We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Solid Beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gritty McDuff's

Gritty McDuff's
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Portland Maine Suds and Spirits Tour
Ranked #2 of 29 Nightlife in Portland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gritty McDuff’s, Maine’s Original Brew Pub specializes in hand-crafted English style ales and traditional and creative pub fare, in a friendly and fun atmosphere. Both Gritty's fine ales and the pubs have won countless "best of" awards through our twenty-six years of operation. Our standard brews are session beers, Gritty’s Pub-Style Pale Ale, McDuff’s Best Bitter, Black Fly Stout, allowing one to have multiple beers within a reasonable time period without overwhelming the senses. Our seasonal and varietal ale offerings are more adventurous, some with a higher ABV, and some with higher IBU. We brew a beer for all craft brew palates. For the diner, we offer traditional pub fare alongside not so traditional specialty items. Our pub-style long tables with benches easily accommodate parties of all sizes and add to the camaraderie.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Solid Beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

If you want to stop in for a seasonal brew, this is the place. I like to window shop along the streets of Portland, then have a 'strawberry blonde'. Yum it hits the spot! It's a cool place, very Portland!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank masulliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    16
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Come For The Beer! Then Leave to Find Better Food!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Whoa! Awesome beer! Disclaimer: We only ate/drank here one time!

I had the “21 IPA” at Gritty’s and it was just what I was looking for, malty, fragrant, and properly bitter. Awesome! Then the food showed up.

My wife had the soup and sandwich special. The tomato soup was reminiscent of canned tomato sauce served luke-warm. Yeccch. The grilled cheese sandwich was light on cheese and adorned with a “vine ripened” tomato. Why bother with these tomatoes when they stop containing actual flavor? It’s an unsolved mystery!

I had the lobster roll and clam chowder special. It was affordable! It was bad! I guess the lobster was okay – hard to mess that up – but there was nothing here to write home about. Small amount of lobster with a bit of lettuce on a little toasted roll. Unremarkable is being kind. Clam chowder – also served nearly warm – was above average for canned, but below average for a restaurant. A few clams would have improved things; as it was – another meh. Finally, to be fair - the fries were really good!

So the bottom line, go get a beer at Gritty’s! Then get the heck out of there and find a decent place for food!

Visited September 2011

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank pgcorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Portland for Labor Day weekend and had lunch at Gritty's. The atmosphere is fun, the food is great, and the view out the back window is amazing. Definitely a good place to stop for a quick lunch and beer.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank iheartboston17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“I want this pub in my home town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

his is a great sociable place to get excellent food and drink. There is a real buzz about the place, and this is well supported by the excellent staff. There was a gig on the night that we were in and that just made it all the more enjoyable. If you want a lively night try Gritty's.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank pzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Best lobster roll summer menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Pub food - best lobster roll price: $17 for two - mostly claw meat - lightly dressed w/side of homemade chips. Alway eat there at least twice for our weekly vacay to Maine. The beer is top notch and compliments the lobster nicely.

Helpful?
Thank apfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gritty McDuff's also viewed

 

Been to Gritty McDuff's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing