We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“area for small dogs not used frequently”

Quarry Run Dog Park
Ranked #69 of 143 things to do in Portland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 6 acres of fenced dog park for off-leash playing complete with trees and rolling hills. Contains a separate small dog play area.
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“area for small dogs not used frequently”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

I have taken my mini dachshund to Quarry Run (small dog area) three times. First two times, no one else was there and Penny had no one to play with. Finally, today (Saturday) three others arrived between 1and 2. So I have started a meetup group for small dogs. Our first meet will be Saturday, November 9 at 1 pm at Quarry Run and later meetups maybe at other locations. There is no place to sit (so bring a chair if you wish) and no trash can is provided altho there is one at the other entrance farther up the driveway. Small dog park is just to your left as you pull in the driveway. The sign at the foot of the driveway is small.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainiac1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    0
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trails for dog and owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Well maintained park completely fences in with trails for all levels of exercise. Meadows, woods, rocks and creek beds. The wild flowers smell fantastic. Remember to bring your own water.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HollyDoll-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Don't bring your canine here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I get it. Its an old landfill, but exposed tires, gasoline rainbows in the water... this is Maine not Baghdad. Plenty of other choices nearby

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fredro4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hide your valuables”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

This dog park has been the scene of car break ins. Aside from that, it's a nice park where most people clean up after their dogs.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sahzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great space!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

We took our 12 lb dog Mugsy to his first ever dog park. It was the first time since we rescued him that we've taken him anywhere outside off leash (aside from his own backyard). We met up with a lot of other dogs and some very friendly dog owners. It was our first time at Quarry Run and we didn't know the lay of the land. I'm not sure where the small dog only area was, but our dog happens to LOVE bigger dogs, so we weren't overly concerned. Mugsy was so excited to play with other dogs and people, but we didn't want to overtire him on our first trip by exploring everything there was to offer We will definitely be going back and hope to make it a weekly excursion. We will be doing more exploring each time, I'm sure. We really couldn't believe how spacious it was! The only complaint we had was with irresponsible dog owners that had clearly been there before us. We found many droppings from larger dogs that their owners didn't bother cleaning up. As well as those that had been bagged up, but the bags were just tossed in the woods. It's a shame that not everyone can appreciate such a wonderful space and treat it respectfully. Well done city of Portland!

Helpful?
3 Thank Mugsy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quarry Run Dog Park also viewed

 

Been to Quarry Run Dog Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing