We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice (but small) room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, TN USA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good location, nice (but small) room”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was a good location, with historic ambience. We thought the room small, although nice, and bath was fine. We opted to have breakfast in their dining room, for convenience, but thought food was just ok; not great. They also sent their limo to pick us up at the airport, and that was excellent. We might stay here again, but will also look at other options.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D D, Director of Sales at Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We appreciate you providing a review of your stay and hope that you decide to stay with us again the next time you are visiting Portland.
On your next visit I might recommend staying in one of our newly renovated rooms on the 4th floor. These rooms provide extra square footage along with a deck that you can walk out onto. In addition, these rooms have larger bathrooms, a Keurig coffee maker, and a refrigerator.
We also have several styles of Suites that provide ample square footage.
We llok forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    290
    99
    44
    23
See reviews for
119
495
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rindge, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I loved this hotel. The location is within walking distance to the Old Port shopping and restaurants. The spa is wonderful, with a huge hot tub and steam room. They serve great cucumber water to refresh you during services. The massage was one of the best I have ever had. I will be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandLJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D D, Director of Sales at Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your review.
Our Spa staff work extremely hard to provide a relaxing and tranquil experience for our guests. I will be certain to share your wonderful feedback with them.
I am glad that you had the time to experience the hot tub, steam room, and delicious cucumber water as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Portland Regency Hotel and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Conveniently located and still reasonably priced (although we had a connection), the Portland Regency is the grand old dame of downtown hotels. The staff is terrifically accommodating (welcoming my service dog with open arms) and flexible. There are several newer hotels opening soon. No doubt they have more amenities and I don't know how this hotel will fare. All I know is, it's comfortable and unique and I've enjoyed both my visits.

Room Tip: Room 330 is convenient to stairs and elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D D, Director of Sales at Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Our staff strive to provide first class hospitality to all of our guests and we are happy to hear that we accomplished this with your visit.
You are correct when you stated that several newer hotels are opening in our area. We feel confident that our service level and our property will continue to retain and attract our loyal guests and new guests. Portland is a wonderful city!
Again, thank you for taking the time to write us.

D. Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The best feature of this hotel is the location. It's in the heart of the Old Port within easy walking distance of great restaurants, interesting and unique shops, Portland waterfront, and historical spots. The hotel itself leaves a lot to be desired--extremely disappointing. It's in an historical building and for $400+ per night we expected exemplary service. Valets at the door are not professional. The welcome experience is bland. The rooms need updating--they have finishes from the 90's with worn gold bath fixtures and gold finished dispensers attached to the shower wall for shampoo and shower gel--seriously?? There are no coffee makers in the room, so you can get coffee delivered to your door prior to 7:30 AM. After that, they charge you for it. We ordered room service for tea and toast --it came with paper cocktail napkins and toast wrapped in plastic...soggy. Definitely not first class service.
The drapes in the room are merely decorative panels and do not stretch to cover the windows--so it's impossible to block out street lights, neon signage and sunlight.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D D, Director of Sales at Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.
Our staff strive to make each of our guests feel welcome and to have a positive experience.
I have alerted our Guest Services Manager about your comments regarding unprofessionalism.
You stayed in one of our beautiful classic rooms. These rooms appeal to alot of our guests. We understand that not every guest appreciates the same decor. With that being said, last year (2012) we underwent a signifigant renovation on the 3rd and 4th floors of the hotel. The end result is that we have completely brand new rooms on these 2 floors. The fixtures and the finishes on these floors definately fit into a more modern and contemporary taste.
We also have several different types off Suites that fit this modern decor profile. All of the rooms on the 4th floor as well as all of our Suites are equipped with Keurig coffee makers in the room as well as refrigerators.
We hope that you stay with us again and try one of our newer guest rooms.

Best,

D.Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The reservation clerk was rude lacked knowledge of hotel assocation membership and downright untruthful. We were told we could not use AAAcard or AArp or New England Inn Association.card..We arrived the next day after cheking the incorrect info we were provided.and the clerk was quite hostile and still maintained his position., we wre not given the room we requested which was having plumbing prblems. The cost of this stay did nto reflect the value. there are no amenities without extra cost

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diemen, Nederland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Of course the room was beautiful, it is a luxurious and expensive hotel. But there were too many disadvantages to be satisfied about it.
There was no fridge in the room, and no coffeemaker. They served a complimentary coffee, but only till 8 am!
The curtains were too narrow, so we had to enjoy the flashing neon sign from the neighbours all night. The display of the AC was só bright we had to cover it when we went to sleep.
I know it seems over-sensitive, but it was really annoying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the Regency for my sister-in-law's wedding in mid-October. Here's what we loved:
1. Location. The hotel is in the heart of Portland, which made it easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do.
2. Shuttle. The shuttle picked us up at the airport and basically took us everywhere we needed to go, which was fantastic.
3. Room. It was clean, modern, well appointed, and had everything we needed.
4. Baby-friendly. We were traveling with our son, who is 5 months old, and they provided a lovely crib and hot water for bottles every night.
5. Beds. The beds were super comfy!

Cons:
1. The hotel does not seem to be very accessible for strollers or wheelchairs as the front entrance has a number of stairs and cobblestone driveway. Luckily, the valet helped us carry the stroller.
2. The room seemed a tad small for the price paid. Also, it did not have a microwave or refrigerator, which would have been very helpful.
3. I usually only stay places where breakfast is included in the room rate. We would have enjoyed it, but there are so many restaurants nearby it wasn't really a problem to explore and find yummy options.

Overall, we really enjoyed the stay and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnsandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Property: Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing