We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing really wrong here, but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Nothing really wrong here, but......”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Reading all the other reviews, I've thought long and hard about mine as I'm posting an 'average'. The location for me was average, easy to reach off the interstate but not a 'waterfront' waterfront location, you need a brisk walk - or a telescope - to get there. Characterful it isn't. And I agree it's not worth paying for a view of the water - unless you unpack that telescope.

The 'valet' parking charge, although we knew about it up front, is still a little unwelcome particularly when there's acres of (again private) parking across the street. We checked in and asked for our Hilton Honors points to be added (we had booked through a third party). 'Computer says no' (it was the manager's decision actually) said the reception guy. Why not? Every other HI we've stayed in has managed it.

Anyway, a further directive was to follow from reception as they summoned me from my room to hand over the car keys to enable the car to be valet parked as it was 'in the way'. Their idea of 'in the way' and mine are obviously different particularly when we had told reception that we were just heading out to eat after dumping the bags and freshening up. Staff were generally busy during our admittedly one night stay and the personal touch so evident in other Hampton Inns, for us was missing here.

I also agree with another reviewer that the air conditioning system in the room needs some explanation. The controls in ours seemed to have a mind of their own, pumping warm air into an already stuffy room in the wee small hours. Difficult to rectify and to reduce the temperature, an explanation in the room information folder of how it works would be useful.

A busy breakfast time and a full house saw us perched on the central communal 'bar' table which resulted in, as others left, a member of staff clearing, spraying and wiping around us - not ideal for a relaxed start to the day.

We recovered our car from the valet - he was very cheery and helpful - and left. No one on check out asked us whether 'everything was ok' and there was a few behind us so it seemed pointless to explain. On the day, the uppishly priced Hampton Inn at downtown Portsmouth didn't impress us that much. Sorry.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your comments on recent stay with us. Although it is our goal to provide each guest that stays with us a clean, relaxing and welcoming visit it appears we did not accomplish our goals with your visit. I apologize to you for not meeting or exceeding your expectations. I hope we have an opportunity in the future to be of service.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    435
    83
    21
    11
See reviews for
363
642
45
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Spent a comfortable night here for our annual "Girls Weekend" shopping in Freeport (about a 20 min. drive from the hotel) and enjoying the food/spirits of Portland's waterfront. I have stayed at many Hilton-brand properties, almost always pleased. This Hampton Inn has a modern decor, clean, nicely sized rooms, generous bathroom, and super comfortable beds. Three adults stayed in our room, with plenty of space for luggage, shopping bags etc. Complimentary wireless & breakfast are standard Hampton Inn offerings. Breakfast area was kept tidy, hot and cold items were plentiful - coffee available 24/7. Plenty of seating for a busy Sunday morning.

The Sebago Brewery is located in the building, a cozy fireplace in the dining area, and a busy bar/pub section - great for a last-stop before turning in.

Be aware of the valet-only parking - $15 per night - this is not uncommon in this area of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
I was glad to see the girls-night-out visit was a success. Please come see us again in Portland soon. Happy Holidays!!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Haven't had time to write a review for awhile since I've been busy traveling but this one deserved to be written about. Had my clients stay here as well so it was a success since they were pretty happy. Really comfortable bed. Nice bathroom. Lovely breakfast. Friendly staffs. Great location. Not much of a view for my room with no control over temperature are only downfalls. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for taking time from your schedule to share a review of your recent stay with us. We were glad to see you enjoyed your visit to our citty and hotel and hope to be of servuice to you again soon. Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is located 1 street over from the Waterfront and is close to tons of great restaurants and pubs. The property is well kept and looked like is was brand new. I didn't understand the 12$ valet parking fee for parking the car in an open lot but other than that the place is first rate. No need to use your car as the entire town is within walking distance. Bring your appetite to Portland because the town is stocked with great (Great) restaurants and gastropubs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeceethree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for the kind words about your recent stay with us. I will certainly share them with our housekeeping staff.

Please come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delaware
Level Contributor
185 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My wife and I had been looking forward to a Maine getaway. After driving from Delaware and getting a little turned around in NYC, we arrived in Portland. Maybe I was a little too excited because this property although nice is not on the water. Our room was facing the street and having a view of office buildings wasn't a great introduction to Maine. However, going north on Rte. 1 and experiencing Camden and Acadia National Park would define our Maine experience. The room was clean and had a great Phillips HD television. The bed was very comfortable. We stored water in fridge, and there is a microwave. Hotel is surrounded by office buildings and there are plenty places to eat on nearby Commerce St. We tried Gilbert's Chowder House for touristy lobster roll and clams. I wish I had opted for chowder. For breakfast, there was standard continental breakfast fare and I always like getting this free amenity. However, Standard Bakery is very close and warrants a visit from what I read about their products. A short ride takes you to a place where you can park and enjoy a scenic view. This small area has a navy memorial and hotel personnel can provide directions.

Room Tip: Street side room had some noise. Rooms higher up and perhaps off the street side may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahiadreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for the review of your visit to our city and your stay with us. We hope you have an opportunity to both again very soon.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Great staff: everyone was pleasant and efficient from the front desk to the valet parking attendant. The room was well designed, clean, spacious, and included a refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was included and offered an extensive selection of food served by very attentive personnel. The location is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, galleries and museums. It was a very pleasant stay at a very affordable price. This place is great value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
What a nice review of your stay with us. On entire staff appreciated your comments and will forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed on family business. The staff were excellent. Housekeeping comes in later in the day, so you need to make plans to be out of the hotel mid afternoon. Great location near the Old Port in good weather. Reasonably priced. Very clean. Pretty good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psutraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtomaine12, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for the nice review of your stay with us. We appreciate the opportunity to be of service to you and your family. Please come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing