We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It should be named old people resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poland Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It should be named old people resort”
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Had a horrible time. Im in th elate 40s and remeined me of an old age home. If your over 60 and have no life go there. the band stunk. Lawrence welk music that my mother would like. no night life around there. never will go back. At least I can tell people.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bostonbostongirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine_history, Innkeeper at Poland Spring Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2009
All ages are welcome to visit our resort. We advertise that we are the "Stress Free Zone." People come for a relaxing vacation. Many of our guests are older, but many are younger and are here to enjoy all the wonderful outdoor activities on the grounds, swimming, tennis, golf, and lots more. Or here to enjoy the great tourist attractions in the area.

We offer Friday and Saturday night live entertainment. Our bands are all different. They tend to play, country, pop, standards, etc. We do not hire any rock bands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    91
    37
    24
    39
See reviews for
70
127
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Floral Park NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Stayed from August 2nd to August 5th. Stayed on the second floor at the Presidential Inn. After reading the brochure and the reviews here I expected the food to be so so and the accommodations to be somewhat seedy based on teh price. Not so!

The (Lincoln) room at the Presidential Inn was clean and spacious. The TV only gets 3-4 channels, but they've installed digital antenna boxes and the channels are clear as a bell.

The food was good home style fare. During our stay we had pot roast, chicken, spaghetti, ham. meat loaf, fish and a variety of sides. All were tasty. Wished the desserts had more variety but they wer OK for the price.

We are a couple in our late 50s but have a mindset at least 10 years younger. We hike, canoe, camp out, etc. While we didnt partake of the entertainment or the pre dinner bar specials ($1.75 drinks), we hiked all around the property (beautiful - on clear days you can see Mt. Washington in the distance) and really enjoyed the site's history - the original Poland Spring source is on the property - fully preserved - as well as the Maine Pavilion from the 1893 (!) Columbian Exposition in Chicago - was moved back in 1894 and reassenbled. Incredible building. We rented a canoe for $4 and a 17' center console Triumph bass boat with a 50 HP Yamaha for $35 at the lake down the road.

If you're younger, use this as a base to explore the area. We went to the Maine Widllife Center, LLBean, antique shops, etc. It's a great deal. If you golf or are older and don't want to run around as much, there is plenty to do onsite. We met a lot of interesting folks who go there year after year...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadarago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Poland Spring Resort is not for everyone but if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life Poland SPRING IS FOR YOU. It isn't often to find you can just sit back and admire the beauty nature has to offer. You are able to take off the watches and enjoy the moment. The golf course is one of the more beautiful and well maintained we have ever seen, and we have visited the best. The pool is also great with its extroadinary views.WE FOUND THE inne to be charming and romantic , a hidden gem. We plan to visit again this summer.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerconnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central mass
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

We are 59ish and have been here 4-5X. We are going for 2 weeks this summer. We stay in the lowest priced rooms i(the motor lodge) as we are active all day long and just want a room to hang our head. Caution; there are 2 small beds in each of the rooms in the motor lodge. By booking in advance we managed to secure the room with the most privacy. A room and 2 meals a day for each of us for approx $70 a day (incl taxes/service fees based on a weekly stay) is less expensive than sleeping in a tent and eating meals out. One can play golf, swim, play shuffleboard, lawn bowl, pool, or one can sit around and drink themselves into oblivion.. Caution-we understand the B and W TV's have been removed and replaced with a single master TV viewing area. But why not briung a radio if you like news/music in your room? Hey it's about choice..
Poland Springs IS like a summer camp for seniors( one is asked to bring their own bathroom towels) but there are some folks on honeymoons as well. They don't stay in the motor lodge. And they get ribbed a lot! About 40% of the crowd is under 50. The meals are at predetermined times but there is a good deal of time to go sightseeing (Bath (great maritime museum), Brunswick (nice college museum-don't miss Peary Museum)< Portland (lots of stuff), Naples (ride on the Songo Queen) Auburn-Lewiston (museum and art gallery), Also The Shaker Museum and and a small Zoo are just down the road. And you have 2 small museums on site and a nearby state park for a nice walk and picnic lunch. Or do very lone third of the people there. You can play golf for a reduced rate, around $20) starting at 3PM. At that price, you don't HAVE to play the whole course to get yoyr money's worth. I generally play 11-14 holes, then eat,. The couse is a Golf Digest 3.5 star, Donald Ross design,.I would rate it 3.5 stars as well. It's short enough (app 6000 yds if I can remember) that one can carry a very small bag with 8-10 clubs and walk. . There are a few adjoining fairways where one need not carry their entire bag. But the course IS hilly so if one is not in average shape, they will need a cart.. We play at 3PM because this is a resort course and play can be slow prior to 2-3PM. But there are lots of other courses in the area.
There's some free entertainment and some entertainment (comedy,music etc that costs very few $$'s as well. During the week you can order lobsters to supplement the evening buffet for something like $8. And if you buy one of their mugs (at $9 or so) one can get free coffee and soft drinks for life.
Yeah, the place is not for everyone but it really works for us. And it's NOT about the price; it's the lifestyle. So, find out for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vibe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
426 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

When you pay $99 for two nights hotel and 3 meals you are not going to get Marriott accomodations. A lot of past reviews seem to have overlooked that point. A group of 6 of us rented a cottage w/e of June 6th. Cottage was old, a little beat up but for $99 pp for two nights it was what we paid for. Breakfast's were similar to what you would get at Holiday Inn Express. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Dinner was similar to a $5.99 Vegas buffet special but it hit the spot after 18 holes. The course was in great shape and the pace of play for a resort on the weekend was not that bad. I would highly recomend this to any golfing groups or social groups who are looking for a low cost get away. It is not for newlyweds, 20 somethings or people who stay at Hiltons. It is what it is.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I went to Poland Springs Resort over Memorial weekend and had a Blast. We are 40 ish couples that went to relax over the long weekend.
Check in was a breeze, they also gave us a paper listing diffrent things to do at all times. We rented the first floor of the Roosevelt House and it had tons of space. Two huge bedrooms, two bathrooms also huge. A kitchen table and a living room. Tons of books to read, puzzles and games. We loved the little back porch that we sat on and watched the golfers. The band friday night was great. The bartenders at the pub were very nice and friendly. The next day was Heritage Day with lots of activities and plenty of free Poland Spring water. The guys fished in the trout pond and caught quite a few fish. Their lures kept getting bigger and bigger. They were surprized at how big the fish were.
The food was better then I expected after reading the reviews. The first moring was eggs and ham, muffins, beans, home fries, toast, bagels and muffins. The coffee was awful, but they had plenty of other drinks. There were people there to clear your plates, now. The supper was a full blown turkey and roast pork dinner right down to the cranberry sauce. They had a wide assorted amout of desserts. Breakfast on Sunday was wasy too much stuff to list. ans supper that night we had Lobsters, chicken and salads. Monday we slept in and missed breakfast. The beds were VERY comfortable kings that I so miss right now. We ate at Cyndi's and had excellent scallops, clams and burgers. We sat out side on the deck over looking the lake.
We truly had a good time and can tell they work hard at keeping it nice. They had all new tv's we noticed. Everything was extremly clean and fresh painted. The views were nice. and we found a place called Roscoe's Rocking Train Buffet in Mechanic's falls where we pigged out for lunch. Every thing tasted great.
At the resort we saw a few kids, alot of seniors and some people our age and younger. The furniture wasn't new, but it wasn't banged up either.
We had fun and looked forward to going back again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

I recently went up for a "Hackers Weekend" golfing trip with several friends of mine.

Upon first impression I got the feeling that unless you are over 70 and like to do nothing but sit around, drink, and hob knob, this place is DEFINITELY NOT for you.

Very spartan accomadations. Rooms that reeked of smoke. A cafeteria type meal setting with an angry "lunch mom" type who literally harasses you to pick up after yourself and also to make sure that you are paying customer.

Of course I was the lucky one who happened to have his room next to the cafeteria and was forced to hear the country hillbilly music Friday and Saturday night.

Don't even think of bringing children as there is nothing for them to do either.

The Donald Ross golf course is very challenging and scenic. I will give them credit for that but again, if you don't play golf and you are under 70, avoid this place. You willl be bored to death!

  • Liked — Golf Course
  • Disliked — Run like a camp for senior citizens
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jimw0131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poland Springs hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poland Springs
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
89 reviews
5.0 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
96 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
9.9 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Wolf Cove Inn
Wolf Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Poland
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poland Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poland Spring Resort

Property: Poland Spring Resort
Address: 640 Maine St, Poland Springs, ME 04274-6193
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Poland Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poland Spring Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poland Spring Resort offers a stress free vacation in Maine. Delicious all-you-can-eat home-style buffets. Play on our 18-hole championship golf course, grass tennis courts, swimming, boating, hiking, nightly entertainment, min-golf, driving range and much more. Enjoy the sunset with a million dollar panoramic view of Presidential Mountain range and Mount Washington. Centrally located in the foothills of Western Maine and stress free since 1794. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Poland Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poland Spring Hotel Poland Springs
Poland Spring Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing