We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without a doubt, best hotel in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, best hotel in Portland”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Driving up to the hotel is picturesque! So quaint and peaceful. Within walking distance to everything! The valet was very nice, as was the front desk staff. Room was clean and spacious. They give you 2 bottles of water and complimentary coffee and Danishes delivered to your room in the morning. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hezzpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    296
    101
    44
    23
See reviews for
123
501
39
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed two nights, October 4 & 5, 2013.
Since we live an hour away from Portland, we rarely stay at hotels there. This trip was for a family wedding & the Portland Regency was chosen by the bride for family & members of the wedding party.
The hotel is a successful conversion of an historic building built in 1895 to be a National Guard Armory. Since I served with the Army National Guard for more than 38 years, I found that interesting. I call the front of the brick building interesting & attractive. It sits just off a small brick & cobblestone square.
We had a third floor king-bed room. The room itself was not terribly large, but plenty for the two of us. On the other hand, the neat & modern bathroom was very large. Everything was immaculately clean! The bed was very comfortable with pillows that worked for us. There was a flat screen television on a storage cabinet/chest of drawers, a table & chair adequate for writing or using our laptop, good WiFi connection, & a small but useful closet. Our windows were very short & high off the floor with a view of a street & parking lot. The window placement is necessary due to the original exterior walls rising several feet above the floor level of the room. Other than that the bathroom could use a hook or two in order to hang a towel convenient to the shower, we found absolutely nothing wrong with the room.
For those who like small appliances in a room, there was no microwave, no mini-refrigerator, & no coffee maker. The Regency does however deliver coffee, ordered the evening before, to your room door in the morning at a time you specify.
Every member of Regency staff we encountered was friendly & offered to help even when we weren't seeking help. I call the staff here outstanding.
The Regency has valet parking only. I'm not fond of valet parking, but given the in-town location it is necessary. The valet guys were all friendly & helpful, carrying luggage, opening doors, & bringing our vehicle quickly when we needed it. I will add that they only seem to have two luggage carts. Since we had to wait to use one, I'd suggest they need two more.
There is a restaurant in the hotel. We had one breakfast there & found it to be fine, nothing outstanding but good service & decent food.
There is also a bar/lounge in another area of the hotel. We did not check that out.
There are several public areas where a person or small group could sit & relax.
Given that the Regency' prices are competitive with other downtown Portland hotels, I would stay again & recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room configurations vary, but I heard no complaints from anyone in our rather large group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrMainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D D, Director of Sales at Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your very thorough and thoughtful review of our property.We also thank you for your 38 years of service to our country.
We appreciate the time you took to post a review as well as the personal e-mail you sent.
Our entire hospitality staff take great pride in maintaining our property and providing first class hospitality and service to our guests.
Be assured that we will look at the placement of towel holders in the bathrooms.
On your next stay, be sure to visit the Armory Lounge, 20 Milk Street our fine Dining Restaurant , and our tranquil Spa and fitness center.

D.Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The location can't be beat! The room was very clean and comfortable, but nothing special. You are paying for the location, and it's well worth it. Staff was friendly. Housekeeping went a bit overboard with the sheets, 10 different layers of sheet and blankets.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed one night in Portland and loved the hotel. The room was large and comfortable, the staff very friendly, the location just perfect for a wander around town. It did get very busy the following morning with 4 separate wedding parties going on, but we couldn't fault the hotel itself. The bar downstairs was lively on the Saturday night, great fun. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamPurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

After running the marathon, I was very happy that they not only had a room ready for my wife and I at 12:30 but also upgraded us. The room is good sized with a deck, extra large bath, mini frig and microwave and 2 nice chairs with hammocks. Bed is comfortable. Quiet. Great location in the Old Port. love the history of the building and its charm.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BillBerenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D D, Director of Sales at Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
You stayed in one of our newly renovated rooms and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forwarding to welocoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

D. Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Certainly at the top end of Portland hotel pricing but in return you get a spacious, well appointed room, ample, friendly and very helpful staff, and a superb location for visiting Portland and environs. Likewise the lounge is friendly and inviting and frequented by local professionals and the restaurant competes favorably with the other, and numerous excellent restaurants within easy walking distance from the the Regency.

We spent four nights there and used the Regency as a base to travel the area for leaf peeping. With easy access to major roads it worked perfectly.

My only snivel, and it is minor, is the separate shower stall in our room had controls that were awkward in both form and function, and the water pressure was definitely on the low end of "low flow." That aside, the room was very nice in every other respect including excellent soundproofing, as was tested by a wedding reception one evening held not far from our room.

Highly recommend the Regency.

Room Tip: Rooms do vary, so go to the web site or call the hotel directly to discuss your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTraveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I have the occasion to be in Portland regularly, and have stayed at more than a few inns and hotels, but more and more just go for the consistently reliable Regency. The rooms are always perfect, with no minor issues. The beds are very comfortable, and all of the accommodations are just right. From the staff when checking in, checking your car, and the handling of any needs, they just don't let me down. They do note that you are a returning patron, which is nice to have recognized when you frequent an establishment. It makes travel easier. It's the way it's supposed to be.

Room Tip: The ground floors can have some street noise, not bad, but upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airthug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Property: Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing