We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clarion Hotel(Portland)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveller rating
504
325
112
50
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
325
112
50
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarmory loungemilk streetsteam roomold porthistorical hotelvalet parkingcomplimentary coffeeperfect locationturn down servicewithin walking distancetwo blocksvalet servicebars and restaurantseach morninghotel restaurantthird floornew england
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My husband celebrate our anniversary and his birthday every year for many years. Can not think of a nicer hotel to stay at. We look forward to it every year and last year we spent a night before Christmas and the decorations were beautiful outdoors and in the lobby. Not only is this an incredible hotel but the entire staff goes out of their way to accommodate you and our room is always perfect. Thank you always to Portland Regency/managemant who always go out of their way for making wonderful memories for us:)) Sincerely, Rick and Susan

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was so fortunate to choose this beautiful hotel when I needed to make an unexpected stay in Portland. This hotel just makes you feel comfortable from the moment you arrive. Checkin was easy and loved the valet parking ($12 charge but so worth it). The rooms give you an old world elegance feel yet with all the modern conveniences. Linens were superb, bed comfortable, and loved their room service. It was delicious and served quickly. After a long stressful drive, the best decision I made was a visit to their gorgeous spa. I lucked out that they had an opening and enjoyed a fantastic 80 minute massage. The spa is so peaceful and beautiful. Spotless and the added steam room and jacuzzi made it such an added relaxing benefit. This wonderful property was an old Armory transformed into a charming hotel. Location is within walking distance of some great shopping and restaurants. Hope to visit again this great city and very nice hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dree49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great historic hotel in Portland's rustic old port. Valet parking for only 12$ and the best restaurant recommendations come from the friendly reception staff. The room was very comfortable with the most plush mattress I've encountered at a hotel. If you book through hotels.com you save a pretty penny, but beware that you limited choice of rooms should you book through them.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in an ideal location very close to downtown. The rooms were clean and showers were excellent. They have valet parking which is good but also not so helpful if you're in a rush.I would've given five stars except that it was a little noisy the night we stayed because of a wedding. Overall great place to stay if visiting Portland and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is located in what was the Maine state armory. There is a circular driveway in front of the hotel where there are valets waiting to take your car. We drove up in our rental before check in so that we could drop of our luggage before leaving to drop off our car rental. This went off without a hitch. The doorman opened the door for us as soon as we approached the doorway. There was always a doorman there who always opened the door just in time. After dropping off the car rental we ate lunch at Miss Portland. The service was good and the food was delicious and fairly priced. We walked up to the center of town and walked through the farmer's market. We went to Shipyard brewery to take a tour. Their samples were outstanding! We returned to the hotel a little after check in time. My wife booked a room with a deck because that was all that was left at the Historic Hotel of America. When we checked in the young woman at the desk informed us that we had been upgraded to a suite! We had to walk up to the elevator with our luggage (which we had retrieved quickly). We went up the elevator and walked through a maze and another elevator until we found the door next to the stairs. We opened the door and found that it had not been closed properly. We walked in the room and called the front desk to inform them about how we had found the door just in case something was amiss or missing! Upon entering the front door we were astonished by how much room there was! The restroom was directly across the front door. The bathroom had a large walk-in shower with a rain shower head and two shower heads in the wall that hit your body while you're showering. It felt decadent because back in California we are experiencing a serious drought! My wife chose to use the shower wand instead. The restroom had the most counter space that I have ever seen in any restroom anywhere! The usual restroom appliances were there including a lighted make-up mirror. Upon entering the front door there is a large hall to the right that leads to a desk. There is an armoire beyond the desk. This is the only closet space you get in the place! We each got about four hangers each. The bed was king-sized bed. We slept very soundly there for three nights! Across the foot of the bed on the wall is the largest flat screen television I have ever seen in a hotel room. I would guess that it was at least a 76-inch screen. It was humongous in a very large room! Beyond the bed was a couch (looked like it is a sofa bed) with a coffee table in front of it. There was a tall round table beyond the coffee table with two tall chairs. The room also had a kitchenette type area with a sink, refrigerator, and coffee maker. There was a 30-inch screen flat screen television in that area. The entire length of the room on the side facing the street was glass with two sets of doors. Two doors in each set can be opened to the large deck! The deck had six chairs. The deck was the size of the length of the room! We had a view of the Portland Harbor and of the numerous bars and restaurants in the area. In spite of this, we were not disturbed by noise in the evening.

They have one of the most responsive and accurate thermostats we have ever encountered on our travels!

The only that happened that startled us was one morning when the 35-mile per hour gusts and rain popped one of the doors open because it had not been secured properly.

After unpacking we left for dinner at the Porthole restaurant where I enjoyed a two lobster dinner and my wife enjoyed the best cod she has ever had! When we returned to the hotel later that night we found that we had had turn down service. We had turn down service every night without a hitch! We were treated to two pieces of mint chocolate each night!

In the morning, we took advantage of the coffee/tea and pastry service this hotel provides. The pastry was okay and the coffee/tea was good. You hae to inform the front desk each evening what time you want this delivered to your room. My wife got the local paper from the lobby every morning for me because they don't bring it to your room though. I would love to return to this hotel. Even though not every suite is worth it, this one is! The room number was 410.

Room Tip: Get a room with a deck. Even if it rains, it is a joy to be able to look out onto the sky and the street below.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalAlumTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews