We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative”

Wadsworth-Longfellow House
Ranked #26 of 151 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home where poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow lived as a boy.
Jasper, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Hubby and I enjoyed the tour very much. Would definitely go again. Probably not good for young children.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank klquarles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    70
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great historical home”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The tour was an hour long and our guide Debbie was wonderful. She is very knowledgeable about the home and about the family. We learned so much from her! It was very thoughtful that Henry's sister Anne donated the home to the Maine Historical Society so that we can enjoy the home today.The home is open May through October. There is a AAA discount on admission and you also get entrance into the museum. At the time the museum had an exhibit about Maine and the civil war which was interesting. There is a flower garden that is in the back of the home where there are cute iron chairs to sit and enjoy the view. I bet the flowers were beautiful in the summer.They have a gift shop where you can buy Longfellow's poetry among other things. You need to park in a parking garage nearby and walk to the home. There is no photography inside the home but they do have postcards of the interior for sale in the gift shop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
“Tour this historical home!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our tour of the House was informative, entertaining and enlightening. Our guide expertly described in detail some of Longfellow's childhood experiences in the 1790's home, complete with original furnishings and decor. The architecture, authentic artifacts, especially Longfellow's writing desks and the period furniture, were so impressive. The serene atmosphere helped us pay rapt attention to the narration in every room and passage through the intimate home. We really enjoyed the details of how it was to grow up during the early to mid-1800s in a coastal setting that, surprisingly, included agriculture as Wadsworth Longfellow home was part of a working farm. We appreciate the dedication of Longfellow's sister, Ann, in preserving the home for future generations to enjoy. A worthwhile, hour-long tour by dedicated staff who truly seemed proud of their role in educating others about one of our nation's greatest poets.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Historical Tour”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The tour of the Wadsworth Longfellow House was conducted by a qualified and committed guide who was informative in multiple ways. A primary focus is the poet's family history. The house was his home as a child prior to attending college. The dwelling displays life in Portland during 1800's and the furnishings, fixtures and garden is reflective of that era.

The tour duration was perfect at less then one hour and well worth the time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Terrific Tour”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

So glad to have finally been there when this was open. Great tour. Very informative but not boring or too long. Well worth the trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HDMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wadsworth-Longfellow House also viewed

 

Been to Wadsworth-Longfellow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing