We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location and amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“location and amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Found the location of this hotel to be perfect. Its placement is very walkable to many of the city highlights. It was tucked away from the major streets which made it super quiet. The pool and hot tub was perfect! The staff was more than helpful, cheerful and accommodating whether it be a recommendation or a smile. Rooms were great and well stocked and well stocked for any needs. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    321
    76
    16
    29
See reviews for
212
414
36
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Ipswich, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent hotel. The staff is friendly, incredibly helpful and personable. My two Huskies love the attention, and the front desk would continue to give me pick up bags so we could do our part to keep Portland clean. In fact, with the hotel being a little off Commercial Street (which can get very noisy), a short hop to Duckfat, Ribollita, and Hugo's along with the included breakfast, we changed an upcoming reservation from the excellent Hilton to the Marriott for an upcoming stay in July.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJR1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just completed a two night stay at this hotel. We stayed on a Sunday night and then again on a Wednesday night. This hotel was fantastic we had a great time we would definitely go back again. The staff was amazing. They helped us find a restaurant to eat for dinner and were very accommodating you should be very happy of yourselves at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have now stayed here twice visiting with family. The General Manager and staff, including front desk, food service at breakfast and housekeeping are all exceptionally friendly and happy to offer assistance. The rooms are in a contemporary Victorian style, well designed and appointed. The kitchen comes with everything one would want, including dish liquid and detergent. The hotel will even do your grocery shopping for you. The breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices. Parking is included. Just a block from the ferry terminal and walkway along the main water front. A nice lounge area and court yard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front for a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieNYC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
141 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Residence Inn end of May 2014. The hotel is located at the waterfront, close to the ferry pier. There a few restaurants in walking distance. The hotel has nice rooms incl. a small kitchen, fridge and dishwasher, large TV set. Small bathroom with shower in the bathtub. Free wi-fi and free breakfast are offered as well. On a busy morning it might be difficult to find a table for breakfast. The hotel also has an indoor swimming pool and a good exercise room. Friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately, there is no free parking, you can park at the adjacent parking garage for $ 12 per day.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank claussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stopped in for a one night stay but, will return to this hotel for sure. The room was a great space and very clean. the hotel location is easy to find and centrally located with a great view and easy access to the ferry.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardr627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be back again. I too enjoy our location. It's nice being so close to the Eastern Promenade and the Old Port. I would be happy to assist in any way possible for your upcoming reservations.

Sincerely,
Sarah day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I thoroughly debated giving this hotel five stars because such a rating seems suited for an exclusive resort or boutique hotel. But I am considering the context.

First, I have lifetime Platinum status with Marriott, which of course means I've stayed in a bunch, all over the country. And this one, for a Residence Inn, is top notch. Does it compare to, say, a suite at a Renaissance? Of course not, but that's an apples-and-oranges comparison.

Second is the context of the area. If you are a tourist in Portland, you want to be near the waterfront (check), old Portland (check), downtown and arts district (check), and top-notch restaurants (check). You get all of this, plus rooms and an environment definitely configured to feel like home.

Where this property exceeds standards is in its staffing. When I asked for a room that wasn't next to the elevators, the manager herself took me to check out other rooms. Everyone is friendly and ultra-helpful. The free breakfast even is beyond what I've had at other properties. And there are plenty of public spaces, including a lounge, to stretch out.

By the way, the fitness center was better equipped than those in Marriotts and Renaissance hotels I've stayed in.

I've already stayed here twice and if I ever return to Portland, which I certainly hope to, I won't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your sincere review! It is always a pleasure to know we have made a guest stay the very best it could be. We look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I personally can be of assistance with any up coming planning.

Sincerely,
Sarah Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing