We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Details?”
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We brought our Mums to Sea Side Inn for a treat as we had been there 2 years ago and had a fabulous time. This trip was not what we expected.
Towels were never taken out of our bathroom, we had to put them in hall, where they stayed all afternoon. Forget getting your bed made. Breakfast was meager at best, 1 lonely piece of bacon, and you were lucky if you could get an egg, as one poor gentleman found out.
We had stayed 2 yrs. ago and had a wonderful time, the Inn Keeper made you feel welcome, paid attention to the details and knew how to do breakfast!
It should not matter when you are a guest, service should be the best it could be, that is what a guest expects!
We paid our full price, we did not receive full service.
Port Clyde is a special place, beautiful,peaceful, a real treasure! Harpoons is a casual fun place to go!

Room Tip: Harbor side room is nice, could use a face lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gooseladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

My family looked forward to returning to Seaside Inn, based on our experience two years ago. We had a great time! The Innkeepers, at that time, were on top of all of our needs.

This time, in October, was the inns last weekend. We did not have a choice for breakfast, the donuts were stale, they ran out of coffee cream, we waited for syrup for our pancakes for a long period of time; the syrup finally arrived after we ate our pancakes without it.

Our bedroom was fine, except there was a little toilet paper on the roll and no extra. Our used wet towels were left in the hallway.

We were also surprised that the rates weren't lower in the fall, especially the last weekend when the amenities were running out. My opinion is, if you pay full price, there should be no reason, no matter what time of year it is, not to have all our needs met. I know who the owner is, and based her wealth, she should not be skimping on her guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed at this B&B in Port Clyde, Maine on Saturday 29th September 2012. The location is beautiful, in a small fishing village about 40 minutes drive from the bigger town of Camden.

Booked the accommodation just over 1 week in advance. When I was booking over the phone I specifically said that my wife had a dairy allergy and would require soy milk if possible, if not we could of course bring our own. They said it was no problem and followed up with a nice email again to say if there was anything else special needed before our arrival, to let them know.

When we arrived and were checking in we mentioned the soy milk when asked if there was anything we needed. They said it would be fine so we headed out for a great dinner in Cappy's Chowder House in Camden.

When we went to breakfast the following morning we asked about soy milk and were told that - they didn't have any and the store was a 20 minute drive away! It seems like a small complaint but what annoyed us was that we could have just brought our own and they made such a big deal about helping with any special requests...it left a sour taste in our mouth...

They need to follow through on their service, it's the small things. Otherwise an enjoyable stay, very comfortable bed and very peaceful location. The breakfast (aside from the soy milk) could have been better, was served a strange egg concoction with onions on top and tomato with a side of melon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gypsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Seasine Inn is a B&B treasure house showcased in a gleeming white 19th century Captain's home that even American master painter Andrew Wyeth could not resist, immortalizing it in one of his most famous early watercolors. Located in the small Maine costal village of Port Clyde, you'll wake up thinking you have arrived in a picture post card place - and you have. This is not a hotel. You will hear the seaguls and lobster boats early. This is a B&B, and Innkeeper Emily was personally picked by Maine icon Linda Bean for the job, and she is perfect for it An army brat who knows how to take charge and get things organized, this is a young woman who told her parents she wanted to be an Innkeeper when she about 7. With recent degrees in hotel management, marketing and cullinary, Emily's job is to make you feel right at home, right away. She says that when she moved in to get the curb appeal sorted out, re paint the Inn and re-do every room, deal with the basic infrastructure [the showers are great and you won't hear a flush at 2am], she then decised to sleep in every room for a few days to see what was needed to make that room better. The terry robes were a personal favorite. The bed and bedding [none of those awful flat worn out pillows or aching hips here!] gave me a better-than-home perfect nights sleep. Breakfast is at 8 and most are already in the dining room by 730 for coffee - and waiting. That's because the breakfast is almost famous here and you will taste why. Breakfast is when Emily can help you plan your day. I liked the ferry for a day trip to Monhegan island, a trip to the Farnsworth Museum in nearby Rockland for the world class art, Camden, and the longer but worth it drive to Castine, Maine. All this and those Molasses cookies. Is all this a movie or what? Have wine on the balcony or in the lawn chairs, or grab an ice cream at the local ice cream store.. Visit the lighthouse at sunset and be sure to bring a good camera! It's a place to fall in love, and fall in love with - and you will. No. I am not a relative. I am just a guy who was worn out when I arrived, and really needed somethig special. This was something special for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was our first trip to Monhegan Island by way of Port Clyde. My wife and I enjoyed our overnight stayas we found our accommadtions in the cheerful Port Hole room to be more than adequate - a good bed along with all the amenities. Next morning, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast before embarking on our trip to Monhegan. We, along with another guest, chatted with Emily, the innkeeper, over coffee about the Inn's fascinating history and the local community history as well. We wish Emily continued success with the Inn and we hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay here for a week in mid August, It was absolutely wonderful. When we arrived we were greeted by the smell of freshly baked molasses cookies and a very warm welcome. The room on the first floor was perfect for us. Everything was as expected.

Emily was a fantastic innkeeper. She made us feel right at home from the minute we walked in. She always made sure that we had everything that we needed and the breakfasts that she prepared were delicious!! Her blueberry pancakes were out of this world.

It is conveniently located in the center of Port Clyde, right across the street from the General Store and right around the corner from the Village Ice Cream Shop :-)

We have already booked time for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ra4gto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We arrived just after sunset with our family of six at this wonderfully warm home-away from home - to find a plate of still warm home-made cookies to welcome us. A cheerful, neat, clean house, comfortable beds, across the way from teh general store and the Monhegan boat landing.We woke up to the smell of eggs and bacon frying, and the treat of blueberry pancakes. Dedication, entrepreneurship, and just plain love for this wonderful little place in this beautiful part of the world makes the Seaside Inn so special. A trip to Monhegan will be even more special when it starts here!

Jacob van der Goot and family

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjgoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 5 Cold Storage Road, Billing: 107 Port Clyde Road Tenants Harbor, ME 04860, Port Clyde, ME 04855 (Formerly Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Port Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clyde
Price Range: £97 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a twelve-guestroom bed and breakfast in an 1850 sea captain's home overlooking Port Clyde Harbor and Muscongus Bay. This true Maine fishing village is located at the tip of a peninsula in the Town of St. George. At the Seaside Inn, the welcome is warm and the pace is slow, though we do have high speed, wireless internet access for those guests that must check their email. The Dip Net Restaurant is located just across the street from the Seaside is a great eating place for lunch or dinner and offers waterfront dining serving Maine Lobster and the freshest seafood and views beyond compare. The Barn Cafe is located next door open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights, with a full bar and local fare. Come visit us, relax and enjoy the views! Seasonal, May 27 through Columbus Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Port Clyde
Seaside Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing