We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripped off!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ripped off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Asked specifically for the front two bedroom suite. The one we got was not at all what I asked for, in short ripped off beware! I was told one thing over the phone and did not get what I expected. 1.5x more per night than is reasonable.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel don't waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vtfltlndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I am sorry for any miscommunication there may have been with making your reservation. We do not have any two bedroom suites that face the water. The only room option we have for water views are the studios. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    323
    76
    16
    29
See reviews for
213
418
36
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
780 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We took our family to Portland for a visit and we had two rooms – one on the top floor and one on the bottom. The difference in cleanliness between the two rooms was significant. The first floor room was not properly cleaned – there was lots of hair in the bathroom that obviously did not belong to our family. I brought it to the attention of the front desk and all I got was an apology and that he would pass it on to the manager. We took pictures to share with the manager, but we were never contacted. Our room on the 5th floor was clean.
The front desk seemed to be short staffed both during our check-in and in the morning. The staff lacked the normal Marriott friendliness. We had to use the fold out couch, and pillows were not provided. We called and asked for pillows – housekeeping came to the door and said they were out of pillows. (So, how are you supposed to sleep?) My husband is life-time Marriott platinum and we have stayed at lots of similar hotels – this one disappointed in comparison, especially for the price.
Parking was a hassle we were lucky we got a spot. On the positive side, the family enjoyed the pool and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfinginflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I'm sorry for your disappointing stay. This is not to our standards. I would like to talk to you in person. Please contact me at your convenience.

Sincerely,
Sarah Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We arrived at the Residence Inn on the night of a six inch rainfall which resulted in much flooding, including three inches in the lobby and the need to evacuate those guests in first floor rooms. The staff could not have been more helpful. Their shuttle service which will take guests anywhere and pick them up took us to a nearby restaurant and picked us up in the torrential rain. George, a very personable desk clerk/shuttle driver, who drove us to the airport the next day to pick up our rental car was a great representative of Marriott service. Even though the kitchen lost all their equipment, the staff made sure that guests were served a full continental breakfast and had coffee and tea service at all times, and even provided special cupcakes and donuts later in the day. The rooms that overlook the water have big windows that actually open for fresh air. They are beautifully decorated, have great beds and a full kitchenette. But what really stands out is the service from the great staff.

Room Tip: top floor water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

A standard marriott experience. Rooms are clean and the kitchen, living room area makes it more enjoyable than a standard room which is nice to have with kids.
(Space and fridge.) we had two rooms and were satisfied.
Parking is a bit of a hassle. No valet service. Location is nice, easy to walk to the old Port.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Most Marriotts do it right with regard to room layout and amenities, and the Residence Inn is no exception. However, also like most Marriotts, it doesn't have much personality. We opted for a harbor view room which allowed us to watch the Nova Scotia ferry arrive, unload and load each evening. Breakfast was included and the food was good, but the space was too small for the number of people using it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrs, CT
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

As stated by others - GREAT LOCATION and the shuttle is a blessing.

So - we upgraded to a waterview room. Wonderful view of the harbor, but the windows were COVERED in fingerprints and heaven's knows what else. Luckily my roomate is used to my traveling prepared to clean...but I shouldn't have to for the price we paid. Hello Housekeeping? Wash the windows each day. Uck.
Also - breakfast was a nightmare. Residence's in tourist areas need to be better prepared to deal with families. I know how a chain like Marriott cannot anticipate running out of milk when they are at 100% capacity.
Moral - bring your patience for early am's, and perhaps a bit of windex, when staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator - outside corners are the best.
See more room tips
Green Features: In line with Marriott standards. If you want new towels or fresh sheets, don't be afraid to ask.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkRollaboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah d, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We always welcome the honest reviews from our guest so we may make improvements where needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The rating was Very Good rather than Excellent because the mattress was a little worn. The included breakfast was very good. We stayed in a two bedroom suite. The room was large and very nice. Housekeeping was also excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekender073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing