We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian on Fore”
Review of Paciarino

Paciarino
Ranked #88 of 614 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
258 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Italian on Fore”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I decided to give them a try this visit. Almost all the entrees are pasta. So, if you are looking for something else, this is not the place to dine. My salad was good and my pasta special was okay.
Entrees are very large, so think about splitting. Service was a bit strange. When asked if I would like to take home the leftovers, a tin was brought to the table. If the place was busy, maybe I could understand the concept of patron do-it-yourself. But this was early on a Tues. night, and the place was practically empty. Then I had to ask for a bag to carry the tin. Prices are a bit high for this type of food, in this city. Ribolitta, just down the street has a better Italian selection and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    77
    31
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This place is a hidden gem, tucked into the streets of Portland. It is easy to miss because there is nothing flashy about this place, but it really doesn't need it. I had walked by it several times before stopping to try it. I've eaten here twice now and was blow away by the classic flavors both times. All the pasta is handmade and sauces are sure to impress. You can tell they use fresh ingredients that speak for themselves. I got the special (~$18.00) which was a pumpkin ravioli drizzled with a balsamic reduction, it was to die for. Although the special is seasonal, the main menu items are also very delicious as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmac2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
584 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nice, simple ambiance; very good food”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

First, the ambiance is simple, but very nice; the lighting is really pleasant and the tables are nicely spaced. The servers are very efficient and friendly. You can see them making homemade pasta in the kitchen, and that tells you that everything is very fresh. My wife and I shared an house salad, but unfortunately, it was way too salty. However, everything elso they served was excellent. We shared lasagna, ravioli stuffed with ricotta and spinach, and a bottle of wine. Everything was delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orrington, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A terrific little place on the fringe of the Old Port”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My company has an office very close by and I like to pop in for lunch when I'm in the area. Painted with light colors and simply decorated, it's all about the freshness of the food. People who have complained the menu isn't 15 pages long don't get it: they dont offer more than they can make freshly. I always get something different (today it was a shell-shaped pasta with an unbelievable creamy walnut sauce!) and I've never been disappointed, and the staff has always been friendly and helpful. I

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank torm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A decent Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I visited this restaurant while on holiday with family, it was recommended by our hotel receptionist and while not the very best Italian I have eaten it was perfectly acceptable.

The restaurant has a warm atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming, service was prompt and the food delivered was as described.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paciarino also viewed

 

Been to Paciarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing