We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here with a friend and our room was very nice. Very spaceous & clean. The only complaint were the pillows -very very soft. Their gym was also very nice, clean, and new cardio equipment. The guys that parked our car for valet parking were very friendly & helpful. The ladies working the desk were also very friendly & very helpful. The breakfast was very good, and so was the coffee. Every employee we ran into (hallways, sitting area, elevator) were very friendly. We did not try the restaurant downstairs or room service. Would definitely stay here again! Price was a tad on the high side, but worth it. The location was great. Walking distance to waterfront area and close to many shops & restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brody6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel. The next time you visit let us know and we can get some pillows that aren't so soft.

We appreciate the kind words about your stay. Hope we can be of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,278 - 1,284 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spent two nights in the Hampton Inn on the warerfront in Portland Me while on a trip through new england. The location is very good for enjoying the old port area. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to help while we were there. The room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed while there. We also enjoyed the Sebago brewpub that was on the first floor. I would heartily recommend the Hampton Inn for anyone staying in the old port area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarretLyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for the nice comments about our hotel and staff. Hope you could tell we like what we do. Please come visit our great city again soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. This hotel was easily in walking distance to the waterfront and all the things we wanted to do,and close to many interesting shops and restaurants. The staff was incredible, from the Valet to the Manager they were always friendly and helpful, and able to accomadate special requests
The room was clean and comfortable nicely decorated, the bathroom is nicely appointed
The free morning buffet was great and I like the always available coffee in the lobby. The attached Sebago Micro Brewry was also nice, good food reasonably priced.
We had a great time and are planning to spend time again in Portland and we will be staying HERE.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

What a nice review. I will certainly share your comments with our staff. And the folks at Sebago will appreciate that you enjoyed their food.

Please come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our Maine vacation. I wish we stayed longer. The hotel was absolutely beautiful. The decor is modern and it is clean. I am a HiltonHonors member so we stay at our fair share of Hampton Inns and this without a doubt is our favorite.

As we pulled up, there is a valet and the parking is valet only. There is a fee of $15 per day which I feel is fairly standard in any city so that was fine.

Upon check-in we were upgraded to a suite so that was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and attentive.

The room we were in was huge, faced the water and we loved it!!! I would highly recommend the suite if you are traveling with kids because of the amount of space and the distance between the sofa bed and King size bed on the opposite side of the room. There was a large built-in desk area that separated the sides with a very, very large flat screen TV which can swivel which is good for at night when you want the kids to sleep. The bathroom was also huge and very nicely decorated. Finally a bathroom counter top that can fit all our stuff.

The hotel is within walking distance of most everything we wanted to see in Portland as well as lots of nice restaurants and shops.

We would stay here again in a minute, it's a wonderful property with really helpful staff. Brooke (not sure I spelled it correctly) helped recommend restaurants and guided us a number of times.

Room Tip: Room facing the water is nice to watch the tugboats and ships come in, the hotel is only one block o...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bean_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

We are thrilled you had a wonderful staff with us. Please come back soon!

Sincerely,

Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a very nice hotel and is very near the waterfront. Our room was a standard room and was beautifully appointed. The bathroom was huge with a walk-in shower with glass doors.
The hot breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. I have already recommended this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francis1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

What a nice review of your stay with us. The comments about our staff were especially appreciated. Gail in the kitchen will be excited you liked her breakfast. Please come see us again soon!


Sincerely,

Pete Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This Hampton Inn is certainly the nicest one I’ve ever seen. Large, more like a hotel; there is an attached restaurant, parking is valet only, the common areas are quite a bit larger than a typical Hampton. The room itself seemed fairly standard, but the bathroom was a lot larger than a typical Hampton and much better appointed. The room was quiet, bed very comfortable. Overall it was a nice stay. The view from my room which was on I believe the 6th floor was mostly of surrounding downtown but it was still a view, and the window was nice and large.

The employees were very efficient with the check in and check out process; it was odd I was not left a bill under my door the morning of departure but a quick stop by the desk to pick the bill up didn’t take more than about 15 seconds.

The valet staff was also very friendly and efficient. Valet was an extra $15, but in a downtown location you do expect to pay for parking. With the rate here being what it was, though, the additional parking cost seems like it is a bit much…

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank storewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you for nice review of your stay with us. We certainly appreciate the nice comments. Please come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Came for business. Very good location. All the amenities of the Hampton Inn. Close to a nice walking path and lots of restaurants. Seems like the hotel had a recent update because all the room seemed brand new.

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms in the hotel so you might want to ask to stay away from them. I had no prob...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agw7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for the kind review of the hotel. We want each of our guests to ease back and enjoy our hotel and city.

Please come visit again soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £103 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing