We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great piece of U.S. History”

Wadsworth-Longfellow House
Ranked #24 of 146 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home where poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow lived as a boy.
Singer Island, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great piece of U.S. History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Plan an hour and a half to view museum, house and gardens. Fascinating story told by knowledgeable tour guides.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzypeace27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    64
    13
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worthwhile tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and willing to answer questions about the area, the tour, etc. Very interesting and educational. Would recommend this tourist attraction.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
256 reviews
191 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“For Longfellow or old house fans”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is one of the oldest remaining houses in the city. It's now run by the Maine Historical Society, located next door. I took the tour as part of the group I was with. It will really be of most interest to Longfellow fans (I'm not one) or maybe historic house buffs (I am only slightly). If you are neither you are not likely to really enjoy it. But that said I must give credit to the guides (volunteers) who really are passionate about the topic. If you do fit either category than you certainly should take the hour plus and see it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ral338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbarton, NH
Level Contributor
250 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very pretty with some beautiful gardens. Wedged between a couple of modern buildings you could easily walk right past it. I guess it's a nice tribute but seems almost an after thought. Though maybe HWL is only an attraction for us literature majors.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlennzWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must-See on a Trip to Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The MHS has done an awesome job maintaining this building and it's furniture. It's a really neat and interesting tour, and I would recommend those who have some extra time on their trip between May and October go visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wadsworth-Longfellow House also viewed

 

Been to Wadsworth-Longfellow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing