We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel for business travel”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stay in alot of hotels in different cities in the US and Canada for work and this hotel is a favourite. It has a very comfortable feel to it overall and the staff are all wonderful.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed. It is nice to have a small kitchen so that you can stock some healthy food options, particularly when you are staying a few days (eating out gets old very quickly when you travel alot). The included breakfast is a little more extensive than some of the other places I have stayed and they have a number of healthy options rather than just the typical pastries. The coffee and tea that is available at all times is also a nice touch.

The gym here is well equipped for a hotel. There are 3 good quality treadmills, a number of other cardio machines, a decent selection of free weights, kettle bell type weights and an exercise ball.

While it is a few blocks outside of the main downtown area, the location works well for me in relation to where my customers are that I am meeting.

I will be back to Portland a number of times in the coming months and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    336
    83
    18
    31
See reviews for
226
438
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

What a nice venue ---Go for the one bedroom king size bed suites with AAA discount we paid $160 including g self serve FREE breakfast and $3.50 Happy Hour daily
Rooms small but so well appointed full kitchen 2 burners microwave full refrigerator
Lobby roaring fireplace
Mandatory 10:00 PM quiet hours since they claim to be a family hotel
2 warnings or STRIKES and you are out!!!
Soooooo heed the warning and stay and live within reason and keep your volume low

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarieMarieMarieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Spouse had a conference at the Gateway Center; ideal location. The staff was friendly, helpful and kind; they exhibited pride in their workplace. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped ( coffee, popcorn, toiletry, wifi and kitchen w/ fridge). Near terrific restaurants: Fore Street, Ribbolita and Duck Fat. Adequate work out area. Good coffee, iffy breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermonter61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn at Portland, ME on the waterfront last week with my son, his wife and my granddaughter. We had two different rooms, next to each other.The rooms faced the delivery area for the hotel kitchen and was a little noisey in the early morning with delivieries. We celebrated my granddaughter's 2nd Birthday. The rooms are on the expensive side, but very nice. The hotel is within walking distance of the ferries, and many attactions. They do have a shuttle car that will take and pick you up if you do not want to drive to a location. They do have a Senior rate, make sure to ask for it, which helped a little with the cost of the room. The rooms are very nice and have a small kitchen. My son's room had a one bedroom, so that my granddaughter could take her nap and also go to bed early and parents could stay up. They have an excellent breakfast that is included in the price, but no other meals are served or available at the hotel .The Breakfast area could be larger, people overflowed into the bar area to eat or took food up to their rooms in containers which were provided. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate available all day in the lobby area. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday they have a evening social event including free finger foods, but not on Thurs, Friday, Saturday or Sunday. It would have been nice to have it the other nights too - since food is not available in the hotel except breakfast. Not many restrauants close, mustcan take shuttle or car or walk to area restrauants.. You can bring food into the hotel, since they have a small kitchen. They charge for the parking each day at the Town parking garage next door to the hotel at a special rate. It is charged to your bill. No parking lot for the hotel. They do have a small pool and exercise room. The hotel staff was excellent and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask not to be on the side where deliveries are made during the night and early morning. It woke me u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Obviously I like the location of this hotel. It is within walking distance of all the shopping you could possibly want, many, many restaurants, and it's right at the water. We had a water view room which happened to be on the corner, so we had 3 large windows in the room which all had great views of the water and the sunrise.
The studio king we had was very spacious, and the full kitchen was very convenient. It was very well stocked with glasses, dishes and silverware. The living space was a sofa, chair, table and large desk. The bathroom was large, and with the sink/vanity being separate from the shower and toilet it made it easy for 2 people to get ready at the same time. The bed was comfy! And most important everything was very clean.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Check-in/out was simple. The fitness area was very nice with several choices for workouts. We didn't use the indoor pool, but only because we didn't have time!
The included breakfast was a very nice treat - the choices ranged from eggs and sausage to fruit and yogurt to waffles or pastries - you could pretty much please everyone in your family with the selections. The coffee was better than most hotel coffees, and it is available whenever you want it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bloomingidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Had a great room. Arrived late and nice staff. Comfortable bedding. I always find this hotel very expensive, but I do like downtown location. Breakfast good, but always packed. Public areas large and comfortable. No valet is a pain, since the garage is next door. Overall, a nice spot, but on the high end for price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a run of the mill Residence Inn but it's priced like a 4 star hotel. Even for those of who are using Marriott points. At 120,000 Marriott points for 3 nights I think I should have saved my hard earned rewards and gone to the Hampton Inn and paid cash.

Portland is an awesome little city with a completely indie vibe - cool restaurants, coffee shops, bars etc but it really lacks on interesting hotels. Seemingly everything is a 3 star brand similar to what you'd find around an airport (Hampton Inn, Hilton Garden Inn, Embassy Suites etc). A new Westin is opening in December and it will be interesting to see what it does to the existing hotel landscape.

Back to the Residence Inn, I wouldn't pay extra for "views" since the waterfront where the hotel is located is more industrial looking. The way the hotel is built, half the rooms look out of the central courtyard which was fine for quiet etc but not exactly pretty. The hotel was packed over the weekend and Sunday breakfast was a complete zoo. When we were there many of the usual things we'd expect at breakfast weren't out. Not sure if they ran out or they just don't serve on weekends (sausage, waffles etc).

Our room was smaller than I've come to expect but it was well maintained. Hotel staff was friendly. I wasn't sure if I was put off or reassured by the many signs warning that noise rules would be enforced by eviction if necessary.

I would suggest to the hotel management that they dial back the tacky Halloween decorations. The hotel looked like an elementary school with plastic sheets of pre-made decorations. A few simple pumpkins or other seasonal items would be a little less loud.

Location is fine - slightly out of the center but near to several good restaurants.

This city is crying out for a trendy boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elynchking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing