We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Portland is a nice little city - with many cute shops and restaurants, clustered along the waterfront. The Regency is located in the heart of it all, in the "old Port " , and is a very convenient location from which to explore the area. It's one of the "Historic Hotels" group and so you should know what you are getting into. It's old, yes, but it has been brought up to modern standards with nice rooms and good amenities. However, it's in a renovated building that used to house an armory, so there are some quiky features you should know about when you are booking your room. Some rooms have nice windows looking out over the old port; others have only skylights. Make sure you specify what you would like when reserving. for this reason, I recommend calling the hotel directly and talking to someone who knows the property.

It isn't a cheap or budget hotel, so those expecting low prices need to look elswehere. We did enjoy a very nice meal in the hotel, with good service and a welcoming atmosphere. I would have enjoyed checking out the spa, but alas, time did not allow it on this trip. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RdSxfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2009

Situated in the revitalizing historic section of downtown Portland, ME, the Regency is a high end historic wannabe. The service staff was excellent-very attentive, helpful, enthusiastic and accessible. From the valet to front desk to bell captains to restaurant and bar staff- the service staff was five star. Hotel rooms were small, recently painted, however, the beds were very comfortable and linens above average. Very close to trendy nightlife and waterfront dining, this hotel is a fine, functional business locale for out of towners. Affiliated spa services offer needed respite from work day worries. The terrace level bar had an easy, friendly ambience and the wait staff were attentive and accomodating. Expensive for families, the lack of pool, lounge spaces, or kid friendly amenities make it appear that the Regency owners prefer children and teenagers to stay elsewhere... the Regency staff made us glad we came! Portland's funky alternative culture has a lot to offer, and the Regency is right in the middle of it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilySherpa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMTheRegency, Social Media Resource Consultant at Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2009

Thank you for the kind words about our staff and our service - we pride ourselves on our ability to fully meet the needs of our guests, every time they stay.

As you noted, our hotel went through a recent renovation, which did include painting, beds and linens and we are happy that they made your stay more comfortable.

The Portland Regency Hotel is proud to be part of the Historic Hotels of America. As such, we do need to maintain the structural integrity of the original building. Although we do have many customers that mention how nice a pool would be, we just do not have anywhere to put one - plus, there are so many activities to do outside when you're in Portland that few who stay with us actually spend their daytime hours here. Most opt to tour the city, whale watch or island hop.

We do hope that you'll consider staying with us again; it would be our pleasure to have you as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

Portland is a great little town, and most attractions, bars, restaurants and shops are an easy walk from this hotel. Service was friendly, the rooms were clean and the bed was great. The decor is a little dated, but we weren't there to admire the drapes. Free internet was a welcome plus.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veblen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I love Portland. It is my favorite city to visit. We always try and stay at the Holidy Inn there. Before you laugh, the rooms have harbor views, the hotel has free parking, and the price is not too bad.

Well, we couldn't get a room there so we thought we would try the Regency. What a mistake. Never again. First room looked out on a wall. Second room had no window! Just a skylight! Imagine NO WINDOW!!! Were they kidding?

Very unfriendly and pretentious. Although what they have to be pretentious about I am not sure.

Stay away.

I will never ever go back there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLMTheRegency, Social Media Resource Consultant at Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2009

We are so very sorry to hear that your experience with The Portland Regency Hotel was anything less than spectacular. We pride ourselves on offering exceptional customer service, every single time.

As you may know, our property is part of the Historic Hotels of America, and as such, our building is rich in history as a previous Armory. While there are not large windows in some of our rooms, due to the historical nature of the site itself, we hope that you found the atmosphere and layout of the building to be pleasant.

I do hope that while you were staying with us, you brought your concerns to the attention of a manager; if you did not, I would certainly encourage you to do so - regardless of where you stay. Guests should never be left feeling like they are unappreciated. We do hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We stayed here on a very quick trip to Portland. The location was terrific and hotel was well kept. I found it a little pricey but would recommend it to someone who is willing to pay for the amenities of a nice hotel. Also -- fyi -- parking may be an issue, as with all urban hotels. (It wasn't a problem for us but it's because we lucked out and found a spot on a Saturday night, and left early Sunday morning.)

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottB_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

My boyfriend and I went to Portland for the weekend and decided to stay at the Portland Regency Hotel based on the reviews from TA. We could not have picked a better place! The location was ideal, right in the center of the old port and the service was top notch. Everyone was very friendly and gave great advice. I also loved being able to use the Spa's jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zisil86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

My wife and I spent two nights in the executive suite RM 201 April 5-6th. We took off to Maine for a two night romantic getaway. The best thing about the hotel was the bathroom. The shower had three shower heads and the Jacuzzi tub was big enough for two. I highly recommend the executive suites. They were spacious, immaculate and offered turn down service nightly. The maid service was outstanding. They had a very nice honor bar that included wines from Francis Ford Coppola. The valet was very fast at getting our car for us. The hotel offered the courtesy car for us when we attended an event at the civic center. It is very close to Fore Street restaurant and some nice Irish Pubs (Ri Ra and Bull Feeny’s). The front desk staff was very nice. If I could think of any negatives it would be that the HBO channel in the hotel mentions that there are movies on demand but that is not the case. There are like 8 HBO channels and 6 Showtime channels but there is no pay per view movies. If you are looking for a very clean hotel with lots of romantic amenities and want no worries on your getaway. I would highly recommend the Regency. It was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GravyBoatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £96 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing