We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Quinta, I'm never disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“La Quinta, I'm never disappointed”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My husband & I stayed here the first night in Portland. It was a great price and just a short drive to historic Portland area. The rate was $77 compared to $144 hotels in area, using AAA. They don't have a parking charge as other hotels They have their free breakfast and the breakfast room is a nice little room. The room itself is in par with the more expensive hotels in the area. It's an area of industrial businesses or similar. We could see Portland's huge hospital from our window.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORANGECELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    256
    156
    56
    39
See reviews for
195
285
48
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 November 2012

It's a little far from the center of town, but the cab service is spot on. The rooms were clean and quiet. The beds were great. It's pretty no frills, but all the basics are certainly there.

-- oh I forgot to mention on the guest checkout survey to check the irons so I'll mention it here.

the iron in the room had some melted stuff on it. Luckily I check that before using it because guests aren't always nice to in room amenities. So check the Iron before you use it!

I would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Hill
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

La Quinta in Portland is clean, comfortable and affordable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast includes fresh fruit, yogurt and hardboiled eggs. There are also baked goods and a waffle maker. Room rates are very affordable.
This is not a luxury hotel. The neighborhood is working class and a bit noisy. Milk tank trucks line up on the street in the morning waiting to deliver milk to the Hood plant next door and planes fly overhead on their way in and out of Portland JetPort. On the plus side the hotel offers long term parking for people flying in and out of Portland and provides a shuttle to the train station, airport and Maine Medical Hospital.
There is a Denny's Restaurant close by [Does LaQuinta mean next-to-a-Denny's?] and the Dog Fish Cafe within a few minutes walk to Congress Street. The Old Port and major tourist spots are pretty far away. It would take 20-30 minutes to walk there from the hotel.
La Quinta is a great utilitarian choice for a busy budget traveler .

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendship, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

near hospital, great breakfast, shuttle to hospital, great staff. Room was clean, easy parking and close to restaurants and highway on ramp. Very attentive staff and great price for spur of the moment stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Quita1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China Village
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Don't miss the La Quinta Inn in Portland, Maine. Great location, service, cleanliness and comfort, not to mention value. Very close to all the action in the Old Port, shopping and museums. An easy drive up to LLBeans, close to the airport (and they have a shuttle!) and the train station.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Had one night in this hotel en route to Bar Harbour arriving late evening. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The weather was atrocious and we ended up ordering in a Chinese. the reception staff providing assistance and a range of menus from local restaurants.The room was adequate but smelled of smoke.The following morning identified a pair of glasses on the floor with some dog hairs perhaps an indication of the cleaning regime and something that if spotted the night before would have been pursued. Bed was comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was fine with a range of coffee, cereals, pancakes and muffins.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonexiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Had a single night in Portland on our way home from our honeymoon and this La Quinta was the BEST hotel of our entire trip. The bed was by far the most comfortable out of the 5 different hotels we stayed at. And the staff was very helpful when we were looking for a good close restaurant. Plus, we were surprised that the hotel provided a shuttle to the Amtrak station which was so nice that early in the morning. If we are ever back in Portland we will be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#16 of 20 in Portland
583 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing