We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always top notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our fourth or fifth stay at the Residence Inn Portland and its always top notch. From the modern lobby to the clean, spacious rooms to the friendly staff, we always have a nice stay in Portland which btw is a great place to visit. Special thanks on this visit to Kristen who went above and beyond to help us get a suite that matched our needs. Tip: If its a nice day or evening take a short walk from the hotel to Old Port Sea Grill & Raw Bar (nice upscale indoor seafood restaurant) or walk a bit further to the always awesome Portland Lobster Co., and sit on the benches on the dock with live music and local flavor. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 968 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights from 6/24 - 6/26 with 3 children (ages 1, 3, and 10). We chose this hotel because it was an all-suite hotel for the same price as other chains wanted for a double bed/king room. The hotel is very well-maintained and the staff went out of their way to interact with guests.

The rooms were very clean and typical Marriott. We used the pool one evening of our stay and found it to be very clean as well. The only downside was that parking is across the street in a garage. However, parking was plentiful and there was a stairwell close to our room that was much more convenient than taking the elevator down and walking across the lobby.

We paid more than we would have for some of the hotels in the area. However, I feel the cleanliness and convenience of a full kitchen justify the extra expense. I also compared it to the Hampton Inn, which was more expensive for a regular room vs. the suite at the Residence.

Room Tip: Upon check-in, we were given the option of an interior room with a separate bedroom or a king studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachHunter_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful with all requests. Location is right on the river park, great place for walking to/from eating at all the great spots. This hotel is a little ways from a lot of the places a tourist might want to visit...but public transit, walking, and taxis are readily available. Rooms were clean and just what you expect out of the Marriott Residence Inns.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeSchmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Extraordinary as most of the Marriott hotels , people at the reception desk are very kind, helpful and charming I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ALL.
We were given a water front view room which was WONDERFUL !!
The bed linens amazing , exquisite .
We had breakfast served in the restaurant all you want to eat and very well attended .

We were two friends vacationing driving from Massachussets to Main . We wanted to stay in the heart of the city and it was just couple of blocks walking to all nice, painteresque shops, the harbour,and nice restaurants .

Room Tip: The bed linens are wonderful, quiet place to sleep,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seeker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Found the location of this hotel to be perfect. Its placement is very walkable to many of the city highlights. It was tucked away from the major streets which made it super quiet. The pool and hot tub was perfect! The staff was more than helpful, cheerful and accommodating whether it be a recommendation or a smile. Rooms were great and well stocked and well stocked for any needs. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent hotel. The staff is friendly, incredibly helpful and personable. My two Huskies love the attention, and the front desk would continue to give me pick up bags so we could do our part to keep Portland clean. In fact, with the hotel being a little off Commercial Street (which can get very noisy), a short hop to Duckfat, Ribollita, and Hugo's along with the included breakfast, we changed an upcoming reservation from the excellent Hilton to the Marriott for an upcoming stay in July.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJR1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We just completed a two night stay at this hotel. We stayed on a Sunday night and then again on a Wednesday night. This hotel was fantastic we had a great time we would definitely go back again. The staff was amazing. They helped us find a restaurant to eat for dinner and were very accommodating you should be very happy of yourselves at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £67 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing