We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soon to be discovered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Just returned from a business trip to the Marine Institute in Portland Maine and stayed for a couple of delightful evenings at the Residence Inn Downtown/Waterfront. A great find, which I expect will soon be discovered by many more. I arrived late, near midnight and I had called ahead to ask about a shuttle pickup at the airport, which they offered and was greatly appreciated. They were waiting for me when I landed. On the way we picked up a few other people staying at the hotel who had gone to one of the local pubs for the evening and certainly seemed to be enjoying Portland. The hotel staff were just always there to help make everyone's experience personal and first rate. It was a short drive to the hotel. Over the next few days I enjoyed the room and meals, the friendly and helpful staff and even the little extra walking because the hotel is just beyond the old town area. It was very quiet in the hotel. I was there for business and welcomed the quiet and attention. The hotel just opened recently and everything was obviously new, clean, and welcoming. The place looked great, the room was very nicely appointed, very comfortable. The usual set up with kitchen and seating area, eating table and a working desk, sofa and living area and bedroom space.... but all well laid out and functional even in the studio type suite. Lots of towels and the bedding was very nice. Free wireless worked great. Morning breakfast was very good with a fresh assortment of fruit, cereals, waffles, eggs, potatoes etc. lots of juices and coffee, muffins, bagels etc. The evening social offered was again rather quiet at the start but picked up over time. They offered a nice fresh salad, cheeses and dips, etc. which was enjoyed by visitors. The lounge and eating area are very pleasant and people also clustered quietly around the bar and fireplace. The pool and fitness areas looked very nice. I would definitely recommend this residence inn as a new addition to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeTecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2010

We celebrated my dads birthday here. While the rooms are a little pricey we did bring a dog and my beautiful bride to be cooked a great meal in the kitchenette.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbthunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

This is a nice, new property on the outskirts of the Old Port. The location is actually ideal because its quieter than say, the Regency or Hilton, but its still an easy walk to all the action.
Ups ~ Having a room with full kitchen was very handy.
Room decor was modern and chic
Lobby lounge was nice
Location
Downs ~ Parking; garage is not attached to the hotel which is very odd and inconvenient
~ Service was just average, which I'm seeing more and more from Marriott as a
whole, not just at this property

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seedospend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

My husband and I had a great experience at the Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are cozy and the staff was friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located on the edge of the downtown. You can easily walk to all the great shops, galleries and restaurants Portland has to offer. The rooms are so cozy with many of the comforts from home including a cozy living room and a full kitchen. The hotel staff will even go food shopping for you if you want. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Like many people from Portland, they love their city and are happy to give you places to go and things to see. Upon arriving, we were informed about an art walk going on in town. We checked it out and had a great time. The staff also informed us that there is FREE breakfast in the lobby every morning. We thought it would be a simple continental breakfast, but were happy to find that it was a full breakfast. It was such a great way to start the day. On one snowy night, we got back to the hotel around 5 or 6pm and were happy to find coffee, tea, hot chocolate (with marshmallows and candy canes) and cookies in the lobby waiting for us. It was such a great surprise.

We loved this hotel and plan to stay again.

PS....when in Portland check these places out....

Restaurants:
1. Otto's Pizza (great artisan pizzas)
2. Duckfat (have the Duckfat Poutine and a Moxie)
3. J's Oyster (good lobster rolls and stew....have a Shipyard Ale)
4. Becky's Dinner (great local spot for lobster roll and comfort food)
5. Dean's Sweets (try the Salt Caramel Truffle)
6. Coffee By Design (Maine coffee co. that roasts their own beans)

Shops:

1. 2 Note Botanical Perfumery (Great little shop for bath, body and home products. Owners are friendly, welcoming and very knowledgeable and passionate about what they do)
2. Browne Trading Company (Great staff, delicious goodies)
3. LeRoux Kitchen (great kitchen supplies, sample the many flavored olive oils)
4. McKenzie Tribe (cool menswear, great staff)

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KingJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stayed in the early part of October with mild rain mixed with sun. The hotel is just lovely. We have stayed at other similarly disigned Residence Inns, but they were in larger more metropolitan areas. This hotel was situated so that you could easily walk to the Casco Bay ferry and lovely restaurants. It was easy to find even though we had never been to Maine, much less Portland before. Parking is next door, but it is very close and user friendly.

The only negative was the restaurant and tourist recommendations from hotel staff. We did much better and had greater experiences when we relied upon our Frommer's guide.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bogdan117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

New hotel overlooking Portland harbor a short walk from the Old Port. I will never stay anywhere else in Portland from now on!! Attractive lobby with a bar, breakfast room and snack shop. Very clean and bright pool and jacuzzi also on the ground floor. Our room was a studio with a king bed overlooking the harbor. It was sleek and modern, with a kitchen area with a large stainless steel fridge, microwave, cook top, coffeemaker, dishwasher and plenty of plates, utensils, pots in cabinets with an attractive cherry wood finish and a dining table. SItting area had a red couch that pulls out to a bed. Flat screen TV swivels so you can watch it from the bed, kitchen or sitting area. Bed had bright overhead lighting for reading and was comfortable with good quality cotton bedding. Huge vanity area with sink and big closet. Toilet and shower were in separate room. Free Internet in the room and desk with comfortable chair for working. Parking was $12/nite across the street and breakfast is free, although we did not try it. Very convenient to a good bakery and Italian grocery on India St. and to Duckfat and Fore St., both very good restaurants. Our hotel stay was a great experience.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BooKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Its all been said in previous reviews, so I won't repeat. Very quickly, great location, unbelievable customer service, (BIG Thank You to Sarah, you were wonderful !!) , rooms are large and clean, every employee seems totally happy to be working here and will go out of their way to help, breakfast is well done, lots and lots of free newspapers to choose from. OK so its not so brief. Bottom Line if you are going to Portland for ANY reason stay here. We will be back !!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £100 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing