We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, non-touristy jumping off spot from which to explore Maine.”
Review of Seaside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clyde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Clyde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely, non-touristy jumping off spot from which to explore Maine.”
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We recently spent two nights at the Seaside Inn on our way to Monhegan Island. We picked the inn on the basis of its proximity to the ferry dock. (We could leave our car in the Inn's parking lot as we continued on to Monhegan). We found much more than convenience.

Betsy and Dale were gracious hosts - informative and friendly but not too intrusive. The rooms, while not plush by any means, were sparkling clean. The bed was comfortable. The best part was the food. Upon arrival there were homemade pumpkin muffins waiting in the sitting room. Unlike many B&B's you actually got to choose what to have for breakfast. I chose huevos rancheros, which were delicious. Good huevos rancheros in Maine? Who knew! At night we ate at the Dip Net Restaurant, across the street from the inn and right on the water. It's a funky, unassuming place with lobsters that taste like they were just picked from the sea. It was too late in the season to take advantage of the art gallery that is right next door to the inn.

If you prefer small and simple to cookie cutter tourist venues this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    24
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
45
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Innkeepers Betsy and Dale were terrific people, and they clearly were the attraction that brought in both tourists and locals. Port Clyde is a wonderful - very small - town, that was fun and a great escape location. Breakfast was a cook to order menu with 5-6 choices, and excellent. Coffee was brewing early. Computer was available for eamil catch up. The guests were laid back and enjoying being served. Dale has set up a happy hour bar in the adjoining bar, and brought in some local entertainment and lots of customers having fun. Prices were reasonable for oceanfront and views to die for. There is a great "in the rough" restaurant on the bay within 50 yards, which catered to overnight guests, boaters, and local clients. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbocu70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I stayed at the Seaside Inn for one night in the Captain's Cabin. The room offered a spectacular view of the harbor and dock. The room was spacious and very welcoming. The bathroom was clean, although the buildout around the shower made it a bit difficult to get in and out of the shower. In addition, there was little light provided within the shower.

The breakfast provided was very good and cooked to order. We were given an egg option and our choice of fruit or muffin, all of which was very tasty. I highly recommend the Dip Net for dinner (located across the street, behind the Port Clyde General Store). We ran over to the restaurant in a torrential downpour (from someone who's lived in the desert their entire life...) but it was well worth it. The lobster ravioli is to die for!

While comfortable, the Inn did not provide what I would say is a typical B&B experience. That would definitely not stop me from staying again, as everything about the Inn was pleasant, just not the experience I was necessarily expecting.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hajile99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

I spent one night at the Seaside Inn before heading to Monhegan Island. The location was great -- very convenient to the dock and ferry. The staff at the Inn are superb -- very friendly and helpful. A hot breakfast with a variety of choices is served and is very delicious. My only negative comment is that folks like to gather in the common room to chat before going to bed, and if your room is at the top of the stairs this can be quite loud. Overall this Inn is a great value for the price and you cannot beat the location, cleanliness and amenities.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Narya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The Seaside isn't really a B & B, it's managed by a property company and the owners don't live there. (And the Inn is up for sale.)
That said, the room we had was clean, spacious and had a killer view from the windows looking out over the Port Clyde harbor and all it's various activities.

We stayed 2 nights, and breakfast each morning was your choice of an egg dish along with fruit and fresh baked muffins. And finally, decent cups of coffee.

There is wi-fi in the rooms although the signal is weak 95% of the time. The place is a bit worn around the edges, but really who cares as long as it's clean?

One disappointment was when I asked the girl who checked us in for places in the area to hike and she couldn't give me any ideas except the trip over to Monhegan (which we weren't interested in).

You could have dinner at the Inn if you made reservations, but we wanted to eat at the Dip Net across the street so we took a pass.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DumbDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

During my recent Maine trip, I stayed at a number of fleabag places and one gem: the Seaside Inn. The place is immaculate, beautiful, romantic, cozy. The breakfast is outstanding.

There's a shared mini-fridge and microwave oven. Nice communal room for travelers to meet (although it was pretty empty when I was there). Excellent location near the lighthouse and quaint town of Port Clyde.

The Seaside Inn was a superlative experience.

  • Liked — Location near lighthouse
  • Disliked — Room was rather small.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank k1ckstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2008

We happened upon the Seaside Inn more or less by accident since we did not expect to find lodging while visiting the "end of the line" harbor village of Port Clyde, ME on the tip of St. George Peninsula.

As a bed and breakfast it offered more amenities than expected such as private bath, king size beds, and a lounge/library where fresh coffee is always available and the inn keeper had placed a loaf of freshly baked banana bread to enjoy with our coffee or tea.

The inn sits on a hillside on the street paralleling the harbor with terrific views of the working boats and rustic buildings along the wharf.

Our breakfast was "cook's choice", large waffles covered with in-season fresh strawberries and blueberries. For other tastes the menu was not limited to the special. There was cereal, fruit, toast and "fixin's".

The innkeeper was very hospitable, anxious to please, available for any need, but not intrusive. We would gladly have enjoyed a few more days there if our schedule had permitted.

  • Liked — Friendliness and comfort
  • Disliked — Slight difficulty in carrying luggage up the grassy hillside from the parking lot
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Countrydoc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clyde
14.5 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
187 reviews
17.0 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
319 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
14.2 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
112 reviews
5.9 mi away
Craignair Inn at Clark Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Inn

Property: Seaside Inn
Address: 5 Cold Storage Road, Billing: 107 Port Clyde Road Tenants Harbor, ME 04860, Port Clyde, ME 04855 (Formerly Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Port Clyde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clyde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a twelve-guestroom bed and breakfast in an 1850 sea captain's home overlooking Port Clyde Harbor and Muscongus Bay. This true Maine fishing village is located at the tip of a peninsula in the Town of St. George. At the Seaside Inn, the welcome is warm and the pace is slow, though we do have high speed, wireless internet access for those guests that must check their email. A delightful full breakfast is served each morning at the Ocean House Dining Room, located up the hill in the Ocean House Hotel. Breakfast is served from 7 AM to 11AM. The Dip Net Restaurant is located just across the street from the Seaside is a great eating place for lunch or dinner and offers waterfront dining serving Maine Lobster and the freshest seafood and views beyond compare. The Barn Cafe is located next door open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights, with a full bar and local fare. Come visit us, relax and enjoy the views! Seasonal, May 27 through Columbus Day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Hotel Port Clyde
Seaside Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing