We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Headed to Portland ME last weekend for my wife's birthday - a quick 24 hour getaway. Had a tremendous experience at the Portland Regency - a historic hotel located right in the heart of Old Portland. And a better location it couldn't have been - an easy walk to everything. We were quickly and warmly greeted by the valet (you can easily ditch your car for 24 hours as it is totally not needed) and the front desk. The 4th floor room was clean, updated and well provisioned - and included a deck that overlooked the street right down to the waterfront. The staff were all courteous and attentive. Of note, the spa here is a tremendous asset - both my wife and I enjoyed a fabulous massage by highly proficient therapists. In addition to the spa, the hotel has a very well equipped fitness center with a wide variety of machines, equipment and free weights. Much much better than your typical hotel fitness center. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to Portland (business or pleasure).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    289
    98
    44
    23
See reviews for
118
494
38
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at the Portland Regency Hotel and Spa. The hotel is in a great location, near restaurants and bars. We had a lovely room and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We loved the room, the deck, the spa, the fireplace everything really about the hotel . The only problem I had was not the hotel but the late night food truck parked under our room and the late night bar noise. I don't know the zoning ordinances but it would seem that the hotel could have some day about where these things can park. We were disappointed we couldn't leave our windows and doors open to enjoy the salt air while we slept. It was quiet otherwise with the widows closed.
Great stay overall though. We enjoyed our honeymoon .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeefferson, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My husband celebrate our anniversary and his birthday every year for many years. Can not think of a nicer hotel to stay at. We look forward to it every year and last year we spent a night before Christmas and the decorations were beautiful outdoors and in the lobby. Not only is this an incredible hotel but the entire staff goes out of their way to accommodate you and our room is always perfect. Thank you always to Portland Regency/managemant who always go out of their way for making wonderful memories for us:)) Sincerely, Rick and Susan

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dree
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was so fortunate to choose this beautiful hotel when I needed to make an unexpected stay in Portland. This hotel just makes you feel comfortable from the moment you arrive. Checkin was easy and loved the valet parking ($12 charge but so worth it). The rooms give you an old world elegance feel yet with all the modern conveniences. Linens were superb, bed comfortable, and loved their room service. It was delicious and served quickly. After a long stressful drive, the best decision I made was a visit to their gorgeous spa. I lucked out that they had an opening and enjoyed a fantastic 80 minute massage. The spa is so peaceful and beautiful. Spotless and the added steam room and jacuzzi made it such an added relaxing benefit. This wonderful property was an old Armory transformed into a charming hotel. Location is within walking distance of some great shopping and restaurants. Hope to visit again this great city and very nice hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dree49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great historic hotel in Portland's rustic old port. Valet parking for only 12$ and the best restaurant recommendations come from the friendly reception staff. The room was very comfortable with the most plush mattress I've encountered at a hotel. If you book through hotels.com you save a pretty penny, but beware that you limited choice of rooms should you book through them.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in an ideal location very close to downtown. The rooms were clean and showers were excellent. They have valet parking which is good but also not so helpful if you're in a rush.I would've given five stars except that it was a little noisy the night we stayed because of a wedding. Overall great place to stay if visiting Portland and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Property: Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Address: 20 Milk Street, Portland, ME 04101
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing