We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Gorges

Fort Gorges
Book In Advance
More Info
US$475.00*
and up
Private Lighthouse Sightseeing Charter on a Vintage Lobster Boat
Ranked #58 of 141 things to do in Portland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Abandoned fort on an island in Portland Harbor; visitors should use caution when exploring its grounds.
Falmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is a really unique spot, a short boat ride from Falmouth or the eastern prom in Portland. Great place to explore that really gives you a glimpse into history. Definitely off the beaten path, everyone who goes to the eastern prom sees it, but few actually go.

Helpful?
Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

My husband and I kayak to Fort Gorges at least once a year. It's like an oasis in the middle of Portland Harbor. Almost every year we bring new friends along for the experience and everybody always loves it. Being at the fort is like stepping back in time. It a surreal experience, very peaceful. Fort Gorges is only accessible by small watercraft so there are seldomly many people there. The Portland harbor is very busy and also tricky to navigate in a small vessle so get as much advice about crossing before you go. It's worth it though to see this beautiful historical place. Also, please respect the fort; it is an irreplaceable piece of history.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southborough
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Revolutionary History in the "middle" of Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I often kayak to Ft. Gorges by myself (~25 minutes) from Peaks or with friends when I want to show them the history of Casco Bay. The walking tour of the fort takes about 00:30 minutes and on the highest, southeast side of the fort there is a canon that has been left behind (the only one) and a panorama view of Portland. Watch the tide so your kayak doesn't float away!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Localandloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy the peaceful beauty of a civil war fort and the sea breezes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Bring a lunch and flashlights. Alot of granite steps going into darkness. Do not trust any wood floors.
The friends of Fort Gorges is seeking funding fm the city for a foating dock to ease visits to the fort. The friends are also always looking for new members.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank 1953viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“my childhood at fort gorges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2002

As a child i spent many many nights at fort gorges---would do anything to spend the night again. I grew up in so. portland and my dad and his boat took my sister and i on many camping trips to the fort. We LOVED it---kind of creepy but very exciting!!!! MUST have flashlights that work properly to walk around lots of hazardous holes!!!!! and glass. NO bare feet wear shoes--walk at night and tell creepy stories---make the most of it!!!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Gorges also viewed

 

Been to Fort Gorges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing