We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond All My Expectations, and just what my life needed .”
Review of Seaside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Seasine Inn is a B&B treasure house showcased in a gleeming white 19th century Captain's home that even American master painter Andrew Wyeth could not resist, immortalizing it in one of his most famous early watercolors. Located in the small Maine costal village of Port Clyde, you'll wake up thinking you have arrived in a picture post card place - and you have. This is not a hotel. You will hear the seaguls and lobster boats early. This is a B&B, and Innkeeper Emily was personally picked by Maine icon Linda Bean for the job, and she is perfect for it An army brat who knows how to take charge and get things organized, this is a young woman who told her parents she wanted to be an Innkeeper when she about 7. With recent degrees in hotel management, marketing and cullinary, Emily's job is to make you feel right at home, right away. She says that when she moved in to get the curb appeal sorted out, re paint the Inn and re-do every room, deal with the basic infrastructure [the showers are great and you won't hear a flush at 2am], she then decised to sleep in every room for a few days to see what was needed to make that room better. The terry robes were a personal favorite. The bed and bedding [none of those awful flat worn out pillows or aching hips here!] gave me a better-than-home perfect nights sleep. Breakfast is at 8 and most are already in the dining room by 730 for coffee - and waiting. That's because the breakfast is almost famous here and you will taste why. Breakfast is when Emily can help you plan your day. I liked the ferry for a day trip to Monhegan island, a trip to the Farnsworth Museum in nearby Rockland for the world class art, Camden, and the longer but worth it drive to Castine, Maine. All this and those Molasses cookies. Is all this a movie or what? Have wine on the balcony or in the lawn chairs, or grab an ice cream at the local ice cream store.. Visit the lighthouse at sunset and be sure to bring a good camera! It's a place to fall in love, and fall in love with - and you will. No. I am not a relative. I am just a guy who was worn out when I arrived, and really needed somethig special. This was something special for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Seaside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was our first trip to Monhegan Island by way of Port Clyde. My wife and I enjoyed our overnight stayas we found our accommadtions in the cheerful Port Hole room to be more than adequate - a good bed along with all the amenities. Next morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast before embarking on our trip to Monhegan. We, along with another guest, chatted with Emily, the innkeeper, over coffee about the Inn's fascinating history and the local community history as well. We wish Emily continued success with the Inn and we hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay here for a week in mid August, It was absolutely wonderful. When we arrived we were greeted by the smell of freshly baked molasses cookies and a very warm welcome. The room on the first floor was perfect for us. Everything was as expected.

Emily was a fantastic innkeeper. She made us feel right at home from the minute we walked in. She always made sure that we had everything that we needed and the breakfasts that she prepared were delicious!! Her blueberry pancakes were out of this world.

It is conveniently located in the center of Port Clyde, right across the street from the General Store and right around the corner from the Village Ice Cream Shop :-)

We have already booked time for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ra4gto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We arrived just after sunset with our family of six at this wonderfully warm home-away from home - to find a plate of still warm home-made cookies to welcome us. A cheerful, neat, clean house, comfortable beds, across the way from teh general store and the Monhegan boat landing.We woke up to the smell of eggs and bacon frying, and the treat of blueberry pancakes. Dedication, entrepreneurship, and just plain love for this wonderful little place in this beautiful part of the world makes the Seaside Inn so special. A trip to Monhegan will be even more special when it starts here!

Jacob van der Goot and family

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjgoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Been to this place many times over the years as it is one of the few places in Port Clyde to stay, which obviously doesn't leave one much choice. It's never been awful but has rarely been great. But the new innkeeper has done a nice job bringing it up to a standard that it deserves. I can only hope that she stays there and keeps it going!
I will definately be back next year.....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Very nice room, very nice king size bed, very nice towels, etc., etc. Sparkling clean. We found no glasses or cups in the room, however, and though they asked on the phone if any member of our party had dietary restrictions, we were not served the requested dairy-free meal.

Room Tip: I'm confident that all rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dad08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I came to stay at the Seaside Inn for a one day quick visit and ended up staying for two nights! I felt as if i was home, this place is a hidden gem and the Innkeeper Emily has done an amazing job. All the rooms were extremely clean for such an old house and the common rooms were well kept. Fresh baked cookies were always available and the breakfasts were out of this world! I will revisit the Seaside Inn again just for the waffles!

Room Tip: I stayed in Dockside, a room on the third floor that shares a bathroom. You might not think that sh...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillb821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clyde
14.2 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
122 reviews
14.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
220 reviews
17.0 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
18.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
540 reviews
5.9 mi away
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 5 Cold Storage Road, Billing: 107 Port Clyde Road Tenants Harbor, ME 04860, Port Clyde, ME 04855 (Formerly Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Port Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clyde
Price Range: £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a twelve-guestroom bed and breakfast in an 1850 sea captain's home overlooking Port Clyde Harbor and Muscongus Bay. This true Maine fishing village is located at the tip of a peninsula in the Town of St. George. At the Seaside Inn, the welcome is warm and the pace is slow, though we do have high speed, wireless internet access for those guests that must check their email. The Dip Net Restaurant is located just across the street from the Seaside is a great eating place for lunch or dinner and offers waterfront dining serving Maine Lobster and the freshest seafood and views beyond compare. The Barn Cafe is located next door open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights, with a full bar and local fare. Come visit us, relax and enjoy the views! Seasonal, May 27 through Columbus Day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Port Clyde
Seaside Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing