We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Everything was wonderful. I interacted with all of your different staff changes (morning, evening, late night, and early morning) and they were all very professional and helpful. Also, the bar and outside restaurant staff demonstrated the same professionalism and offered excellent restaurant service.

It's rare to interact with so many different staff members at one company and get the same type of customer service throughout the experience. Your staff should be rewarded and acknowledged for how well they represent The Regency.

The Regency will be the only hotel I stay with when visiting Portland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    289
    98
    44
    23
See reviews for
118
494
38
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was a very beautiful historical building with an awesome location. Very accessible to some really amazing restaurants and nice shops. I enjoyed extra amenities such as free wifi, free coffee/tea service in the morning (they leave it outside your door at a time of your choosing), and free bottles of water. The hotel was on the expensive side, but pricing was on par with comparable properties in the port area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cognitivepsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

only stayed one night but it was very nice - lovely rooms and beds very comfortable

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and we were upgraded to a king size suite. Loved the historical decor of hotel. In our room, we had a beautiful working fireplace, spa tub, and relaxing shower. Staff and service were impeccable. The hotel is in the BEST location of Old Port and downtown Portland. You are within walking distance to shopping and great restaurants. Try the Porthole for breakfast--they have sausage balls instead of links or patties, and J's Oyster for seafood.....We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rochestersara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

...which is delivered to your door, gratis, whenever you want it.
Portland is best travelled on foot and the Regency's central location makes it perfect for seeing the town. The hotel staff are warm & competant, my room was clean & comfortable . Parking is valet & on departure my car was at the front door right when I wanted it. The only off note was a room service waiter who tried to hustle me re tippage ( it's included, he said it wasn't) The hotel is pricy, but August in Portland is primetime. For my shhort visit, location trumped cost.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We went to Portland for an evening out, and this hotel was in a good location for doing so - in the 'old port' near to many bars and restaurants.

The accommodation was fine though since we were only there for one night we did not make much use of the facilities. We were amused by the door in our room which was both the closet door and the bathroom door depending on which way you closed it.

The price was more than we would usually pay for a hotel, but we would not have been able to walk back to the cheaper hotels we looked at, which were further out from the city center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Had a one night stay here, and was very please all around. Beds were very comfortable. AC was not as loud as most other hotels I've stayed in. Room had a skylight in the slanted roof but no window on the wall, which I thought was peculiar but not necessarily a detraction. Staff was friendly. Valet attendant was helpful at 5am in providing directions to the Portland Head lighthouse. Short walk to their lot in case you need to access your car for any reason. Location was really great just a few blocks from the water's edge and near a lot of dining options in the Old Port. Unfortunately did not get a chance to check out the spa/sauna/jacuzzi because they all close at 9pm. Not sure if I'll be in Portland again but if I am, I'll gladly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonuts4donuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Property: Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Address: 20 Milk Street, Portland, ME 04101
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing