We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and convenient overnight before Monhegan ferry”
Review of Seaside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Seaside Inn is a small, clean and comfy well-appointed spot to lay your head down for the night and enjoy a homemade buffet breakfast in the morning, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, cereal, pastries, OJ and coffee. The inn's chefs also supply the food on limited days during the week to the next-door gallery/restaurant.
The inn is located across the street from a small but adequate picturesque general store and restaurant on the wharf. The Monhegan ferry is berthed at the pier as well. Monhegan is the Wyeth family home and artists travel from around the world to paint this interesting island.
This was our second multi-day Seaside experience and third visit to friends who summer in Port Clyde, and the innkeepers have always been friendly and informative, but best of all, there's lobster just minutes from the sea, cooked to perfection by our friends, and a really terrific ice cream parlor just up the road! Just walk past the inlet with all the lobster pots, get your ice cream and watch one of the most brilliant sunsets ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the wharf. Besides the obvious, the view, there's a bit more cross-br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Room though small was well kept, clean and comfortable. Service was adequate but somewhat cold. We stayed only one night and did not really feel welcome. It seemed that maybe some of the other guests were family of locals, regulars, or long term stays that had built relationships with the Inn Keeper. Breakfast had potential to be very good and substantial, except the scrambled eggs were room temp and the sausage seemed a bit cooler. The girl cooking seemed the most friendly of the staff that we encountered and went out of her way to be friendly and attentive to the guests. We would try Seaside again but our expectations would not be as high.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NTutSTut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived late, but called ahead and were welcomed and told how to let ourselves in- no guilt on that one! The room was larger than most B&B rooms and was lovely- very seaside! Breakfast was self-serve with an assortment of pastries and hot eggs and sausage. Location to the Monhegan ferry couldn't be closer. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I took a trip with my mother and kids to Maine driving throughout the coast stopping in different towns, we ended up at Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast. I had never stayed at a B&B before but it was such a charming experience. The Innkeeper made my family and I feel so welcome! Including my children who are young age 8 and 6. She had two children of her own, who immediately took my kids and showed them a great time. Took them to the port where they fished for mussels, they thought could sell to the one and only local restaurant.(haha so cute). My kids still ask me about going back one day and playing with the kids. The rooms were decorated very cute, the kids took bath in an old pedal stool bath tub upstairs with white bath robes provided. Breakfast in the morning with a beautiful view was delicious. I would recommend this bed & breakfast in this quaint town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We brought our Mums to Sea Side Inn for a treat as we had been there 2 years ago and had a fabulous time. This trip was not what we expected.
Towels were never taken out of our bathroom, we had to put them in hall, where they stayed all afternoon. Forget getting your bed made. Breakfast was meager at best, 1 lonely piece of bacon, and you were lucky if you could get an egg, as one poor gentleman found out.
We had stayed 2 yrs. ago and had a wonderful time, the Inn Keeper made you feel welcome, paid attention to the details and knew how to do breakfast!
It should not matter when you are a guest, service should be the best it could be, that is what a guest expects!
We paid our full price, we did not receive full service.
Port Clyde is a special place, beautiful,peaceful, a real treasure! Harpoons is a casual fun place to go!

Room Tip: Harbor side room is nice, could use a face lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gooseladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My family looked forward to returning to Seaside Inn, based on our experience two years ago. We had a great time! The Innkeepers, at that time, were on top of all of our needs.

This time, in October, was the inns last weekend. We did not have a choice for breakfast, the donuts were stale, they ran out of coffee cream, we waited for syrup for our pancakes for a long period of time; the syrup finally arrived after we ate our pancakes without it.

Our bedroom was fine, except there was a little toilet paper on the roll and no extra. Our used wet towels were left in the hallway.

We were also surprised that the rates weren't lower in the fall, especially the last weekend when the amenities were running out. My opinion is, if you pay full price, there should be no reason, no matter what time of year it is, not to have all our needs met. I know who the owner is, and based her wealth, she should not be skimping on her guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed at this B&B in Port Clyde, Maine on Saturday 29th September 2012. The location is beautiful, in a small fishing village about 40 minutes drive from the bigger town of Camden.

Booked the accommodation just over 1 week in advance. When I was booking over the phone I specifically said that my wife had a dairy allergy and would require soy milk if possible, if not we could of course bring our own. They said it was no problem and followed up with a nice email again to say if there was anything else special needed before our arrival, to let them know.

When we arrived and were checking in we mentioned the soy milk when asked if there was anything we needed. They said it would be fine so we headed out for a great dinner in Cappy's Chowder House in Camden.

When we went to breakfast the following morning we asked about soy milk and were told that - they didn't have any and the store was a 20 minute drive away! It seems like a small complaint but what annoyed us was that we could have just brought our own and they made such a big deal about helping with any special requests...it left a sour taste in our mouth...

They need to follow through on their service, it's the small things. Otherwise an enjoyable stay, very comfortable bed and very peaceful location. The breakfast (aside from the soy milk) could have been better, was served a strange egg concoction with onions on top and tomato with a side of melon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gypsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clyde
14.2 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
134 reviews
15.8 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
16.9 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#4 of 10 in Rockport
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 5 Cold Storage Road, Billing: 107 Port Clyde Road Tenants Harbor, ME 04860, Port Clyde, ME 04855 (Formerly Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Port Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clyde
Price Range: £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a twelve-guestroom bed and breakfast in an 1850 sea captain's home overlooking Port Clyde Harbor and Muscongus Bay. This true Maine fishing village is located at the tip of a peninsula in the Town of St. George. At the Seaside Inn, the welcome is warm and the pace is slow, though we do have high speed, wireless internet access for those guests that must check their email. The Dip Net Restaurant is located just across the street from the Seaside is a great eating place for lunch or dinner and offers waterfront dining serving Maine Lobster and the freshest seafood and views beyond compare. The Barn Cafe is located next door open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights, with a full bar and local fare. Come visit us, relax and enjoy the views! Seasonal, May 27 through Columbus Day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Port Clyde
Seaside Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing