rain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poland Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Traveled with another couple from Pa. to Me. for a week of stress free living. The accomodations at the Presidential were very comfortable and the cleaning staff was excellent. While some may object that the rooms were dated, we found the ambience reminescent of bygone Victorian days. The inn contained a children's play room, pool table, putting green, workout center and movie room. Like so many Catskill resorts, Poland Springs is beyond attracting big name celebrities and affluent guests. Unlike similar resorts of that period, Poland Springs has made the difficult transition to attracting a middle class with discretionary funds. Read: "an older crowd". Their next transition phase will almost certainly center on how to hook young families.

The meals were homestyle as billed and delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful. We recommend a visit to the Maine Museum. Staffer Elliott Levy is a walking encyclopedia of Maine ephemera, engaging and entertaining as he walks the visitor on a tour of this beautiful artistic Maine construction brought home from the 1893 World's Fair.

Our only disappointment was on the first day of our arrival. Torrential rains washed out the golf course which was already suffering due to severe greens damage from the Winter vortex. Showers continued through the week and made play difficult. We opted for the unlimited golf package but because of commitments to member tee times, on some days it was difficult to get a tee time before 1pm. We were told that the Resort experienced the wettest July in memory and it was telling on the many damaged areas and waterloged fairways. That said, the course layout is beautiful and challenging at any level.

We hope to return and would recommend PSR to our golfing friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank directorone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We recently spent two nights at Poland Spring. We stayed at the Maine Inn which I would advise as it contains the dining room/entertainment area and has a choice location on the property near the pool and golf course.
For the amount this place charges, you will get your money's worth. Our room was spacious but needed updates; it was clean and comfortable.
The golf course was beautiful but the putting greens were miserable...good luck one and two putting!!
The staff is friendly but could use more training in hotel management. They are mostly young people with probably summer jobs. I only saw three older workers, all excellent.
It's the sort of place where you make your own fun so go enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Bruce read the brochure, and said that we were going to Kellerman's in Dirty Dancing! We arrived the Thursday before July 4, and stayed until Sunday, July 6. We stayed at the Presidential Inn, and were quite comfortable. We explored the grounds, and the vicinity. It is all very lovely. There is so much to do, golf, pool, trout pond, horse shoes, etc. The meals were good - not gourmet, but good home cooking. I would love the recipe for the breakfast scones! I made sure to eat the fresh fruit salad, which I don't always have at home. The suppers in the evening were always tasty, and ample. Bruce really enjoyed the iced tea, and I always had milk.
We ate at Mel's, and the onion rings really hit the spot. We ate at Cyndy's, and the food was really fresh. It rained July 4, but the resort had a great celebration on Saturday July 5. It was a fun time, with families everywhere, children playing and friendly adults intermingling. Everyone was having a wonderful time. All friends you hadn't yet met. Good food, good music, good time!

Room Tip: No bad rooms at the Presidential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank redredrobin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

So many things to do. Nostalgic feel of the old buildings. Putting greens, pool, frolf, driving ranges, beautiful grounds. Lots for the whole family. Quaint rooms for a great price! If a quiet simple trip is what you want, this is he place for your family trip!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank AKM-DJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The first thing you see, as you enter the resort, Is a sign that says "Stress Free Zone", and that it is. We just had our Family reunion here, and it was the perfect place. Don't expect all the bells and whistles you'd get at a new hotel, but if you want a scenic, peaceful and relaxed place, this is it. The staff was very friendly, the food was good (not great), the pool was beautiful, the setting ideal, the rooms ok, and the grounds awesome! If you chose this Hotel, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank kevinmm1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We scouted out the Poland Springs Resort for a family reunion. Our family is large and diverse, and finding a place to suit everyone is a challenge. Poland Springs was a resounding success! From the one year old to the 83 year old, there was something for everyone to do. The pool is magnificent, and having the restaurant right next door was so convenient.
We rented one of the cabins and it was more like having our own house. We gathered there at night to laugh and talk knowing we weren't bothering anyone else. The staff was amazingly accommodating. Many people in the family said it was the best reunion ever. So happy we chose Poland Springs!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My only really big complaint was the mattresses were too rock hard at the lodge. I think perhaps you need to get some soft comfy mattresses. I would enjoy a good night sleep if they were more comfortable. For this reason alone I will not be staying at the Lodge.

Positive; Friendly staff, we enjoyed talking to everyone there. Staff enjoyed talking to my husband who is from England. I enjoyed breakfast as well.

I really hope you will think about getting some comfy mattresses.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrsSue66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poland Springs
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
161 reviews
5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
8.8 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poland Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poland Spring Resort

Address: 640 Maine St, Poland Springs, ME 04274-6193
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Poland Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Price Range: £66 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poland Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poland Spring Resort offers a stress free vacation in Maine. Delicious all-you-can-eat home-style buffets. Play on our 18-hole championship golf course, grass tennis courts, swimming, boating, hiking, nightly entertainment, min-golf, driving range and much more. Enjoy the sunset with a million dollar panoramic view of Presidential Mountain range and Mount Washington. Centrally located in the foothills of Western Maine and stress free since 1794. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Poland Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poland Spring Hotel Poland Springs
Poland Spring Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing