We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate Suite Rooms with a gorgeous view available & great hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Otisfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Immaculate Suite Rooms with a gorgeous view available & great hospitality!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I spent my 60th birthday here! It made a special occasion even more special!! Upon request we arrived to an ice cold bucket of champagne with toasting glasses. Our room had a view of the waterfront that was as beautiful to look at during the evening hours (lights) as well as during daylight. Honestly, once there, we didn't even want to leave our room, but did find our way to the lounge/bar area, which is cozy and/or a nice area to gather in. There are many great restaurants & shops within walking distance. The breakfast selection is awesome and the food simply delicious! The staff was very courteous and friendly. We want to return sometime this summer. Love the waterfront atmosphere and charm of the hotel, as well as the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    323
    77
    16
    29
See reviews for
215
422
37
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I recently spent two nights here with two girlfriends on a weekend get away from Rhode Island. All of us were beyond pleased with our stay. Check-in was quick and the staff was always courteous – they were very knowledgeable about the area and had great suggestions on dining and nightlife. The hotel itself was clean, and in the PERFECT location...the rooms were HUGE and had plenty of space for three girls to spread out and get ready :o) Portland is a wonderful city with tons to do. This will now be a yearly trip for my girlfriends and I….I cannot wait to return next year!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyC380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, AR
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have stayed here multiple times when in Portland. The staff is more than helpful and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bar/lounge downstairs makes wonderful drinks and is the perfect place to unwind before or after dinner. The hotel is within walking distance to all the restaurants and shops that Portland has to offer. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a trip to Portland, ME.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

While it seemed to be a newer property, the rooms are terribly small for a Residence Inn. I have stayed at many of them, and these rooms were clearly smaller. The staff was so-so. Not rude, but not friendly either. Just ho-hum. From the looks of the layout, it appears that many of the rooms do not have a good view. The parking garage next door was fine for good weather. Which is how often in Portland? I would think they would have a bridge to it on the second floor, being in a downtown location in a wintery place. Nice indoor pool and extra large exercise room. While the hotel was not in the main area for dinner and shopping, it was a good thing to not be in the midst of the chaos. The walk to dinner and shopping area in downtown was very reasonable, and I do not walk much.

Room Tip: The rooms with a water view are higher up, on the front and cost more. Otherwise, plan on looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulliver4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Never spar with a guest.

The manager told me that she would come up and smell the room "AFTER I left." This is the information imparted after noting I was at up a 5 AM looking for allergy relief medicine.

According to this terse manager, "All our rooms are clean and smoke free."

Apparently not.

Without notice there was a knock on my door. An employee who did not identify himself, yet wore an industrial uniform, noted he was here to check on my room. Why could the manager not do this? She said she was "too busy."

He confirmed what I knew all along. Someone had smoked in the room.

Stange, when the manager dropped me an e-mail--she still could not "let it go."

Her response noted that there were other in this room before me and they did not complain of smoke and that the property is "smoke free." 138 days on the road I know the Marriott chain is smoke free

I say to her..................."next contestant." There is a job as a hostess at Dennys waiting for her.

This is the worst Marriott expereince I have had--and I have been loyal to Marriott since 1978.

Word to the wise. Check in at the Hilton down the street. Who needs attitude.

Room Tip: Room with no view. Interior courtyard overlooked dormant patio furniture. Dull view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights this month while in Portland on business. This is the third year in a row that I have stayed here for 3-4 nights. Once again, I was extremely pleased with my stay. My one and only complaint is that after 3 years the towels are beginning to get a little thin. I think it's about time the hotel purchase some new ones.

Although the location is in the Old Port, is it a little bit of a walk (5-10 minutes) to most shops and restaurants. Not an issue in good weather, but not fun on a cold, windy and rainy/snowy night. Not really a problem though. If you've parked in the garage next door ($12/day), you have unlimited ins and outs.

I LOVE the kitchenettes in the rooms. Stopped at Trader Joe's and Whole Foods before check-in to stock up with beverages and snacks.

Used the gym for the first time during this stay. Small, but clean and nice selection of equipment. 24 hour access with room key.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailorgirl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed here with family (kids, 1 on foldout, 1 in crib), and everyone loved the big, clean room . No problem Parking free on the street overnight (next day was Sunday) . overslept past 10am and missed breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing