We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at the Danforth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Danforth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Danforth
Ranked #5 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Stay at the Danforth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The excellent staff make you feel so comfortable and are so helpful for just about anything you need. Each morning I got up to a delicious breakfast and there was alway coffee and cookies available should you need a snack. The location allows walking to shops and restaurants. My corner room was nicely decorated and very spacious, clean and comfortable. I would return for another stay if I were going to be in Portland.

Room Tip: I had a lovely room on the second floor that faced Danforth Avenue. I loved the sun coming in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GinnyJuvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    44
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
17
193
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I had previously stayed at the Camden Harbour Inn and loved it so much that we wanted to try the Danforth, which had recently been purchased by the owners of the Camden Harbour Inn. Upon arrival, the owner of the Danforth met us as we exited our car and immediately greeted us by name, which was impressive and welcoming. He let us know that our room was ready for us (we arrived prior to the stated 3:00pm check-in time) and led us to the room. It was unusually hot that day so he had taken the liberty of turning on the AC in the room before we arrived so the room was cool and comfortable as soon as we entered. We stayed in the Arts District room which is on the 3rd floor. The room was cute and the king sized bed was comfortable. The bathroom was quite large and funky in a great way. The inn has loads of sitting rooms and porches and balconies and a cupola and alcoves and a billiards room. Since we were there for only one night we were not able to take advantage of all of the amenities but they all were beautifully appointed and other guests seemed to be enjoying them immensely. So why only four stars? Ok, here are my very picky reasons for the four star rating:

AC: It was great to have AC on such a hot day and night. However, the window unit was old and noisy and even on the regular cool setting the compressor was loud and clunky, which meant that we heard it all night long, and not in a good way. So on the plus side, it worked and we were cool and comfortable, but the noise was disturbing. Investing in some quieter window units or even in some of the newer Dyson floor coolers would be a huge improvement.

Light at 5:30AM: I understand wanting to retain the charm of the 1920s feel of the house, but a good set of light blocking shades or curtains is a must in a hotel/inn. The shades in our room let the light in at 5:30AM, which is less than ideal for folks who would like to sleep in a bit on their vacation.

Breakfast: The dining room is beautiful and clean and the owner was friendly and attentive. However, while breakfast was very tasty, it was all sweet foods. Raspberry coffee cake followed by stuffed blueberry french toast with one slice of bacon is likely to put one into diabetic shock. I totally understand wanting to serve foods that can be made ahead of time, but there needs to be a savory to go with the sweet. A quiche or a casserole or even hard boiled eggs with toast or cottage cheese would be fantastic. The owner did let us know that he would be happy to make us something else but I did not want to put him out as he was clearly covering the breakfast and everything else with just one other staff member.

So, all of that said, I would absolutely stay again, and in fact I hope to do so if not this year then certainly next June. I would also highly recommend it to others wanting to stay at a unique, beautiful and welcoming B&B in Portland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAW12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights recently. Found the hosts and all the staff very friendly. We absolutely loved the place. OK maybe it doesn't have fantastic TVs in the rooms, and the bathrooms aren't amazing, but it has style, elegance and some lovely spaces where you can relax. Number of good restaurants a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeicestershirePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We really enjoyed staying at the Danforth! The hotel was super super cute and we really liked our room (Monument Square). The room was nicely sized on the 3rd floor with a great bathroom. Each floor of the hotel had a common room for the guests to sit in, enjoy coffee/tea, etc. We really liked the balcony on the 2nd floor and the Cupola on the 4th floor for hanging out. The breakfast was really nice too. The innkeeper was super helpful with check in and recommendations for us as well.

Room Tip: We really like the Monument Square room, but I think you really couldn't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kkangerga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castine, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great building with charm but interior needs updating,and was just missing on many little things that an Inn of this quality should provide.Breakfast was ok but not outstanding.Location ok but need car to take in old port area. I would like to come back after new owners are finished with renovations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We loved our stay at this hotel. The current owners (one month in) were most helpful and accommodating. Our room was large and airy, the beds super comfortable and the breakfast delicious. We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor as we wanted 2 queen beds but not difficult to get up there as stairs are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silver_but_active
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were only there for 2 nights and would have preferred to be closer to the Old Port area. That said, the service is impeccable,and the beds well appointed, clean and very comfortable.
New owners are said to be planning a much needed update to this really lovely old home. Don't be put off by the stained carpet that greets you at the front (side door), the interior is very clean. Noisy window air conditioners make sleep difficult. Breakfast uninspiring except that it is served by a charming, personable and very professional staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danforth

Property: The Danforth
Address: 163 Danforth St, Portland, ME 04102-3813
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Danforth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Danforth is the grande dame of the Portland, Maine boutique hotel scene. Built in the 1800's, extensive renovations to design and (mostly) new bathrooms have married historic gentility with classic but contemporary stylings. Basement billiard room, a widow's walk with views, three course breakfasts - who could ask for more? A recent review called The Danforth an historic mansion with a hip vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Danforth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danforth Hotel Portland
The Danforth Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing