We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights here. Couldn't fault anything: excellent location for the old port area; exceptionally friendly and helpful staff; room clean and well presented; useful on site guest laundry; decent pool; and fresh and varied breakfast. The icing on the cake was the on-site Sebago brew pub fun restaurant where thee beverages and food were tasty and good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 283Coastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for staying with us recently and thank you for the nice review. I will certainly share your comments with the folks at Sebago. They will be thrilled you like us, as we are!


Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

I will start with the positives. The staff is very courteous. I think they gave meaning to the word Great customer service and maybe they should be used as a model training site for others. The hot beverages in the foyer were always hot and the area was always clean. The hot breakfast in the morning was fresh and what one needed for a brisk day in Maine. The room was spacious, beds comfortable, and most of all, very clean. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel and the food is fine however you are in walking distance to great restaurants. I am a repeat to this area and loved Poms Thai Taste on 517 Congress street. After inner attended a free lecture at the college and walked back to the hotel. The workour room was spacious and when i contacted the front dek regarding no water in the water cooler, the front desk staff ran up to bring water bottles. Just loved the customer service. The pool area looked clean however i did not use. Well in terms of negatives, there are just none.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kipnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Thank you for a really good review of our hotel. Very proud of our staff for making you feel welcome but that is our business, after all. Please come see us again. We would love to welcome you back.


Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn Sat-Mon, over the long Columbus Day weekend. I believe they were completely booked, but we received nothing but great service from the time we entered the hotel, to the minute we checked out. Parking is $15/day and valet only (unlimited in/out privledges) - we pulled into the hotel driveway, unloaded our bags, and the valet guy handed us a ticket in exchange for our keys. We arrived about 30-40 mins early for check-in (which is 4pm), but we were able to get right into our room.

The room itself was spotlessly clean (and I'm very picky) and well-equiped for a Hampton. We had a room with two queens on the top floor (room 532) and it was quite spacious - it also included a mini fridge and a microwave. Although a bit slow, complimentary internet is available in each room. The beds themselves *felt* comfortable, however I woke up both mornings with a very stiff neck and back. I didn't find the pillows to be all that comfortable which likely contributed to the problem - this is the main reason I'm rating them a 4 vs. a 5.

The hotel amenities were great - I used the gym once, and I was the only person in the fitness room at the time. All of the fitness equipment is very new - there are two ellipticals (with attached personal TVs), a bike and 3-4 treadmills. There is also free weights, two benches, and some fitness balls - definitely enough to get in a decent workout while away from home. We didn't end up taking advantage of the pool, but did go check it out and dipped my fingers in. The water was VERY warm. There is not a hot tub, and is one thing that we wished this hotel had.

Breakfast is included in the room rate, and was pretty decent. For those looking for healthy options, there was fruit, cereal and oatmeal (with sides of dried berries and nuts that you can add). Other breakfast items include make-your-own waffles, as well as eggs, homefries, toast/bagels/assorted pastry, etc.

One addition that we really appreciated was the complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate that was available 24 hours/day in the lobby. Given the slightly chilly weather, we took advantage of this each time we left in the late afternoon to walk around downtown.

Overall, a great location - only a couple of blocks from the Shipyard Brewery, and in the other direction, a few blocks from Old Port where you can find many great stores and restaurants. Also, although not part of the Hampton Inn, Sebago Brewing company is in the same building which was very convenient. We were exhausted one night and didn't feel like going back out for a late dinner, so called in an order and ran right downstairs to pick up and bring back to our room. Good pub-style food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrys45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you so much for the nice review of your stay with us. I will certainly share your comments with our management team, as I do with all reviews. I will also let the folks at Sebago know you had kind words to stay about them as well.

Please come see us again. It was an honor having the opportunity to be of service.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Although this is a corporate chain, with the expected lack of charm, the location and size of the rooms are a big plus. As long as you can get a good rate (no more than $150), you'll be satisfied. The pool looks very nice. The free breakfast is generous and varied, hot and cold offerings and so-so coffee. Most of the staff were very nice and helpful, except for a weird group when we checked in.

Room Tip: Although the port side views are spectacular, the rates are significantly higher and the city views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for a nice review of your recent stay with us. Gail, who runs our breakfast area, will be thrilled you enjoyed the food she prepared.

Please come see us again. We would be honored to be of service.


Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

When they say the shuttle Maine Marathon.
The night before I triple checked with front desk and valet that I could get a ride to the race start at 6:45 AM.
No problem, so they said
Race day comes and they can't because a valet did not show up on time?
What is the point of telling a guest you can get a ride when you cannot follow through.
Rom rates were thru the roof over $300 per night

On the plus side breakfast was very good for a Hampton Inn
On the down side, at check in no said anything about being Hilton Gold and upon looking at floor diagram we had a very small room, so much for being loyal to Hilton.
Overall management seemed less than professional.

Room Tip: The Sebago Brewing Co restaurant on first floor is not part of hotel, but served great food and beer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences while a guest at our hotel. I apologize to you for our staff telling you you were all set with transportation then not following through. We at the very least should have called (and paid for) a cab.

We value all of our guests, especially the Blue, Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors members. I thank you for being a Gold member and apprecaie your business.

I hope you ran well in the marathon. Please come see us again. We would be honored to have you stay with us.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

Had a horrible time when I contacted the hotel directly to change our initial reservation. Rude staff who mistakenly cancelled half our stay then refused to rebook it. Took two hours on the phone w/Hilton Honors & a terse FB comment to get an apology & get it fixed. That being said, the property is extremely clean & very convenient. Staff has been lovely for our stay, but still rating a 2 for service due to the headache at booking!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLGal-inNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

I apologize to you for the issues you had in changing your reservations. There is NEVER an excuse for a staff to be rude to a guest. I was glad to see your visit went well.

Please come see us again and, again, I apologize for the unprofessionalism you encountered when changing your rerservation.


Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Was in Portland for a one night stay and pick this Hampton because of its location!! Walking distance from the bay side as well as numerous bars and restaurant. Really nice warn, inside pool. breakfast was pretty good (NO continental!! It actually had eggs, waffles, country sausage, bacon, etc.!!)
THE BIG SELLER? This restaurant has a build in Beer brewery and restaurant!!! And it is Awesome!!!
Couldn't check in early, but they did secure our luggage until we returned. There is a fee for parking, but in the end, it was well worth it!! If you want a good bar that is walking distance, Try Ri Ra's irish bar!

Staff there were friendly and accommodating!!

Will return really soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJBlackReign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Glad to see you enjoyed our city. Please come visit us and Portland again soon.

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,483 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £87 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing