We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!”
Review of Seaside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We just spent two enjoyable 'get away' nights at this B&B. It is right in the middle of Port Clyde within eyesight at easy walking distance of the waterfront. For us it was a very comfortable & relaxing place to stay for our day trip trip to Monhegan Island, and then to explore this specific coast area of Maine. The two woman who make the Seaside Inn operate are very hard working and their efforts made our stay quite enjoyable and trouble free. Our room, while small was clean & comfortable. Access to a deck for an evening drink was a nice touch. The hot breakfast menu changes daily. They offered fresh fruit and hot coffee along with other breakfast choices, Our two breakfasts were tasty and filling.
A pleasant and fun surprise was The Barn (a bar) right next door. The bar, patrons and bartender (Hannah) were very welcoming and the Thursday night we were there was quite lively even though it was not a particularly young crowd! It closes by 8 PM so get there early!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CahillSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    24
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
45
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
BEVERLY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I guess we had become spoiled by the charming reception we had received at The Moorings and at The Town and Country in NH! We did not have reservations, so walked in. The "Manager" and her assistant were chopping onions for the Enchilladas they were serving that night at The Barn next door. We felt as if were intruding on their "work". Turns out we were the only guests and they gave us a very nice room - should be for the price we paid! We informed them we would be leaving on the 7AM Ferry to the Island and would not be having breakfast. We were told to help ourselves in the kitchen - they did leave out two paper sacks, but forgot to make coffee! We decided since we would be hiking the next day to take our showers before bed. I went in first and was enchanted by the flashing lights comng from the shower head - different). Just as I was finishing up I don't know if I heard it or felt it first, but the entire shower rod, liner and curtain came down striking me across the forehead!! It was a tension rod and I think there was too much weight on it. Well, my significant other who has never pretended to be a handyman tried to put it up - no go. So, I got into my robe and he went down to the kitchen. The assistant manager came up and she tried without success to put it up, so she called the manager, who made no bones about the fact that we were interrupting her!! Not once did she inquire as to whether I was OK or not. After snapping at the assistant, she managed to get it up and then proceeded to question me as to where on the wall the rod was located and did I touch it??? How inthe world would I know! I just got in expecting to come out clean not dazed and confused! We quietly left in the AM and will NEVER return!

Room Tip: Some rooms seem tiny with shared baths. Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladydi6Beverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a convenient location to the Monhegan Ferry line with pleasant views of the harbor.
In previous stays the staff was friendly and attentive, not the case now.
Room was adequate, no A/C and some rooms have shared bathrooms.
Staff communication was unprofessional, service was poor.
Offered coffee for early morning that was made the night before and was told it would stay hot.
Breakfast from what I observed was 3 or 4 day old muffins and danish, instant oatmeal, and a unappealing list of specials like biscuits with cream gravy and more.
For the price, one would expect a nice breakfast not leftover pastries and 7 hour old coffee.

There are many choices today, the owners should make some staff changes or perhaps train them better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vtseason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thebarninnkeeper, Manager at Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I apologize that your stay here did not meet your expectations. I made coffee before six AM before I went kayaking, not the night before. Also I am Servsafe certified and ready to eat food such as muffins can be served for several days. We have a small staff team that strives to make this establishment a welcoming, clean and comfortable haven on the beautiful coast. We appreciate your review and will work on the areas that you stated need improvement.

If you would like to give me your address, I would be happy to send you a delicious bag of coffee complements of the owner and staff.

Sincerely Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We loved this Inn. It was right on the water and I had requested a room with a view. The town of Port Clyde is small and locals are very interesting. The room was average size for any B and B. It was clean and fresh. The breakfast was very good...buffet style eggs and sausage...muffins...juice and good coffee. You can also go across the street to the General Store and eat there. Adjoining the Inn is a little place called The Barn....it is a local watering hole and it fills up with the most interesting people..closes early. They have 'buttermilk fried chicken' only and it is worth trying...very good...I would strongly suggest Port Clyde as a stop on your trip to Maine.

Room Tip: be sure and try the fried chicken at the Barn next door....I KNOW...but now and then you get a hunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Seaside Inn is a small, clean and comfy well-appointed spot to lay your head down for the night and enjoy a homemade buffet breakfast in the morning, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, cereal, pastries, OJ and coffee. The inn's chefs also supply the food on limited days during the week to the next-door gallery/restaurant.
The inn is located across the street from a small but adequate picturesque general store and restaurant on the wharf. The Monhegan ferry is berthed at the pier as well. Monhegan is the Wyeth family home and artists travel from around the world to paint this interesting island.
This was our second multi-day Seaside experience and third visit to friends who summer in Port Clyde, and the innkeepers have always been friendly and informative, but best of all, there's lobster just minutes from the sea, cooked to perfection by our friends, and a really terrific ice cream parlor just up the road! Just walk past the inlet with all the lobster pots, get your ice cream and watch one of the most brilliant sunsets ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the wharf. Besides the obvious, the view, there's a bit more cross-br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, New hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Room though small was well kept, clean and comfortable. Service was adequate but somewhat cold. We stayed only one night and did not really feel welcome. It seemed that maybe some of the other guests were family of locals, regulars, or long term stays that had built relationships with the Inn Keeper. Breakfast had potential to be very good and substantial, except the scrambled eggs were room temp and the sausage seemed a bit cooler. The girl cooking seemed the most friendly of the staff that we encountered and went out of her way to be friendly and attentive to the guests. We would try Seaside again but our expectations would not be as high.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NTutSTut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We arrived late, but called ahead and were welcomed and told how to let ourselves in- no guilt on that one! The room was larger than most B&B rooms and was lovely- very seaside! Breakfast was self-serve with an assortment of pastries and hot eggs and sausage. Location to the Monhegan ferry couldn't be closer. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clyde
14.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
166 reviews
21.8 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
106 reviews
13.8 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
147 reviews
18.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Property: Seaside Inn
Address: 5 Cold Storage Road, Billing: 107 Port Clyde Road Tenants Harbor, ME 04860, Port Clyde, ME 04855 (Formerly Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Port Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a twelve-guestroom bed and breakfast in an 1850 sea captain's home overlooking Port Clyde Harbor and Muscongus Bay. This true Maine fishing village is located at the tip of a peninsula in the Town of St. George. At the Seaside Inn, the welcome is warm and the pace is slow, though we do have high speed, wireless internet access for those guests that must check their email. A delightful full breakfast is served each morning at the Ocean House Dining Room, located up the hill in the Ocean House Hotel. Breakfast is served from 7 AM to 11AM. The Dip Net Restaurant is located just across the street from the Seaside is a great eating place for lunch or dinner and offers waterfront dining serving Maine Lobster and the freshest seafood and views beyond compare. The Barn Cafe is located next door open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights, with a full bar and local fare. Come visit us, relax and enjoy the views! Seasonal, May 27 through Columbus Day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Inn Bed And Breakfast
Seaside Hotel Port Clyde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing