We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food / Place”
Review of Hot Suppa

Hot Suppa
Ranked #18 of 613 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The menu at Hot Suppa is all made from scratch from quality ingredients; local goods are used whenever possible. Our renowned breakfast and lunch are served seven days a week, so you can get that corned beef hash fix whenever you’re jonesing. Dinner is available five nights a week, featuring our favorite dishes, like fried chicken & a waffle, falafel salad, and Maine oysters on the half shell. We offer a full bar service if you care to relax into the evening with a Porch Swing cocktail, or recover in the morning with a spicy Bloody Mary or cold draft beer.
Easton, PA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Food / Place”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Snuck in ahead of the lunch crowd on a Monday - cool place - captures the funk of Portland to a T. Had a Latin egg benedict - called (I think) the Ricardo Benedicto. Was superb. If i hadn't had a fairly bad cold would have most certainly supplemented that with the place's clearly well-regarded Bloody Mary. Visually fun place; cool crowd - and it was a crowd - again locals 98% I'm sure.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Easton_PAJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    111
    28
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stopped here for lunch after flying into Portland. Service was very friendly, and the food was delicious! I had the grilled cheese with local cheese (and I don't associate good cheese with Maine), but it was fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kieferr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast - lives up to its hype”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went for breakfast - around 9 AM on a Saturday morning - but the wait wasn't too long. My 2 YO got a piece of french toast and side of bacon - both were delicious. I got a bloody mary (spicy and delish!) and the fried green tomato benny. The hollandais was excellent (although it could have used a touch more) and the hash browns were great too. My husband got an eggnog latter and the corned beef plate. He said it was the best "alternative" corned beef he has ever had. It had carrots in it for a twist, the corned beef was delicious and not too salty.

Def would go back if we are in the area visiting my BIL again soon. Better than some of the more popular water front breakfast places for sure. It was a little steep for bfast when all was said and done ($55 with tip) but worth the extra cost for quality ingredients and options.

PS - also have lots of healthier options and veg/vegan options.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Excellent Brunch!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Many options! Lots of vegetarian options too! Fresh orange juice and many other beverages are available!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Courtney017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our breakfast at Hot Suppa was very good. The service was friendly and speedy considering how packed the place was. My husband had the crab cake benedict and I had the waffle with bacon. The food was reasonably priced and it was the perfect start to a day of sight-seeing. We were both very pleased!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hot Suppa also viewed

 

Been to Hot Suppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing