We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“# 1 for a Reason”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“# 1 for a Reason”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed here twice while on business in Portland.

This is an excellent property! Spotless and well appointed.
Clean, modern rooms, nice breakfast lounge and an excellent gym.

It is located in the Old Port District of Portland, Maine, which is a great spot to visit in the summer. It also means you can park your car and walk to a number of great restaurants. The two I enjoyed most were The Sebago Brewing Company (attached to the hotel) and my favorite restaurant which is called Fore Street, just across the street.

If you drive to this hotel you'll have to use the valet parking unless you find a public lot to leave your car. I opted for the convenience of the valet.

Very friendly and helpful staff added to an already pleasant stay. Probably the best Hampton I've stayed in to date.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneyThruTheLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    450
    89
    23
    11
See reviews for
378
662
46
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Good hotel, well appointed for a Hampton Inn. Room was spotless, and well apportioned, however had a strange smell, redolent of onion perhaps in combination with some cheap cleaning agent. Opened the window while I had dinner and the smell was mostly gone on my return. Prevents me giving the hotel a five star review, otherwise a perfectly good place to stay.

Would mention that the views of the harbor are such that one is looking across the harbor at some large fuel storage tanks on the other side. So I would probably not opt for the extra expense of a harbor view room on the top floor on a future stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradleyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Hi and thank you for your nice review. I wasn't sure if you had our hotel when you mentioned opening windows, since ours do not open, but the review was good. If the review was for our hotel I thank you, and please come see us again. If not please come see us sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Even better than a normal Hampton stay. They room was quite large, spotless and the location can't be beat. Friendly folks to top it all off. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theskycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thanks for the kind words on your stay with us. Please do come stay again. We appreciate your comments and your business.

Sincerely,

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, MA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This place must have been recently renovated. Everything was clean, well done design. Great staff. Loved our room. Great value in my opinion. Location was perfect for dinner and drinks in downtown Porltand. Very good buffet breakfast. Staff kept breakfast area clean even during heavy traffic. Would recommend to both business and family travelors.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review. Please come back and see us again soon. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I booked a room at this hotel based strictly on the reviews I read on this site, and was definitely not disappointed. The location was great, a relatively quick walk to the waterfront, though if you drive just a few blocks away, it gets seedy quick. And you may have to walk, considering the only on-site parking is a $15 valet. But our room was very nice and comfortable, and included free internet service for our laptop. The pool is small but clean (no jacuzzi), as is the gym. Both had plenty of clean towels. Breakfast was nice, typical for this type of hotel but definitely no complaints here. There were several large groups of teenagers staying at the hotel (presumably traveling sports teams), but I never heard a peep when I was in my room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The hotel is located in a central and very nice location, close to the waterfront and to the center of the city. The rooms are clean, nice, modern and spacious. The breakfast is good and various. The staff is kind , helpful and very professional. I dont' really have any regret or complain, to be honest. Everythings was perfect, even the price. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimiliano_973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was an absolutely beautiful hotel. The lobby and all amenities were amazing, and the room was one of the best I've ever seen. Either this is a new hotel or it's been recently renovated, as everything is modern and new. I highly recommend this hotel. There is also a brewery directly attached to the hotel that was open till 1am on a Wednesday. Perfect for after traveling. Great location right near the waterfront, too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnc619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing