We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My newlywed husband and I stayed here for 2 nights after out wedding on November 9th, 2013. I've only stayed at a couple Hampton Inn's in New England but I can say this was by far the better of them. We arrived about 9pm on Saturday because we were coming from our reception and were met by the friendly valet. I do agree with some people's comments about not thinking the valet was necessary but we knew going into our stay that that was the situation, so it didn't bother us. Our room was ready for us, and when I say ready, I mean it smelt fresh and surfaces were cleaned. The last Hampton we stayed at (in RI) had sticky carpets :( Yuck! The complimentary breakfast was delicious both mornings (and I'll add that I was impressed that there was a slight change up in the food between the two days so it wasn't the same exact breakfast). We had dinner at Fore Street on Sunday night, which is expensive but always so worth it. I liked that the Fore Street was literally a 3 minute walk from the hotel (as well as many other places). It's in a great location. Thank you for helping make our mini honeymoon wonderful. We'll definitely stay here in again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Enjoyed Portland very much and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel provides a good place to return to after a day of touring. The Sebago Brewery in the building is a very welcome addition as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We went to Portland to take part in a bicycling event that was happening close by. Talk about a perfect location. We got off the interstate and up the street and crested the hill and there it was. Very easy to find and great location. The staff here was great. Very friendly as we have seen with the Hampton Inn's. The restaurant that is onsite is awesome. First time to this one but we have been to the one in Scarborough.

Room Tip: We were supposed to have a room with a view, which I would think would be waterfront, but ended up w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsskow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The staff was very friendly, including the attached bar/brewery. Great location with awesome views of the harbor. Cleanliness and furnishing were exactly what you would expect from Hampton - Excellent

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was a last minute decision and it was a great one. The location was incredible...right in walking distance of everything in Portland. A view of the port from my window. Amazingly large and beautiful room. Even though the hotel was full, the staff was very relaxed , friendly and very helpful. We had a problem with our cable ( which is the first thing my husband checks ) even though we were just going to drop off our bags and go explore Portland. The housekeeper immediately called maintenance and it was corrected before we left our room!! I love this place and wished we had stayed here upon our arrival. I will definitely be back!! Portland is a great place and this hotel is a perfect place to stay when you visit Portland!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very nice new and comfortable hotel in a great location in Portland. The room was very clean and had nice amenities. The included breakfast was one of the nicest we've had. The staff was very friendly and hellpful. A little pricey but not bad at all for downtown Portland where there are not too man hotels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Overall, I was pleased with the comfort and cleanliness of this hotel. Room was quite small and very pricey, especially since it was more expensive than a neighboring luxury hotel. Breakfast is convenient, but not very good. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,505 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £85 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! Valet parking only onsite $20 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing