We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They say location is the best and this is it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Skowhegan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“They say location is the best and this is it!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went to Portland to take part in a bicycling event that was happening close by. Talk about a perfect location. We got off the interstate and up the street and crested the hill and there it was. Very easy to find and great location. The staff here was great. Very friendly as we have seen with the Hampton Inn's. The restaurant that is onsite is awesome. First time to this one but we have been to the one in Scarborough.

Room Tip: We were supposed to have a room with a view, which I would think would be waterfront, but ended up w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    427
    83
    20
    10
See reviews for
355
638
45
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elbridge, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The staff was very friendly, including the attached bar/brewery. Great location with awesome views of the harbor. Cleanliness and furnishing were exactly what you would expect from Hampton - Excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mims, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was a last minute decision and it was a great one. The location was incredible...right in walking distance of everything in Portland. A view of the port from my window. Amazingly large and beautiful room. Even though the hotel was full, the staff was very relaxed , friendly and very helpful. We had a problem with our cable ( which is the first thing my husband checks ) even though we were just going to drop off our bags and go explore Portland. The housekeeper immediately called maintenance and it was corrected before we left our room!! I love this place and wished we had stayed here upon our arrival. I will definitely be back!! Portland is a great place and this hotel is a perfect place to stay when you visit Portland!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very nice new and comfortable hotel in a great location in Portland. The room was very clean and had nice amenities. The included breakfast was one of the nicest we've had. The staff was very friendly and hellpful. A little pricey but not bad at all for downtown Portland where there are not too man hotels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore Falls, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Overall, I was pleased with the comfort and cleanliness of this hotel. Room was quite small and very pricey, especially since it was more expensive than a neighboring luxury hotel. Breakfast is convenient, but not very good. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I t was a good experience .Location wsa great,cleanliness great. complimentary breakfast was good scrambled eggs were very dry , THEY HOTEL LOCATION WAS GREAT.tHE gym WAS FANASTIC IT HAD ALL THE WEIGHTS (DUMBELLS) AND CV equipment ,SUPER. staff was cordial.I did not like the parking fee of $15.00 ,it should have been free

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A very nice Hampton Inn in a great location. We arrived later in the day, but still had time for a nice walk around the water and downtown. The restaurant that was attached to the property was also nice and it was great to just head upstairs to our room. Breakfast was nice and since it was a week day it was not over crowded which was nice for a change!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing