We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portland Travelodge
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 31 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

On a recent trip through Maine, my girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel. We knew we'd be outside of Portland proper, but it was a Saturday in the summer, and we were trying to save money. We paid $125 and thought, it can't be that bad. It was. From check in, until we left, the property was the epitome of sadness and despair. Furniture in room had cigarette burns, as did the toilet seat. Yep, the toilet seat. Room was dirty, and the desk in the room, had wood coming off, enough to scratch my girlfriend's legs when she sat down. In addition, we found someone's worn boxer shorts behind the door in the bathroom. My girlfriend and I travel often, and this is the first time I've written a poor review. The pool was clean however, and the breakfast was a standard continental one from a lower level hotel chain, but really, this place needs to be razed and built again from the ground up. I really tried to tell myself (and my girlfriend) it's just one night, but man, you really had to grit your teeth to get through to the next day. If you can get a night for $39.99 and you have a strong constitution, then feel free to book, but I can't imagine you walking away from a stay here thinking it was a good experience. To her credit, the front desk person was really nice at checkout, and you got the feeling not a day goes by where someone doesn't talk to her about some issues.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gscott734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank LondonHoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were pleased. The value was excellent. Rooms were adequate and cleaned daily. The pool was very clean, although it could use a table or two and umbrellas.

The staff was very nice and one gentleman was good enough to tell me how to get into the city easily and where to park. We had a problem with our sink one evening around 5 pm. I called the desk to report it, and a man was there to fix the problem within 5 minutes and he was all done replacing the drain rod within about 20 minutes of my call. I would call that excellent service!

The included breakfast was also very good.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_O_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Corinna C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Rhacknc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
0.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,749 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#10 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Travelodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Travelodge

Address: 1200 Brighton Ave, Portland, ME 04102-1029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £75 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portland Travelodge 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Travelodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Portland
Portland Travelodge Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing