We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good food plus”
Review of Grace

Grace
Reserve with OpenTable
Grace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 613 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Congress
ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“very good food plus”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

On September 18, we ate at Grace. Our young waiter's service and his friendliness were noticeably lacking. He told us he was new there, so he needs more training in attentiveness or maybe we just weren't his kind of people. The quality of his work matched neither that of the establishment nor the quality of the food.

Those two young chefs in the centre of the kitchen, the bearded guy in the cap and especially the girl with red hair: so focused! She made the Grace experience worth it and she prepares an excellent meal. From above, we so admired watching her work.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paradoxeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    114
    44
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
217 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We had not dined at Grace recently (there are so many excellent restaurants in Portland) and were looking forward to returning, as our last meal there was terrific.

First thing we noticed that there were many fewer tables and many of the remaining ones were empty--an omen!

Our meals were just OK -and sparse. I did get a huge ribeye, but it was gristly and swimming in gravy and accompanied by a smear of un identifiable vegetables.

Sad to see an excellent restaurant decline!


Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KaseyME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Holly Food!!!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent food with outstanding setting.
Needs prior reservation. Has a nice bar in the middle. And the overall experience was fantastic.
We were very sorry when we couldn't get a table at Fore Street Restaurant but certainly it couldn't have been better or nicer!
Give Grace a chance!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familiampm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not just for foodies”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Grace is a wonderful experience whether you're an out of towner visiting once or a local regular coming every week. The room (a former church) is lovely & spacious with tables far apart. You can sit on settees or normal tables or at the bar. The staff is very competent and hospitable, with the right balance between being warm and being correct. But the food is the center of attention. I enjoy the variety -- sometimes the natural form is the hero (superb oysters, for example), with little adornment, but more often there is a nice inventive combination that pleasantly surprises. You can easily feast just on appetizers. In many visits I've only had one disappointing dish. The wine list will not disappoint you either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyricskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Graceful!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We thought the restaurant was hard to find, but once located in a one way street we weren't disappointed.
Excellent food, helpful waitress, good wine list. Maybe a bit expensive but, in my opinion, worth it.
Lovely ambience in a converted Methodist chapel (a large chapel). Very different from your average restaurant.
Would I go back. Definitely if I was in Portland Maine again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spotted-Jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grace also viewed

 

Been to Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing