We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,638)
Filter reviews
1,638 results
Traveller rating
978
509
106
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
509
106
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking great location sebago brewing company old port brew pub free breakfast within walking distance valet staff fore street breakfast staff restaurants and shops great place to stay per day the breakfast area would definitely stay here again business center water view
Filter
Updating list...
1,140 - 1,145 of 1,638 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This was my first visit to this property. Stayed only 1 night and was very pleased with this Hilton property. Price was excellent especially in the Portland market and they deserve their # 1 position in terms of excellence. Staff extra friendly and helpful. Room was spotless and QUIET. Usually you hear people in the halls or doors slamming....never heard a thing. Loved the fact that bedspread is cleaned each time and bathroom had high quality products. This was near everything and they have a free shuttle if you want to leave your car. I will be back this is my new favorite Portland Hotel!, thanK you,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yardsalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

WOW. Thanks for the kind words. We our very proud of our hotel and the staff. We like what we do.

Please come see us again soon, and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Visited in Sep 2013 and had a very enjoyable stay. 10 min walk to waterfront and many good seafood restaurants. Staff was helpful and courteous. Free breakfast was what you would expect at this type of hotel. Close by car are Kennebunkport and Freeport (for the shopping). Would definitely stay here on any return visits to Portland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilGab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

You need to come visit us again and try out the new breakfast menu. The improvements are amazing.

Have a gret Holiday Season and we hope to be of service to you again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

A pleasant, new, clean and quiet Hampton, just two blocks from the wharf and lots of great restaurants. The hotel itself has a great brewpub attached. Breakfast was excellent, well above average for a Hampton Inn. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor sbove the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Padraic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel, and it is nice to have Sebago Brewing attached to the hotel on those nights you don't want to go far. Happy Holidays and please come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Everything about the hotel was very good, from the front desk staff to the decor and breakfast. The bell staff was super accommodating in shuttling us around the downtown area. The Hampton Inn is walking distance to downtown. Also very clean. Great stay for our long weekend. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street, which was okay. Don't think I would pay extra for a water view room, as the hotel is too far from the waterfront anyway.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyH025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thats one of the great things about Portland. You can park the car and walk to most everything. Thanks for staying with us earlier this month. Come see us again soon. Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here in the first week of December. Very well located, and nice seemingly new hotel. If it is not new, they sure do take good care of it. We had a view of the harbor. Nice big room, and what you would expect from Hampton Inn. Fitness room was large, and well stocked. Coffee, and breakfast were fine. My only slight issue was that you had no choice but to valet park, and of course every time you went anywhere you had to tip the valet. The parking lot was 5 feet away from the front door, so this time of year there did not seem to be a need for valet only parking.It may be different at busier times of the year. I will say the valets were fast, courteous, and efficient. They also cleaned snow and ice off the windows for everyone one cold morning. They deserved tips to be sure, but a choice of self parking would be nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beach2mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am glad you found our hotel enjoyable.

The hotel does only offer valet parking. There are a couple of reasons why. The biggest reason is we have 70 parking spots and 122 guest rooms. Without some kind of organization we would have a tough time offering parking to our driving guests.

There are other lots in the area and of course street parking but by selecting one of those options you would miss meeting members of our valet staff. They are the coolest!!

Please come see us again. We would be honored to be of service.

Sincerely,

Pete Wagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews