We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Chadwick was a delightful Bed & Breakfast. Ours was the Longfellow room with the king bed and although our bath was across the hall we were just fine with the soft, comfy bathrobes provided to us.
Scott and Erin were very helpful, friendly and gracious hosts. The home was very welcoming, comfortable with great character. Little touches were much appreciated like chocolates in our room, cookies and snacks in the dining room and water in fridge, wi-fi, all complimentary. The living room was well supplied although we did not spend much time with the toys there.
We would definitely recommend this fine establishment!!! It was so much better than a hotel room.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house would likely be quiet and away from the street....but we had mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetali55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Chadwick. Scott and Erin business well organized and have the rooms in beautiful condition and ready for guests. Breakfast was tasty with a fresh take on strawberry shortcake (pancakes). We are hoping a room, is available for our next trip into Portland on the Nova Scotia ferry.

Room Tip: We were in the Longfellow room and it was very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was a little hesitant to book a stay at a bed and breakfast... but it was the best decision of our trip. We stayed at the Chadwick for the week. The house was very quaint and charming, comfortable, and we felt right at home. A very comfortable bed/room with a private bathroom, movies available to watch, access to free water, coffee, snacks, tea, etc. The gourmet breakfasts were amazing! The best part, though, were Scot and Erin (Owner and Assistant). They just made you feel so welcome and comfortable; always a warm smile on their face; good humor; very easy to talk to; available for anything you need, any time of the day/night. Wonderful people with such a giving heart and good attitude. We really enjoyed out time and will absolutely book at the Chadwick again!

Room Tip: All very cute and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our son and his wife visited the Chadwick and loved it. So much so that they made sure to send us as a Christmas Gift. We opened our gift in June and it was perfect. Scott runs a beautiful B&B in a wonderful location. Great beds, delicious breakfasts and very very nice people running this gorgeous place. Go see for yourself. Oh, and damn, Portland's beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The CHADWICK BED & BREAKFAST is just FABULOUS! Scott and Erin are so nice and pay attention to every detail. Our family stayed in 3 of the rooms. Each one was very comfortable, clean and had lots of style. The main living room was spacious and equipped with books, dvds, games and a computer. The dining area had plenty of snacks, homemade cookies, fresh fruit, coffee and other beverages. Shops and restaurants are a short walk away. Breakfasts are delicious, from the pumpkin waffles to the strawberry shortcake pancakes. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying here if you are visiting Portland. We will definitely stay here again in this quiet, relaxing home. The Ehni Family from Ohio

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Enjoyed our short stay at the Chadwick B&B. Upon arriving at the B&B the grounds were manicured nicely, once you opened the front door it felt like home. Enjoyed our short stay and would stay again. Thank you for a great breakfast, and enjoyed the BEST gluten free peanut butter cookies. Thanks again and definitely a repeat :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueSrevol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family rented 3 rooms at the B & B while visiting Portland for my college graduation. Scott and Erin could not have been any nicer or more accommodating. My entire family had nothing but praise for the beautiful rooms and great service they received. Scott and Erin even gave me the option to join my family for breakfast in the mornings for just a small additional fee. Overall, the Chadwick really made my families visit even more enjoyable, and will be highly recommended to any of my friends or other family members visiting me in Portland in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,523 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Park Spring
The Inn at Park Spring
#2 of 11 in Portland
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn On Carleton
Inn On Carleton
#4 of 11 in Portland
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Address: 140 Chadwick St, Portland, ME 04102-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £92 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway in Portland, Maine, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home-away-from-home. Do as little or as much as you’d like. Whether you are visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing