We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2009

This hotel has a new spa. The facilities include a jacuzzi, steam rooms (both single sex and mixed) and saunas (both single sex and mixed). The changing area and showers are nicely appointed. The saunas did not heat up properly in the two days that I tried them, even after speaking to an attendant each time. Not a big disappointment and hopefully something that has been fixed. The restaurant meals were quite good and good value for what was served. Room service was also quite good, speedy and responsive to specific individual requests. The same was true of valet service. It is difficult to park here, the $12 daily valet parking fee seems quite fair.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SgFm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
There are newer reviews for Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

858 - 864 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2009

I stayed here last week on business, and found the hotel to be truly nice. Ben at the front desk and the gentleman at the Bell Desk were trmendously polite and helpful. I was upgraded to a Regency Suite, which was wonderful, with high ceilings, spacious sitting and dining area, flat screen tv and the bathroom was almost as big as the room itself (the room being quite big) with a jaccuzi tub and a separate shower stall. The room was clean and linen crisp. Food was really good, and if you have a sandwich, be sure to ask for their "bleu cheese" dressing...it is made in-house and "out of this world". Would definitely stay here when another occasion arises.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ady111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Portland Regency.....and it won't be the last! You can't beat the location and the staff always went above and beyond for us. our room was very clean and bright (two sky lights/windows) and the plasma TV was a plus! The thing that put it over the top for us this time was The Spa.....It was amazing! We had a couple massage in a very clean and quiet environment. They also had a sauna & hot tub too! We will be back this summer!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosslovesPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

My friend and I stayed at the Regency as a gift to each other. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. A real treat was getting coffee at your door, courtesy of the hotel upon your wakeup call time. The food was also great. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and everything was super. I am looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmoreat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

I stayed at the Regency for a weekend getaway from a work project I was on in Boston. I had not been to Portland to that point, so had no real knowledge of the area. So, choosing the Regency was a bit of a flyer for me.

The Regency is housed in the old Maine Armory building in the midst of the Old Port District. The building itself seemed well-maintained and blended in with the surroundings. The interior hallways are a bit dim and - in some places - felt as though they were about due for sprucing up. Check-in was quick and the staff was friendly and helpful. It was almost quaint to receive actual keys to the room, as opposed to the omnipresent key cards in hotels these days.

My room was in a corner of the building on the upper floor. That much was obvious by the sloped ceiling with a narrow skylight-type window which provided enough light but not much of a view. Furnishings in the room were fairly sparse; a couple of pieces were also due to be replaced, but most everything was comfortable. The bathroom was somewhat small but adequate for my needs. This also featured a door that was hinged so as to either be used to close the closet or close the bathroom. TV selections were exceedingly plentiful (well over 100 channels); this proved to be a benefit when some late afternoon/early evening heavy rains deterred much sightseeing. I also wondered why a short-stay facility had such a selection while extended-stay properties seem to only produce 10-15 channels of varying interest. The walls between rooms and out to the hallway seemed fairly thin, though the people around me were generally quiet.

The hotel is centrally located in the Old Port District, so is within easy walking distance to the interesting collection of shops and restaurants. It is also about two blocks from the Casco Bay waterfront. Visitors should be advised, though, that if they go in their "offseason" (which I did), many of the shops close earlier than normal or may not even be open at all on the weekends. Visitors would also need a car or use the taxi service to see other parts of Portland and the surrounding area.

There is a spa on-site, though I did not utilize any of those services. The Regency also features the Armory Lounge, a comfortable bar with pretty good food selection, and Twenty Milk Street, which provides fine dining at night and fantastic breakfasts each morning. Guests are encouraged to get reservations to Twenty Milk for dinner; as for breakfast, I was able to walk up without reservations and get served. Staff at both the Armory Lounge and Twenty Milk were friendly and prompt.

All told, I was pleased with my stay. It was unique in comparison to the chain hotels - which may not suit all travelers - and the Regency was trying very hard to give the guest a high-quality stay for a very reasonable rate. As I mentioned, there are a few areas that could stand renovation, but that was about it. I would stay there again if returning to the Portland area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Generic90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Regency over the Thanksgiving Holidays. We saw a couple of negative reviews on TripAdvisor prior to our getaway, but chalked them up to chance since more people are vocal with complaints than praise. We're glad we ignored them, because the Regency is a perfect spot, smack dab in the middle of the vibrant old port. We loved the charm, warmth and culture of the Regency and the blocks surrounding it. Breakfast in the restaurant was very nice with good food. Cocktails in the lounge was our favorite - perfect to sit back with a martini. Didn't use the exercise room and other facilities, although they looked more than adequate. Loved that there was a Dunkin' Donuts just down the block. All in all... excellent stay and can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MassIS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

If you're reading this, that means you've probably read other reviews about the dark rooms, no windows, small bathroom, etc. Allow me to debunk some of the criticisms here.

Yes, most of the rooms do not have windows, only skylights. That's because the hotel was never built to be a hotel, and they needed a way to get light into a majority of their rooms. The views on either side of the hotel are nothing spectacular, so this shouldn't bother anyone. Besides, the skylight brings in more than enough light.

Yes, the layouts of the hallways and rooms are quirky. Again, the building was a US Military Armory before it was a hotel. I found that the quirks just added to the charm. It made me feel more at home as opposed to a sterile white-walled box.

No, it does not have Ritz-Carlton amenities. The price doesn't warrant that, so why would you expect it?

The staff was excellent, from the front desk, to the bar, to the spa. Everyone did what they could to be friendly and helpful. We got a 4:00 AM ride to the airport in miserable weather, and the driver couldn't have been in a better mood.

If you want to get lost in Old Port, this is your place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £102 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing