We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Liked It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed there this past weekend for my wife’s birthday and enjoyed our stay. I had a tough time deciding between the Regency, Hilton Garden & the Harbor Hotel. The Regency had a slightly better price ($230/night AAA discount) so I made our reservation there. The room was on the first level of the hotel and was quiet and nice, albeit a little small. The hotel is old but seemed well taken care of and it does have a lot of charm. We enjoyed drinks at the bar and breakfast the next morning. We thought all of the staff were polite and professional. They even placed a card and bag of chocolate in our room for my wife’s birthday, which I thought was a nice touch. We travel a lot and Portland is one of our favorite New England cities. After reading some of the other reviews, it would appear that some rooms are nicer than others. Ours was a standard King Room with a window and it was charming. Given the great location and the affordable $12/night parking we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foxboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2008

Pros - the hotel's location. Like almost everyone says, the location can't be beat. The building itself is charming and the front drive is nice. The decor of the rooms was pleasant enough. The staff that we encountered on the Labor Day weekend was friendly and helpful enough.

Cons - It's true, just as some others have mentioned, there was a skylight in the room and that's it. The headboards were queen and the mattresses were full. It took about 3 tries to get the toilet to flush, the sheets were cheap like the kind you expect to find in the old roadside motels in the deep west. The tv channel selections were pityful, the amenities were fine but there were so few of them. The "high speed" internet didn't work (which happens a lot these days, not just here and no, it wasn't a firewall or such), the hall doors were so cheap that you could hear a mouse walking past your room. The one skylight that was there, was dirty with seagull poop so you had to keep the blind down, which kind of defeats the purpose of a window, huh? The parking was $12 a day and the Figi water in the room was being offered at $6, which in a normal city wouldn't be out of line but frankly, they think much more of Portland than we did. The room didn't have coffee makers, which, as far as I can remember, EVERY hotel I have stayed in in the last two years (and that's a lot) has one. (Why wouldn't you offer that to your guests? Keep up, Regency! ) The town is cute enough and certainly has a number of restaurants and shops that could keep the interest of someone between the ages of 18 and 25 for about a half day. In the evening, it turned into a drunken frat party and every block had a blaring night club with windows open. I guess AC in Portland is just not needed. So, none of the problems we encountered were beyond the pale, but then charge accordingly. $300/night is WAY out of line with the service, accomodations and amenities offered.(did I mention the tacky sheets?) If I pay $300 a night for a room, it has to be AT LEAST as nice as what I live with at home. This was not. Did I mention that the furniture was chipped and scratched? OH, and in this dopey excuse for a hotel room, they only could afford to give us ONE bedside table so if we wanted to have a drink of wine, one of us had to put the glass on the floor and the other used the ratty side table.
Personally, I see no reason to return to Portland but if I do, I will NOT be staying at the Regency.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank moldovanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We stayed one night at this tire old lady. The location is wonderful, but the room was horrendous. Our first room had a roof window and we asked for another room. We got one on the second floor, which was fine. The furniture didnt match and was worn, they put full sized beds on a queen headboard, the phone was broken, there was no phone on the desk, the furniture was horrific (felt like a howard johnson), the shampoo was dispensed in a wall dispenser, the service was terrible. This was the worst waste of $300 I can imagine. Avoid this hotel at all costs. The location does not make up for the price and poor accomodations and service.

Oh and the beds were terrible. I never slept worse.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheSecretTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2008

Pro's and cons of late July stay
Pro's:
Great Location in Port, near restaurants and shops
Cheap valet parking
Helpful manager

Cons:
Slightly pricy for what you get
Rooms are dated
Bath products
Uninterested staff

I would probably stay here again just for the location!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank psu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

The Portland Regency looks good on paper but what they don't tell you is the problem. We booked a room with two double beds at a cost of near $300 per night. For that price in Maine we expected a great hotel room. The room had no windows!!! It had some kind of skilight you could pull. When we asked to move rooms, the only "available" room with a window had a queen bed and it was tiny and smelled funny. But it had a window. They did not offer to do anything, no rate reduction, no nothing. We would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Arrived in the pouring rain- expected to be able to unload thecar under a protective covering. In the absence of this, we expected the bellman to offer the protective covering of an umbrella. But no, the bellman just stood there, expecting us (???) to unload the car. When asked for an umbrella, he said that all were given out. Not true as when we checked in, an umbrella was offered to us.
Our room, at street level, was dark with worn furniture. Walls were thin- easily heard other guests in the hall. The noisy pipes gave the impression that there was a water leak in the room.
We asked for a box of Kleenex- it arrived two hours later!
If this hotel is the best that Portland can offer, we are not returning to this city.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank montrealtravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We stayed for one night in July. There were lots of cars in the circle in front of the hotel at check-in, but no visible valet. Finally, one overworked valet appeared. Same story at check-out. You had to work hard to get the car back. Also, one person at the check-in desk to handle the line. I had asked for a room with a window, but none were available - even though I was willing to wait till later in the day for a room.
I found our room small, dark, and dreary. Everything was old. THe beds and TV's were old. The doors even had locks with metal keys. The hotel put shampoo and soap dispensers in the showers - not the typical bath products that you see in even just ok hotels.
On the plus, it was very clean and very well located. Easy walk to everything. There was a computer with internet in the lobby available to guests. Overall, I have enjoyed many less expensive hotels much more than this.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,505 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £102 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing