We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in downtown”
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

Very clean,. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. The duvet covers were recently cleaned and the bathroom was larger than expected. We would intend on staying there the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you so much for the nice comments about your stay with us. I hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    448
    89
    23
    11
See reviews for
377
661
46
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were international visitors to the area. Room size was OK but expensive, then we hit the "Eco" side of the hotel. Could not adjust the air-conditioning despite many attempts. Signs all over the room "eco this and that", yet the air conditioner blasted away and we were not able to open a window. Went to reception to ask for 2 glasses as we had a very good bottle of wine to share. informed me with a big smile "this is a eco hotel and we don't do glasses then handed me 2 plastic cups. At $290 a night I was staggered.In the morning we went to breakfast and confronted by paper plates and plastic cutlery, ever tried to cut bacon with thin plastic?This is a big con by the Hilton chain to save on staff costs, it is not eco, just another chain hotel trying to save costs.Stay elsewhere if you want a plate for your eggs ore cereal and a glass for your wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that the room assignment and our eco solutions did not meet your expectations and I will be sure to share your concerns with our environmental team. We welcome any comments or suggestions in this matter and invite you to stay with us and experience our improvements the next time your travels bring you to Portland.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

It's nice to see such a new establishment top of the heap already, it usually takes a while to build up.
There is a good reason for this - it's a great hotel with great staff running it.
Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE was helpful and friendly and not in a robotic way either.
We were only passing through Portland from a four day stay in New York to New Hampshire.
Like a previous contributor just said I wish it had been a longer stay, because we liked the hotel so much and we wanted more time to look around Portland.
I splashed out a bit and booked a suite, it was worth it, spacious, well appointed and two big windows overlooking the working waterfront and a side window overlooking some of the town.
There were plenty of eating places within 5-10mins of the hotel, we would have also tried the on site restaurant had we stayed two nights, we had a drink there and it was lovely with a great choice of draught beers (it would it's owned by a brewery).
The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch too.
Anyway, I hope we do get our chance to visit Portland again to have a few days there, and when we do, we will certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible, and overlooking the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VladsQuiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
What a nice review of your stay with us. Please come back when you can stay longer. It would be an honor to be of service.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This Hampton Inn was opened some eighteen months ago. Everything is new and is being maintained very well. Very new and very clean. We were assigned room 518 which had a good view of the port area. Our window overlooked the cruise ships, and it was fun to watch the cruise ships come and go during our four day stay (Oct 18 thru the 21, 2012). The distance from our window to the bow of the ships was less than a block-and-a-half away. Tip - - to get a view of the port, request a room ending with an even number, and, request the fourth or fifth floor. All the hotel staff was friendly and helpful which made our stay special. The breakfasts are complimentary with a wide variety of meal choices. We used their courtesy van to visit “The Winslow Homer Exhibit” in the morning, lunch at J’s Oyster Bar, and then back to the hotel - - Dale made getting around Portland easy. We choose this location to be near the port area, and, the location was close to our favorites (Fore Street Restaurant and to Eventide Oyster Co.). This location made side trips easy - - to Kennebunkport (lobster for lunch), to Cape Elizabeth down Rt. 77 to "Portland Head Light” the most photographed lighthouse in Maine, and, to Black Point Inn for lunch.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay_Jay_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for the great review. Glad you had a good time in our city and at our hotel. I will share your transportation comment with Dale. He will be excited he contributed to your stay in a positive way. Please come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here in October, and was wowed by the experience. All staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was fabulous: large, very clean, and perfect for relaxing. The beds and shower were the best I've experienced in a week of travels (including some much more expensive stays). Loved it. Didn't spend long enough in Portland, so look forward to coming back for more.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GFWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you for the great review. You need to come back soon. There are no bad times to visit Portland!!

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Hampton Inn in Portland was a great choice. Close to the waterfront and downtown. Everything was in walking distance. Free high speed internet, free breakfast, and laundry on premises. Rooms were recently renovated and felt new.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FanOfWine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and city. Please come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely Hampton Inn twice in October recently. It is a new HI built in 2011 and boy does it show it. Bigger rooms well appointed, huge HDTV's, tile bath and entrance way, full breakfast with spacious seating, exercise room and pool, computer area with 3 teminals and a high speed printer to print your airline boarding passes, valet parking and a wonderful location just 2 blocks from the port and many nice restaurants you can easily walk to. The staff is friendly, efficient and spot on. Book a room here and you will definitely be as
pleased as we were!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancasterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
What a really nice review of our hotel, staff and city. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and your wife and we hope you will make a trip to Portland at least an annual event!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing