We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Can't Be Beat”
Review of Seaside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The Seaside isn't really a B & B, it's managed by a property company and the owners don't live there. (And the Inn is up for sale.)
That said, the room we had was clean, spacious and had a killer view from the windows looking out over the Port Clyde harbor and all it's various activities.

We stayed 2 nights, and breakfast each morning was your choice of an egg dish along with fruit and fresh baked muffins. And finally, decent cups of coffee.

There is wi-fi in the rooms although the signal is weak 95% of the time. The place is a bit worn around the edges, but really who cares as long as it's clean?

One disappointment was when I asked the girl who checked us in for places in the area to hike and she couldn't give me any ideas except the trip over to Monhegan (which we weren't interested in).

You could have dinner at the Inn if you made reservations, but we wanted to eat at the Dip Net across the street so we took a pass.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DumbDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2008

During my recent Maine trip, I stayed at a number of fleabag places and one gem: the Seaside Inn. The place is immaculate, beautiful, romantic, cozy. The breakfast is outstanding.

There's a shared mini-fridge and microwave oven. Nice communal room for travelers to meet (although it was pretty empty when I was there). Excellent location near the lighthouse and quaint town of Port Clyde.

The Seaside Inn was a superlative experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank k1ckstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We happened upon the Seaside Inn more or less by accident since we did not expect to find lodging while visiting the "end of the line" harbor village of Port Clyde, ME on the tip of St. George Peninsula.

As a bed and breakfast it offered more amenities than expected such as private bath, king size beds, and a lounge/library where fresh coffee is always available and the inn keeper had placed a loaf of freshly baked banana bread to enjoy with our coffee or tea.

The inn sits on a hillside on the street paralleling the harbor with terrific views of the working boats and rustic buildings along the wharf.

Our breakfast was "cook's choice", large waffles covered with in-season fresh strawberries and blueberries. For other tastes the menu was not limited to the special. There was cereal, fruit, toast and "fixin's".

The innkeeper was very hospitable, anxious to please, available for any need, but not intrusive. We would gladly have enjoyed a few more days there if our schedule had permitted.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Countrydoc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We were looking for a true Maine experience for a spring getaway that would also be quiet and relaxing. We found the PERFECT spot at the Seaside Inn B&B!! Maggie and the "folks" at the Inn were very gracious and hospitable, the inn is immaculately clean, and very well set up. The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful - great food and lots of it!
If you are looking for a true Maine seaport village and a great place to stay, too, this is the place!
Our stay with Maggie and the Seaside Inn was truly the vacation we were looking for and we will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DoodlesMom_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideInnPortClyde, Innkeeper at Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2008

We so enjoyed your visit with us here in Port Clyde, Maine and we hope you can stay with us at the Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast again some time in the future.
We really appreciate your kind words and are so glad that you enjoyed our little corner of Maine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

Getting to Port Clyde, Maine, for a quiet, pre-high season visit was a dream for many years. An on-line search led me to Seaside Inn Bed and Breakfast, right at the harbor's edge. A phone call to innkeeper, Maggie, set the reservation for four days in May. Both Seaside and Port Clyde turned out to be absolutely perfect - real Maine, real fishing village, a taste and feel of why this coast is so very special.

I stayed in Harbor View, second floor - view out over the harbor, deck just outside the door, other chairs around the grounds where I could catch the sun any time of day, watch the comings and goings of fishing boats, their crews, local family activities - life in a small, tightly-knit Maine village. Port Clyde also is where you get the boats to Monhegan, another perfect day trip.

My room was lovely, Maggie's attentiveness but respect for my need to read or sit quietly was wonderful. Breakfast may be the best I have ever had - eggs any way you want, Belgian waffles, french toast, bacon perfectly cooked, lots of coffee, juice, fruit. Afternoon wine and cheese; cookies or baked treats every day, coffee and tea when you wanted in the library.

Seaside and Maggie's skill and talent as innkeeper are very special. Find a way to get to Port Clyde, get to Seaside and stop for a few days. You will never forget the place.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cjaquith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeasideInnPortClyde, Innkeeper at Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2008

It was delightful to have you stay with us here in Port Clyde, Maine. We hope you can stay with us at the Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast again some time.
How nice to read your kind words! We are so glad that you enjoyed our lovely area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

We loved this beautiful B&B. Upon check in, we were welcomed with wine and cheese in the library. There was a large variety of books, movies, and games to play in the library. Our room was awesome! It was very clean. There were bathrobes for our use which was a nice addition. Breakfast was great, too! The B&B is just a few minutes from the lighthouse that Forrest Gump ran to in the movie. The small town of Port Clyde was neat. We had a view of the busy working harbor from our room.
I would HIGHLY reccommend this amazing B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TakeAHikeCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2007

We stayed at the Seaside in Port Clyde in September. At first, we wondered about staying at a b&b and didn't know what to expect. If maybe it would be like grandma's house or something. And we wondered if we'd miss having tv in our room and no cellphone service. But it was friendly and relaxed, we watched tv for a bit in the inn's library but not much. We actually read the books we brought with us in front of their fireplace.
The food was great. The innkeepers helped us get restaurant reservations and told us places not to miss. We wanted to get away from it all and this was the place.
We spent time at the little beach searching for driftwood and went over to Monhegan Island for the day. My husband went out kayaking and I shopped (typical). We both had a great time.
There was no traffic and Port Clyde is tiny. So different from where we live! We really got into seeing the lobster and fishing boat guys doing their thing.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kenandjena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Address: 5 Cold Storage Road, Billing: 107 Port Clyde Road Tenants Harbor, ME 04860, Port Clyde, ME 04855 (Formerly Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Port Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clyde
Price Range: £99 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a twelve-guestroom bed and breakfast in an 1850 sea captain's home overlooking Port Clyde Harbor and Muscongus Bay. This true Maine fishing village is located at the tip of a peninsula in the Town of St. George. At the Seaside Inn, the welcome is warm and the pace is slow, though we do have high speed, wireless internet access for those guests that must check their email. The Dip Net Restaurant is located just across the street from the Seaside is a great eating place for lunch or dinner and offers waterfront dining serving Maine Lobster and the freshest seafood and views beyond compare. The Barn Cafe is located next door open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights, with a full bar and local fare. Come visit us, relax and enjoy the views! Seasonal, May 27 through Columbus Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Port Clyde
Seaside Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing