We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing exciting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nothing exciting.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

While it seemed to be a newer property, the rooms are terribly small for a Residence Inn. I have stayed at many of them, and these rooms were clearly smaller. The staff was so-so. Not rude, but not friendly either. Just ho-hum. From the looks of the layout, it appears that many of the rooms do not have a good view. The parking garage next door was fine for good weather. Which is how often in Portland? I would think they would have a bridge to it on the second floor, being in a downtown location in a wintery place. Nice indoor pool and extra large exercise room. While the hotel was not in the main area for dinner and shopping, it was a good thing to not be in the midst of the chaos. The walk to dinner and shopping area in downtown was very reasonable, and I do not walk much.

Room Tip: The rooms with a water view are higher up, on the front and cost more. Otherwise, plan on looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulliver4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    332
    82
    18
    30
See reviews for
225
431
38
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Never spar with a guest.

The manager told me that she would come up and smell the room "AFTER I left." This is the information imparted after noting I was at up a 5 AM looking for allergy relief medicine.

According to this terse manager, "All our rooms are clean and smoke free."

Apparently not.

Without notice there was a knock on my door. An employee who did not identify himself, yet wore an industrial uniform, noted he was here to check on my room. Why could the manager not do this? She said she was "too busy."

He confirmed what I knew all along. Someone had smoked in the room.

Stange, when the manager dropped me an e-mail--she still could not "let it go."

Her response noted that there were other in this room before me and they did not complain of smoke and that the property is "smoke free." 138 days on the road I know the Marriott chain is smoke free

I say to her..................."next contestant." There is a job as a hostess at Dennys waiting for her.

This is the worst Marriott expereince I have had--and I have been loyal to Marriott since 1978.

Word to the wise. Check in at the Hilton down the street. Who needs attitude.

Room Tip: Room with no view. Interior courtyard overlooked dormant patio furniture. Dull view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights this month while in Portland on business. This is the third year in a row that I have stayed here for 3-4 nights. Once again, I was extremely pleased with my stay. My one and only complaint is that after 3 years the towels are beginning to get a little thin. I think it's about time the hotel purchase some new ones.

Although the location is in the Old Port, is it a little bit of a walk (5-10 minutes) to most shops and restaurants. Not an issue in good weather, but not fun on a cold, windy and rainy/snowy night. Not really a problem though. If you've parked in the garage next door ($12/day), you have unlimited ins and outs.

I LOVE the kitchenettes in the rooms. Stopped at Trader Joe's and Whole Foods before check-in to stock up with beverages and snacks.

Used the gym for the first time during this stay. Small, but clean and nice selection of equipment. 24 hour access with room key.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailorgirl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed here with family (kids, 1 on foldout, 1 in crib), and everyone loved the big, clean room . No problem Parking free on the street overnight (next day was Sunday) . overslept past 10am and missed breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Nice place to stay- central to restaurants, parks, and the water. new hotel with a gret breakfast, great gym, pool and nice accomodations with a kitchen and living room. Higly recomment.

Room Tip: 602 on water high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussie returning
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great rooms and facilities. Fabulous breakfast. Family friendly. Excellent value.

Room Tip: On edge of town but still terriric in every regard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comparisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, MA
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed at the Residence Inn Portland, ME on the weekend of March 10th. The rooms were very spacious and having the full kitchen area was a definite plus. The pool and fitness room were also a very nice touch to have for me to relax and get a good workout in. The staff was very accomodating and friendly and were very helpful when I had questions about what to do in town and where to eat. There was a sports group staying here during this time and they were very loud and disrupting. The staff did what they could to try and leviate the situation and I was happy about that. Overall this is an excellent hotel and in a good location and the staff made it a wonderful experience. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone that asked me where to stay in Portland, ME.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing