We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay in the Heart of the old Port”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay in the Heart of the old Port”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Spent one night at the Regency in COLD January. Staff was very friendly and the room was a very good value. Make sure to hit the SPA and gym there. This is NO hotel gym. Well equipped with lots of machines, free weights and some cardio.

Couldn't have been a better location to walk around the old port area.

Room Tip: Try for a fourth floor room with a view of the harbor. The windows on the 3rd floor are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack_b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    296
    101
    44
    23
See reviews for
123
501
39
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for a spa retreat. Everything was exceptional - spa, food, rooms and staff. The room was clean, cozy and beds very comfortable. I haven't had dinner in the restaurant, but breakfast is not to be missed. The lobster eggs benedict is fantastic. Staff couldn't have been nicer. And, we are already planning our next visit to the spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midcoast6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Our two night stay at the Regency was wonderful. The staff was professional, friendly, efficient. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was so comfortable and we slept well. I loved the free tray (until 8:00am) of coffee and danish outside our door which we were asked if we wanted when I called for a wakeup call. The lounge was a pleasant place to have a drink before going out for the evening. Others in our party used the spa and loved it. We enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor, if you want a view of the city or the water ask for a room on a highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjcoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South River, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Not only was the hotel beautiful and so conveniently located, but everyone went out of their way to assist us. We had car troubles on the way in, not only did they find a local AAA Service Center near by, but called them for us. AAA picked up our car, fixed the brake pad, and had our car back to us by the time we were done sight seeing. Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My partner and I just visited the Portland Regency to plan our wedding! The desk staff were exceptional and courteous, even making sure they put in for coffee, tea and danish to be delivered to our room the next morning along with a wake up call. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was one of the best I have ever slept in! We took advantage of room service, quick and delicious and I recommend the lobster croissant! The hotel restaurant, Twenty Milk Street, offered impeccable service and the food was outstanding! We wrapped up our visit with a couples massage in the spa where once again the staff were exceptional! The event staff were Awesome and we know we are in Great hands! We can't wait to go back and know our big event will be Fabulous because of the Exceptional staff and their commitment to detail and excellence!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMA2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Returned for the second time. We stayed in a luxury suite for 2 nights and asked for 2 bottles of water for the second day, "Complimentary water policy was for the first night only." We asked to have other little things such as soap and coffee again. The people at the front desk gave us attitude. We felt uneasy to ask for anything feeling like we were being problem costumers. We will not go back despite the room being clean and comfortable. We look forward to our next trip to Portland and to trying different hotel in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed here back in the summer for my wedding and I had a suite, which was the most amazing room!! That being said, all my guests found their rooms to be clean and comfortable as well. I ordered room service for some pre wedding cappuccinos which were delicious as well. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadams86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,338 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Property: Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing